Thursday, June 30, 2011

The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder

Title: The Day Before
Author: Lisa Schroeder
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: June 28, 2011
Source: Simon and Schuster Galley Grab

Summary: Amber’s life is spinning out of control. All she wants is to turn up the volume on her iPod until all of the demands of family and friends fade away. So she sneaks off to the beach to spend a day by herself.

Then Amber meets Cade. Their attraction is instant, and Amber can tell he’s also looking for an escape. Together they decide to share a perfect day: no pasts, no fears, no regrets.

The more time that Amber spends with Cade, the more she’s drawn to him. And the more she’s troubled by his darkness. Because Cade’s not just living in the now—he’s living each moment like it’s his last.

Review: Wow. Wow, wow, wow! That was the only thought in my mind as I finished The Day Before and it is still in my head as I write this review!

The only reason I picked this up from galley grab was that it had a pretty cover. I really didn't know what it was about or how it would touch me. It think it's safe to say that you can judge this book by its cover. What's on the inside is even better than the outside.

Like I said in the previous paragraph, I was absolutely touched. I felt for these characters and I loved them. The whole book was just really emotional and wonderful. I teared up so many times. It was so beautiful that words can't even describe it.

I'm not a fan of verse. I seriously stay away from books with verse because I just don't like them. But I think The Day Before changed my mind about it. Because now I'm a big fan of Schroeder's verse. It was just elegant and gah there really is no way for me to describe it. You'll just have to read it yourself.

And I loved the characters in this. They made me care about them. They made me feel for them. They were such good people. And the day that Amber and Cade shared is one that I want to revisit again and again. So priceless.

If I had more time I go re-read this. But I think I'll pick up a copy sometime soon so I can have this beautiful book on my over-flowing shelf. Go read it for yourself and I can almost guarantee you that you might just might have a new favorite.


Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (22)

Happy Wednesday!

WoW is hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine!

This week's pick is:
Deadly Cool by Gemma Halliday
October 11, 2011

Hartley Grace Featherstone is having a very bad day. First she finds out that her boyfriend is cheating on her with the president of the Herbert Hoover High School Chastity Club. Then he's pegged as the #1 suspect in a murder. And if that weren't enough, now he's depending on Hartley to clear his name. Seriously? Not cool. But as much as Hartley wouldn't mind seeing him squirm, she knows he's innocent, and she's the only one who can help him. Along with her best friend, Sam, and the school's resident Bad Boy, Chase, Hartley starts investigating on her own. But as the dead bodies begin to pile up, the mystery deepens, the suspects multiply, and Hartley begins to fear that she may be the killer's next victim.

I love murder mysteries. A ton. There aren't enough of them in YA and I'm looking forward to this one. And supposedly there is some humor in this one! YAY!

And the cover is stunning. Beautiful blue eyes and the cool is made out of headphones! I can't wait to get my hands on this one!

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Moonglass by Jessi Kirby

Title: Moonglass
Author: Jessi Kirby
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Publication Date: May 3, 2011
Source: Bought

Summary: I read once that water is a symbol for emotions. And for a while now, I've thought maybe my mother drowned in both.

Anna's life is upended when her father accepts a job transfer the summer before her junior year. It's bad enough that she has to leave her friends and her life behind, but her dad is moving them to the beach where her parents first met and fell in love- a place awash in memories that Anna would just as soon leave under the surface.

While life on the beach is pretty great, with ocean views and one adorable lifeguard in particular, there are also family secrets that were buried along the shore years ago. And the ebb and flow of the ocean's tide means that nothing- not the sea glass that she collects on the sand and not the truths behind Anna's mother's death- stays buried forever.

Review: Moonglass is the perfect, and I mean truly perfect, read for a summer day.

I loved Anna. I was immediately drawn into her life, her feelings, and her pain. She was such a special character and it was so easy to love and feel for her.

Anna and her Dad's pain through out the book hurt me. I'm tearing up just writing this. I cannot even begin to imagine the type of grief/guilt that both of them went through. But Kirby offered an insight into their grief and made it so real for the reader.

I loved the concept of moonglass. It was such a special little thing that made me want to find a beach and a hot lifeguard and look for some sea glass!

And speaking of lifeguards, I loved Anna's love interest Tyler. He was funny, adventurous, hot, cocky, hot, and some more hot. And I could tell that he cared about Anna. They were so cute. And their relationship was real.

Another thing that I especially enjoyed was the setting. When I was reading Moonglass I felt like I was transported to Crystal Cove with Anna and the characters. I felt like I was a bystander, in the setting, watching them. It was such a special experience. I love books that can make you feel so many emotions and get you wrapped up in the setting.

An absolutely marvelous debut. I can't wait to read more from Kirby.


Monday, June 27, 2011

Update #4

Time for another update!

What I've read: Since the last update

  • Love Story by Jennifer Echols
  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
  • Strings Attached by Judy Blundell
  • Tempest Rising by Tracy Deebs
  • Exile by Anne Osterlund
  • A Need so Beautiful by Suzanne Young (Amazing)
  • Waterfall by Lisa T. Bergren
Currently Reading:

Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen! This book is long!

To Read: Subject to Change

  • The Dark Divine by Bree Despain
  • The Liar Society by Lisa and Laura Roecker
  • I was Jane Austen's Best Friend by Cora Harrison
  • Like Mandarin by Kirsten Hubbard
  • Trapped by Michael Northrop
The 30 books in 30 days challenge is basically over...I'm caught up and plan to finish it! I'm pretty sure every one forgot about it though except a couple of people!
I will keep doing this updates for my summer reading challenge! I hope you enjoy them!

Hourglass by Myra McEntire

Title: Hourglass
Author: Myra McEntire
Publisher: Egmont USA
Publication Date: June 14, 2011
Source: Bought

Summary: One hour to rewrite the past . . .

For seventeen-year-old Emerson Cole, life is about seeing what isn’t there: swooning Southern Belles; soldiers long forgotten; a haunting jazz trio that vanishes in an instant. Plagued by phantoms since her parents’ death, she just wants the apparitions to stop so she can be normal. She’s tried everything, but the visions keep coming back.

So when her well-meaning brother brings in a consultant from a secretive organization called the Hourglass, Emerson’s willing to try one last cure. But meeting Michael Weaver may not only change her future, it may change her past.

Who is this dark, mysterious, sympathetic guy, barely older than Emerson herself, who seems to believe every crazy word she says? Why does an electric charge seem to run through the room whenever he’s around? And why is he so insistent that he needs her help to prevent a death that never should have happened?

Full of atmosphere, mystery, and romance, Hourglass merges the very best of the paranormal and science-fiction genres in a seductive, remarkable young adult debut.

Review: I'm not even sure where to begin this review! I just love Hourglass so, so much!

Emerson was just a ton of fun. She was strong and snarky but she was also going through a ton of crap. I felt for her. So much that I felt like I knew Emerson. She could be so brave and selfless but then she was vulnerable and scared. She was extremely well written.

One of my favorite things in the whole wide world is time travel. I would lurve to time travel! But since that isn't quite possible I'm so glad that I have authors like Myra McEntire there to help me experience it by reading. And she did a fantastic job. If you really want to know what it is...highlight! I didn't want to spoil things too much.

I was captivated from, seriously, page two. There was this amazingly snarky line. It has to do with Gone With the Wind if you're wondering. And I was never let go. Even as I read the last word. Emerson and her story manage to saunter right into my brain on the right occasion.

There were also two amazing love interests. And here I thought this story couldn't get any better!! I loved both of them. I really can't pick but there is this boy whose name starts with an M that I have a certain draw to. Swoon!

Before I wrap up this review I'd like to mention one thing that made me so, so happy. Many of you probably just skipped over it. I didn't. Michael and Emerson love the Red Sox. Which is a baseball team, if you didn't know. Katie loves them more than time travel. And now that is saying something.

A perfect book.

Rating: 5+++

Sunday, June 26, 2011

In My Mailbox (36)

Hi Everyone!

IMM is hosted by The Story Siren!
Wonderful week for books…probably my last for awhile!

Haunting Violet by Alex Harvey! I love ghost stories that are historical. And I've heard such good things about this one!

A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young. This looks amazing and beautiful!

Uncommon Criminals by Ally Carter! I absolutely love Carter's books! I can't wait to read this one!

The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa! After I read and loved The Iron King I needed to have all the books on hand! Except sometime around the end of last year Harlequin Teen changed their size and logo (size of the book) and it looks awful!!!! It sticks out too far and is taller. I hate it when publishers do this!

I forgot to mention this last week but I picked up Nocturne by Christine Johnson from Galley Grab. I really liked Claire de Lune and I'm excited to read this one!!

Saturday, June 25, 2011

Blog Happenings (26)

How is everyone doing on this fine day!? I hope you are doing great!

I'm currently reading Exile by Anne Osterlund. If you haven't read any books by Osterlund you should. Now. And then I finished Tempest Rising by Tracy Deebs. It was pretty good. I need to go mark it as read!

And then well I don't know what I'm going to read after that...I need to finish up the 30 books in 30 days challenge. Which I'm, surprisingly, doing good at!

The thing is when I set myself to a challenge its like I have finish. And that can be good and sometimes bad. This is good when it comes to blogging and, of course, school. But when it comes to reading I force myself to read. And that isn't good.

Which is why July is going to be more of a laid back month of reading. I just can't pressure myself to read so much. And I'm going on a book ban with only a 2 book exception. And those two books are Wolfsbane and Supernaturally. I just can't pass them up!

I'm also withdrawing myself from the Contemps challenge. And while I have discovered some amazing books that I might not have read otherwise...there are some I just don't want to read. At all. And I'm not going to make myself read them.

I hope you guys have a great weekend and didn't bore yourselves reading my...well I don't know what you just read but....*train of thought escapes through the open window*


Friday, June 24, 2011

Die For Me by Amy Plum

Title: Die For Me
Author: Amy Plum
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publication Date: May 10, 2011
Source: Thanks NetGalley and Publisher!

Summary: In the City of Lights, two star-crossed lovers battle a fate that is destined to tear them apart again and again for eternity.

When Kate Mercier's parents die in a tragic car accident, she leaves her life--and memories--behind to live with her grandparents in Paris. For Kate, the only way to survive her pain is escaping into the world of books and Parisian art. Until she meets Vincent.

Mysterious, charming, and devastatingly handsome, Vincent threatens to melt the ice around Kate's guarded heart with just his smile. As she begins to fall in love with Vincent, Kate discovers that he's a revenant--an undead being whose fate forces him to sacrifice himself over and over again to save the lives of others. Vincent and those like him are bound in a centuries-old war against a group of evil revenants who exist only to murder and betray. Kate soon realizes that if she follows her heart, she may never be safe again.

In this incandescent debut, newcomer Amy Plum has created a powerful paranormal mythology with immortal revenants. The Paris setting comes enchantingly alive as a relentless struggle between good and evil takes place in its streets. Rich with romance, atmosphere, and thrills, Die for Me will leave readers breathlessly awaiting its sequel.

Review: I liked this book. I didn't love it by any long stretch of the imagination, but I didn't hate it. That much.

When I was reading Die For Me I thought I was reading Twilight. There were just so many similarities that just jumped right off the page at me. It's not that I didn't like Twilight, I'm just over it. I'm not going to list all the similarities because that's not what this review is about.

One thing that annoyed me was Kate. I hated how she and Vincent had case of insta-love. I'm so, so tired of it. It ISN'T REAL! And then Kate told Vincent that she wanted to stay away from him but she just ended up crawling back to him. She had a backbone only some of the time.

And I really didn't like Vincent. He was just too good to be true. He was just like an "Ehh" character for me. But Ambrose and Jules...HOT! They were my favorite characters.

Plum did a great job with her characters. Even though I didn't like a couple it didn't mean they weren't fleshed out. I really appreciated that.

To me the plot sort of dragged, but the ending helped me like it a lot more. And I liked the idea of revenants and....the setting. Oh Paris! *swoon*

All in all a decent debut. I'm still undecided about reading the sequel.


If you are wondering why in the world I posted a review today...I need to. I have so many books to review! So there will be Friday reviews from now on.

Follow Friday (22)

Happy Follow Friday!

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee's View!

This week's question is:
In light of the Summer Solstice. Also known as Midsummer...let's talk about fairies. What is your favorite fairy tale or story that revolves around the fae?
I think this is going to be the most common answer but I just finished reading The Iron King by Julie Kagawa on Monday and I'M IN LOVE!

I'm reading the rest of the series next month!

How about you!?

Thursday, June 23, 2011

The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart

Title: The Boyfriend List
Author: E. Lockhart
Publisher: Delacorte
Publication Date: March 22, 2005
Source: Library

Summary: Ruby Oliver is 15 and has a shrink. She knows it's unusual, but give her a break—she's had a rough 10 days. In the past 10 days she:

* lost her boyfriend (#13 on the list)
* lost her best friend (Kim)
* lost all her other friends (Nora, Cricket)
* did something suspicious with a boy (#10)
* did something advanced with a boy (#15)
* had an argument with a boy (#14)
* drank her first beer (someone handed it to her)
* got caught by her mom (ag!)
* had a panic attack (scary)
* lost a lacrosse game (she's the goalie)
* failed a math test (she'll make it up)
* hurt Meghan's feelings (even though they aren't really friends)
* became a social outcast (no one to sit with at lunch)
* and had graffiti written about her in the girls' bathroom (who knows what was in the boys'!?!).

But don't worry—Ruby lives to tell the tale. And make more lists.

Review: The Boyfriend List was just plain hilarious. I can't count all the times a laughed or giggled aloud.

Ruby Oliver was seriously relatable. She was funny, of course, and she had the greatest voice. So fresh and she was dealing with such real problems. I felt for Roo! I don't know why but she was just so, so special. And so well written.

There really isn't much of a "plot" but it kept my interest the whole way through the book. I absolutely devoured it. I'm just about the slowest reader of all time, well not that slow, and I just couldn't stop reading it! My attention never strayed. It was filled with hilarious situations and real life things that matter.

I wish I could say more about how amazing this book was. How real and actually touching. Just read it.

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (22)

Forgot to schedule this! Hosted by Breaking the Spine! Blogger is acting funny!

Fateful by Claudia Gray
September 13, 2011
It's about a servant girl named Tess in 1912, who wants to escape from the house where she works, and most particularly the lecherous young lord of the manor. But that's not her biggest problem. While on a voyage to America, where she plans to escape and start a new life, she meets Alec, who's ruggedly handsome, fabulously wealthy, intelligent and yet so clearly troubled that she'd rather not fall for him, but she does. That also is not her biggest problem. Alec, it turns out, is a werewolf ... one cursed to change every night, unless and until he surrenders his independence and joins the Brotherhood, a pack of violently misogynistic werewolves who have been tracking him for months. You'd think that would be their biggest problem, wouldn't you?

But no. Their biggest problem -- though they don't know it yet -- is that they're aboard the RMS Titanic.

Claudia Gray, werewolves, hot boys AND the Titanic. I'm sold!

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Update #3

Time for another update!

What I've read: (Since the last update)

  • Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen
  • This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen
  • Hourglass by Myra McEntire (LOVE!)
  • The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
  • Forbidden Boy by Hailey Abbott
  • Moonglass by Jessi Kirby (So good!!)
  • The Iron King (I finally read this....amazing)
Currently Reading:

Love Story by Jennifer Echols, I need to finish this today...along with Sometimes It Happens. I'm behind!

To Read: (Subject to Change)

  • Sometimes It Happens by Lauren Barnholdt
  • Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen
  • Tempest Rising by Tracey Deebs
  • Strings Attached by Judy Blundell
  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (Finally going to make myself read this)
I have to catch up today! The challenge is almost over too!

Banished by Sophie Littlefield

Title: Banished
Author: Sophie Littlefield
Publisher: Delacorte
Publication Date: October 10, 2010
Source: Library

Summary: There isn’t much worth living for in Gypsum, Missouri—or Trashtown, as the rich kids call the run-down neighborhood where sixteen-year-old Hailey Tarbell lives. Hailey figures she’ll never belong—not with the popular kids at school, not with the rejects, not even with her cruel, sickly grandmother, who deals drugs out of their basement. Hailey never knew her dead mother, and she has no idea who her father was, but at least she has her four-year-old foster brother, Chub. Once she turns eighteen, Hailey plans to take Chub far from Gypsum and start a new life where no one can find them.

But when a classmate is injured in gym class, Hailey discovers a gift for healing that she never knew she possessed—and that she cannot ignore. Not only can she heal, she can bring the dying back to life. Confused by her powers, Hailey searches for answers but finds only more questions, until a mysterious visitor shows up at Gram’s house, claiming to be Hailey’s aunt Prairie.

There are people who will stop at nothing to keep Hailey in Trashtown, living out a legacy of despair and suffering. But when Prairie saves both Hailey and Chub from armed attackers who invade Gram’s house in the middle of the night, Hailey must decide where to place her trust. Will Prairie’s past, and the long-buried secret that caused her to leave Gypsum years earlier, ruin them all? Because as Hailey will soon find out, their power to heal is just the beginning.

Review: Banished is a fresh new take on "Healers" in the YA world.

Banished gives you a slew of likable characters. Though I think my favorites were Hailey's Aunt Prairie and Hailey herself. They were both strong women and really admirable. I liked their gift and that they were willing to fight for it. Hailey's brother Chub was such a sweetheart, I loved how she cared for him.

Banished is a pretty dark paranormal. I don't know why but I really didn't expect it to be like that. But the darkness was enjoyable, adding another layer to the plot.

Banished had a pretty slow start but I was soon sucked into the world as the book picked up speed.

I thought I'd never say this but having no romance in a book is sometimes enjoyable! The plot doesn't get over taken by the romance. Though I'm pretty sure there is will be some in the next book, which I'll look forward to!

An enjoyable book with a riveting plot!


Monday, June 20, 2011

You Wish by Mandy Hubbard

Title: You Wish
Author: Mandy Hubbard
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication Date: August 5, 2010
Source: Bought

Summary: Kayla McHenry's sweet sixteen sucks! Her dad left, her grades dropped, and her BFF is dating the boy Kayla's secretly loved for years. Blowing out her candles, Kayla thinks: I wish my birthday wishes actually came true. Because they never freakin' do.

Kayla wakes the next day to a life-sized, bright pink My Little Pony outside her window. Then a year's supply of gumballs arrives. A boy named Ken with a disturbing resemblance to the doll of the same name stalks her. As the ghosts of Kayla's wishes-past appear, they take her on a wild ride . . . but they MUST STOP. Because when she was fifteen? She wished Ben Mackenzie would kiss her. And Ben is her best friend's boyfriend.

Review: I LOVE Mandy Hubbard, her books are amazing. Well her one book. But I'm not sure why I put off reading You Wish for such a long time! It was a great, fun, super cute read and a new favorite!

Kayla. Ohmigoodness! I loved that girl. She was so easy to relate to and she was such a quirky character! Which was so nice to read about. I hate getting cookie-cutter female leads. She also had tons of snark and sass, which gives her a million points in my book. She was just the ultimate funny person. And I felt for her too. Sometimes in light reads you can't connect to the main character...not the case in You Wish!

And while I was blown away by Kayla, I was swooning along with her at the awesomeness of her best friend's boyfriend, Ben. Who hasn't had a crush on someone you couldn't have!? Kayla's antics around him were quite funny.

And the concept of You Wish is absolute genius! I loved the idea of all birthday wishes coming true. I'm not really big into making wishes but I'm sure some of mine have been pretty stupid! Anyway the idea was fantastic and I loved seeing what the wishes were!

A funny, sweet read, You Wish is that perfect summer read!


Sunday, June 19, 2011

In My Mailbox (35)

I apologize this is so, so late! I've been busy all day!


Happy IMM! Hosted by The Story Siren!

This was a great week for books!!
I bought:

The Betrayal if Natalie Hargrove by Lauren Kate. I couldn't help it, it was complete cover love!!

Hourglass by Myra McEntire!!! LOVE this!! An all time favorite.

Forgotten by Cat Patrick. I love the idea for this one, sounds so intriguing!

Don't Stop Now by Julie Halpern. This looks so cute!! And I love road trips.

Blood Red Road by Moira Young. Can't wait to read this, every one gushes about it!

From Library:

Trapped by Michael Northrup. Interesting idea, haven't heard the best about it...but I want to read it!

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landou-Banks by E. Lockhart. Love E. Lockhart!

What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen. After reading so many Dessen books this past week…I'm not sure how many more I can handle!
Thanks for putting up with my late posting!
Related Posts with Thumbnails
Blog Design By Use Your Imagination Designs Inspired by Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater