Saturday, January 29, 2011

Just a little update

I'm not sure how much I'm going to be blogging in the upcoming week, things are coming up and I can't seem to find anytime to read or blog at all.

But don't worry, I will most certainly be back. I couldn't imagine not coming back. So please just for the upcoming week just stay in there, because I promise I'll be back. And I don't take promises lightly.

So if you guys could just stick in there for awhile longer, I'll be so thankful!

I love all of you! And I'm sorry that I have to take a little blogging break!

Friday, January 28, 2011

Follow Friday (5)

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee's View!

This week's question is:

What is/was your favorite subject in school?

I would have to say American Studies or something else that is Social Studies related. I just love history and everything about it. And right now we are studying the Civil War...which is my favorite war. Which sounds terrible because I didn't actually like the war, I like the history surrounding the war. And most of you don't care!

Check out the homepage of my blog for reviews posted this week!

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

Happy Thursday, and have a great rest of your day!

Title: Revolution

Author: Jennifer Donnelly

Rating: I don't know maybe this review will help me figure it out. Rating will be at end of review.

Review: Andi Alpers once had the potential of becoming a great musician. She received high remarks in school and was at the top of her class. But that was two years ago, and now Andi is still dealing with the death if her brother. When Andi is shipped off to Paris for winter break, she finds a diary of an actor who lived during the Revolution. And as Andi reads the diary she herself goes on a journey, of discovering herself and of time.

This was such a great book!! I grew to enjoy it immensely as the book went on. And the ending was by far the best part of the book. But don't worry I won't spoil it for you!

One of my only complaints about the book is that the begginning of pure torture. Well maybe not pure but pretty close. I was bored and fed up with Andi. Her emotions were really raw and real. But just a touch overdone.

I'm also not a fan of drinking and drugs or suicide, which comes up a bit in the beginning of the novel.

Otherwise I absolutely loved Andi, on her good days, Virgil, *swoon* and most importantly the diary entries and the plot.

I was kept reading constantly for most of the book and I found myself caring for Andi, Alex, Virgil, and Louis-Charles. They made me want to keep reading and so did the plot!

This was a great, beautiful book that I now realize that I love.

5 stars!

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (3)

WoW is hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine!

This weeks pick is:

Title: Exile

Author: Anne Osterlund

Publication Date: April 28, 2011


Crown Princess Aurelia stands in the face of exile. Behind her are the sister who tried to kill her and the father who ignored it. In front of her are the entire kingdom and Robert—the friend she can't help but fall in love with. Aurelia may finally be living her dream . . . but danger is not far behind. When Aurelia and Robert are betrayed by the very guards assigned to protect them, their expedition becomes a fight for survival that carries them from frontier to desert sands. Even with a hunter on their tail, the risks—to their lives, the throne, their hearts—only fuels Aurelia's determination to see her kingdom. And when their perilous journey is finally complete, she will discover just how much her people need her, and just how much of a risk loving Robert can be.

This is the sequel to Aurelia, which I loved! And so I can't wait to read this one! It looks so good...!

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

NetGalley Challenge


Remember how much I love NetGalley? Well no matter how much I love it, I can't seem to find time to read all the galleys that I request...because maybe I request way too many? I sort of do! And to help me fix this problem and review some great books....I'm going to make a list and challenge myself!

Here is a list of all the galleys I need to read, and their publication dates

  1. Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulten (Feb. 15)
  2. Shine by Lauren Myracle (May 1)
  3. The Vespertine by Saundra Mitchell (March 7)
  4. Angel Burn by L.A. Weatherly (May 24)
  5. One Hundred Candles by Mara Purnhagen (Feb. 22)
  6. Dead is not an Option by Marlene Perez (May 2)
  7. Populazzie by Elise Allen (Aug. 1)
  8. The Betrayal of Maggie Blair by Elizabeth Larid (April 18)
  9. Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky (May 23)
  10. Queens of all Earth by Hannah Sternburg (June 15)
That is all for now. And on this page I'll keep track of ones I've read and such and reviews! Anyone else want to read all those galleys with me?

I'm going to make a little picture to go along with this, so if anyone has any suggestions...I'd be glad to hear them!

Monday, January 24, 2011

Lost in the River Grass by Ginny Rorby

I'm back from vacation and I'm so tired, but I wrote this on the way back, so enjoy!

Title: Lost in the River Grass

Author: Ginny Rorby

Rating: 4 stars

Recieved from: NetGalley

Review: Sarah has always been a loner because if her race. So when the chance to get away from her obnoxious school group in the Everglades comes around she jumps at it. Sarah and her new friend Andy go out on an mission to explore the Everglades together. But when their boat floats away, getting out of the Everglades is going to be more than hard, it's going to be deadly.

I, originally, wasn't going to read this book. I requested it from NetGalley on a whim and started it, but just couldn't get into it. But when I came across a couple of good reviews for it and a guilty conscience, I decided to pick it back up again and I finished it. And enjoyed it a lot.

This is your classic survival story, that follows a girl and a boy of different races, defying their differences in order to survive.

I liked Sarah and Andy, they were fine characters and I liked the interaction between the two. And Sarah was an African-American, which was awesome, you don't see too many books with a PoC (protagonist of color). And Andy came from a red neck, prejudiced, Confederate family. They were fleshed out alright and both went through many changes during the book.

I did get a bit bored while reading this but it was most likely because I need just a little romance in a book. And this is not a romance and I felt like it was an older middle grade novel, but I'm not entirely sure about it.

Animals played quite a big role in the story because that's what Andy and Sarah were mainly trying to escape, other than starving to death. I even learned a few new things too!

Other than a few minor complainants, I would recommend this to someone who likes a survival story or is just willing to try something new! It was a very good book.

Thanks NetGalley and Carolrhoda Books!

Saturday, January 22, 2011

Blog Happenings (14)

How is everyone out there doing? I don't know how I'm doing, I guess I'm really, really happy! Why? I don't know which is the best part!

I'm currently, still!, reading Revolution, but I'm really liking it so far! It has improved, quite a bit.

I'm also reading Angelfire on the side and I'm loving that! Should finish it soon.

And, I'm sorta reading Dead is not an Option. But I'm just very slowly reading that so I shouldn't finish it too soon, but I'll finish in good time.

I have no clue what I'm going to review this upcoming week. I feel like my reviews aren't very good, and that I don't have enough of them! But I'm so busy with school, I only have certian times I can actually read.

I do have a galley I need to review...and I could review Going too Far but I don't really want to becuase I'm not entirely comfortable with that book! Don't worry though I'll get on top of things, I always do not matter what!

I'm really sad because I series that I enjoy a lot is will be over very soon! That series is the Faerie Path by Frewin Jones. I originally read the first one a few years ago and then last year I read the rest of the series. But the last book is coming out January 25th which is soon! I feel like January is flying by...way to quickly

Here is what the the last book is about:

By the light of the pure eclipse, two worlds will be as one . . .
She was once a princess of Faerie, the seventh daughter of King Oberon. But sixteen-year-old Anita Palmer has no memory of the Faerie Realm; her true Faerie princess identity; her love, Edric; or her quest to save Faerie from a deadly plague that ravaged it. With the help of an unexpected ally, Anita must figure out a way to reawaken Tania, her Faerie self—but how?

Now Anita—or is she Tania?—doesn’t know who, or what, to trust, including her own memories. With no time to spare, Anita must act. A thrilling final battle is soon to be waged that will affect not only her destiny but the fate of both Faerie and the Mortal World. Loyalties will be tested, true love questioned, and nothing is what it seems.

I'm very excited for it!

That is all for now! There will be no post tomorrow, just not enough time!

Friday, January 21, 2011

Cover Coolness

I'm going to do a special little thing called: Cover Coolness! I recently realized how much I loved the covers of the Touch Novels by Laurie Faria Stolarz. Here they are!

Deadly Little Secret

Deadly Little Lies

Deadly Little Games

Something about these books are just so awesome and while they don't all match, you know they are part of the same series because of the fonts and of the pictures of just a girl with no head. I think it is a marketing idea, so people know they are part of the same series but aren't the same book! They do this with, The Mortal Instruments series, and the Gallagher Girl Series and very many others. I just find it interesting as to what publishers will do to get their books sold, no matter how good or how awful the book actually is!

So what do you think about these covers?

Thursday, January 20, 2011

My Soul to Save by Rachel Vincent

I cannot believe I actually have a post today. As you know I am currently gone right now, and don't even have an Internet connection. There will be a post tomorrow, but Saturday and Sunday are a little iffy right now! So bear with me!

Title: My Soul to Save

Author: Rachel Vincent

Rating: 4 stars

Review: Kaylee is dealing with some weird things in her life. When with her boyfriend, Nash, at a concert, a pop star drops dead. But Kaylee doesn't wail. And she's a bean sidhe, so it is her job to wail for souls when someone dies. This means the pop star didn't have a soul. And it turns out that many, many young stars have sold their souls for fame and greed. Now Kaylee isn't just going to let this sit, so she takes it upon herself to save a young starlet. But it isn't an easy job...

This was a great sequel to the first soul screamer book! It had all the things I was mainly looking for, an interesting plot, great characters, and some good romance. But something in this installment just fell a little flat.

It could have been that I found Nash, well a little too Nashy. I just don't like the way he acted in this installment. He was a little rude and didn't really care about other people and if they lost their souls. His thoughts mainly centered on himself and Kaylee. Because all he wants to do is...less than respectful in my opinion, at least.

But I still really liked Kaylee. At least she cares about people and actually wants to help them. She is a very good person. She deserves better than Nash...maybe Tod? Because Tod is really growing on me, and Nash is just dying away.

But to the plot! It was a very good idea but I felt that it was a little slow in the beginning, but otherwise I found it quite enjoyable.

I loved the unique, well it was unique to me, mythology about bean sidhes in this series. I learn something new about what Kaylee is capable of each time I read a new installment and this is an awesome thing! I loved how the Netherworld was described, and this drew me right in.

As I read on during the book I was so happy to be caught up in getting souls back to their respectful owners.

But even if I didn't like Kaylee, or the plot, I think I just might read this for the mythology!

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (2)

Today is we are doing a Waiting On Wednesday hosted by Breaking the Spine. Would someone please link this over there...I'm do not have Internet access so if you do link it over there, please leave a comment saying you did! Thank you very much!!

This weeks pick is:

Title: The Liar Society

Author: Laura and Lisa Roecker

Published: March 1, 2011

Summary: Kate Lowry didn't think dead best friends could send e-mails. But when she gets an e-mail from Grace, she’s not so sure.

Sent: Sun 9/14 11:59 PM
Subject: (no subject)

I'm here…
sort of.
Find Cameron.
He knows.
I shouldn't be writing.
Don't tell.
They'll hurt you.

Now Kate has no choice but to prove once and for all that Grace’s death was more than just a tragic accident. But secrets haunt the halls of her elite private school. Secrets people will do anything to protect. Even if it means getting rid of the girl trying to solve a murder...

Doesn't that sounds really good? I love mysteries and all that other fun stuff! And the cover, is so awesome, especially the pink hair!

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Hexbound by Chloe Neill

And Happy Tuesday!!

Title: Hexbound

Author: Chloe Neill

Rating: 5 stars

Review: Lily Parker still goes to St. Sophia's School in Chicago. Which also means she fights nasty humans called reapers. That reap your life, of course. Lily along with her best friend, Scout, and all their other friends are working hard to keep peace underneath Chicago when a mysterious disturbance interrupts everything that they thought they knew about the creepy monsters that roamed the underground tunnels. Trying to figure out the truth about her powers, survive school and deal with a crush, Lily has a lot on her hands, and that will probably be more than dangerous.

This book is SO much better than the last. While I really liked Firespell, nothing really exciting happened, but in this one my need for aciton was satisfied.

I loved Lily and especially Scout so much more in this book. And I loved them a lot in the first book! They had great dynamics as friends and were so funny and snarky, that I would probably read this just to read the dialogue between the two!

Sebastian or Jason? I really, well in my opinion, don't think Sebastian is an option yet, but I really like Jason. He is so sweet and caring and totally swoon worthy! But what happened at the end...! I won' give anything away but noooo!

The plot was quite good but I would have liked to see more interaction with Reapers instead of vampires. But it wasn't too bad! The story did make me want to keep on reading and figure out what was going on, though!

If you even liked Firespell, then I would totally recommend that you pick up Hexbound!

Monday, January 17, 2011

Come on and Join!

Recently I joined a book club on GoodReads and I'm loving it so far, but I thought it would be awesome if I made my OWN Book Club!

So a couple of days ago I made one and I wanted to tell all of my wonderful blog friends out there!

Here is the button for the Group, you can click on it and join!

YA Books are the Best's to-read book montage

YA Books are the Best 2 members
A Book Club for reading YA Books! Every month there will be a new book to read. There will be plenty...

Books we plan to read

Amy & Roger's Epic Detour
Amy & Roger's Epic Detour

by Morgan Matson

Start date: February 1, 2011

View this group on Goodreads »

As you can see, my group, YA Books are the Best will be reading Amy and Roger's Epic Detour in February! I have heard SO many good things about this book that I just can't wait to read it!

So if you want to have lots of fun and read some great books, then why don't you join!?

Sunday, January 16, 2011

In my Mailbox (15)

Hi Everyone!
IMM is hosted by Krisit at The Story Siren!

This week a got a couple of books!

Across the Universe by Beth Revis! I can't wait to read this book it looks soooo good!
Below is the "other cover" that is on the underside of the regular cover. I'm not sure which one I like more, but the second is very detailed and fun to look at!

Choker by Elizabeth Woods. I'm very excited to read this, it looks good and creepy and the same time!

I got by own copy of Unearthly!! YAY! I loved this book so I knew I needed to get it, and it is sooo pretty!

And look how good it looks on my book case? Sorry about the flash! But it is just so shiny and foily!

And from the library Deadly Little Games by Laurie Faria Stolarz. I've read all the previous books in this series, I can't wait to read this one!

So what did you get this week?

Saturday, January 15, 2011


Hey there everyone! How are you doing on this fine Saturday?! I'm very busy but oh well!

I'm currently reading Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly. I'm liking it her other book, A Northern Light, I'm having a terrible time getting through this one. I'm probably just going to drag it out till the end of the month and read other things. Like Angelfire and Dead is Not an Option. Hopefully I can finish those two over this week!

I have one review written for next week, not the best progress but I'm trying. There will be 2, maybe three reviews up. Cheer me one so I can get them done!

I am doing a project on the Cuban Missile Crisis! No fun! I hate projects! I'm trying not to pull my hair out as I write this, but it isn't working so well.

Book I don't know. I'm just trying to get by in school. Ok this isn't a problem at all really but I still stress out about it! I got a 4.0 and higher this semester! Don't tell my science teacher, he'll be mad, his goal in life is to make Katie get a B! Or Even an F!

I'm sorry this sucked was so weird, check by for an IMM tomorrow!

Remeber a few weeks ago when I showed you the "cover in progress"? Well here is the final cover and I have to say, I LOVE IT!

Thank you Shannon @ Stalking the Bookshelves for posting this on her blog so I could share this with you guys...otherwise I wouldn't have known!

Ack, one more. I discovered this one on my own though!

WOW! Love this. And I can't wait to read this either!

Friday, January 14, 2011

Follow Friday (4)

My name is Katie, obviously, and I run this funky little blog! I'm sooo excited you are here! If you leave a link in the comments I will come and follow you! Even if you don't leave a link, I will still stalk you. Well at least your blog, I'm not creepy!

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee's View

This week's question is:

What makes up your non-human family??

Wow, I can't actually answer this....I don't have any pets. Or anything else. If I want to be creative I'd say I have the characters in books...because while they are human they, sadly, are not real! But I want a puppy really bad! Alright I sound like a five year old!


Recenetly on Katie's Amazing Book Reviews:

If you are curious about more, check out my blog!

Thursday, January 13, 2011

XVI by Julia Karr

Hope your day is amazing! I'm taking a final today...we shall see how terrible that goes!
Title: XVI

Author: Julia Karr

Rating: 5 stars

Review: Nina Oberon, is absolutely dreading her sixteenth birthday. Because when girls turn sixteen, they are legal. Legal to all men to take what ever they want from the girls. Some girls can't wait to be sixteen but Nina isn't one of the few that would do anything not to turn sixteen. When a terrible tragedy causes Nina to move, she finds that she and her little sister are in danger. But Nina needs to be strong and be herself if she ever wants to survive.

That was a bad summary....But trust me, even though I summarized it terribly this book is great and I loved it a lot!

To tell you the truth I really had no clue what this book was about when I started, otherwise I probably wouldn't have picked it up. I'm not that comfortable with books that deal with sexuality and other related things. But this book surprised me and I'm so, so glad that I picked this one up! Maybe I should read out of my comfort zone more because this book was so good!

Nina was so strong and she actually thought for herself instead of listening to how the Media and The Government thought she should be acting now that her sixteenth birthday was approaching. She was one of my favorite characters along with Wei and Sal. Sal was a great character who I immediately knew that I was going to love, he and Nina are probably one of my top leading couples, and that says quite a bit!

Their romance was so sweet and real, even though Nina was so against falling in love and actually liking a guy.

During the book I say myself rooting for Nina and hoping that she would work everything out and do all the right things. I got very swept up into the plot and everything that went on in Nina's World. I just had to know if all of my favorite characters were going to be alright!

I just wish that things could have been wrapped up a little more at the end, I felt closure but I also felt as if I wanted to know so much more. Hopefully that will be answered in the sequel.

So basically this was an amazing debut, with very good characters and a very enticing plot!

I seem to be reading a lot of Dystopians lately, haven't I?

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (1)

Happy Wednesday. This is my first Waiting on Wednesday and will replace Spotlight Monday. I probably won't do this every week, only when I feel like it. Hosted by Breaking the Spine.

Title: Clarity

Author: Kim Harrington

Publication: March 1, 2011

When you can see things others can't, where do you look for the truth?
This paranormal murder mystery will have teens reading on the edge of their seats.
Clarity "Clare" Fern sees things. Things no one else can see. Things like stolen kisses and long-buried secrets. All she has to do is touch a certain object, and the visions come to her. It's a gift.
And a curse.
When a teenage girl is found murdered, Clare's ex-boyfriend wants her to help solve the case--but Clare is still furious at the cheating jerk. Then Clare's brother--who has supernatural gifts of his own--becomes the prime suspect, and Clare can no longer look away. Teaming up with Gabriel, the smoldering son of the new detective, Clare must venture into the depths of fear, revenge, and lust in order to track the killer. But will her sight fail her just when she needs it most?

I'm so excited for this. I'm just dying to read it!

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

2011 YA Contemporary Challenge

I'm joining the 2011 Contemporary Challenge Hosted by The Undercover Book Lover! (Link to the Challenge Post)

The Idea of this Challenge is to read more Contemporary YA Books, which I happen to love!

So head on over and enter!

My List of 13 books:
  1. Like Mandarin by Kirsten Hubbard
  2. Other Words for Love by Lorraine Zago Rosenthal
  3. Playing Hurt by Holly Schlindler
  4. So Much Closer by Susane Colasanti
  5. The Lucky Kind by Alyssa B. Sheinmel
  6. What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen
  7. The Locket by Stacey Jay
  8. He's So Not Worth It by Kieran Scott
  9. The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder
  10. Secrets by Lauren Kunze & Rina Onur
  11. Small Town Sinners by Melissa Walker
  12. Trapped by Michael Northrup
  13. Pearl by Jo Knowles
This isn't even close to all the books I plan to read but I will add books when I feel like it! I know there are many more on the Comtemps Challenge but I'm being a little lazy!

Monday, January 10, 2011

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Hi Everybody!
Hope you are having a great day!

Title: Unearthly

Author: Cynthia Hand

Received from NetGalley

Rating: 5 + Stars

Review: When Clara discovered she was one-fourth Angel a year ago her life changed. Recently Clara has been receiving visions of her "purpose" in life. And in a move which seems extreme to Clara, her mother and brother move out to Jackson Hole, Wyoming to find the mysterious boy that keeps showing up in her visions. Finding the boy it turns out is easy, but what comes after, including the love, is so much harder.

I have to say, if all 2011 Debuts are going to be as awesome and wonderful as Unearthly is then this is going to be on heck of a year!

Unearthly absolutely blew me away, I couldn't stop reading it and I never wanted it to end. The writing was great, Clara was so easy to relate too, other than being an angel, of course. And the plot was one of the great things about this book. It drew me in and I was so wrapped up in the characters. I wanted to know what happened but I wanted the book to be super long and never stop surprising me or throwing a twist at me.

The Romance: Christian is the boy from the vision. And I do have to admit that I didn't like him from the first minute I saw him, sure he's nice but I keep getting a weirdo vibe from him! And Tucker. My good old smoking hot western Cowboy. Who I wish was real and wasn't some totally swoon-worthy character in a great book. I love Tucker and I'm glad he was in the story. He is SO mine! And the romance was so real, it started out as a rival and then a friendship and then....

But I don't like or hate love triangles either, but it can be annoying! We will have to see what happens!

One of the things that initially made me want to read it, other than the fact that it contained angels and romance, was the setting. I have been to Jackson Hole two times. And loved it there, so when I kept getting descriptions of the setting I felt like I was there with Clara and Tucker and everyone else, but seriously who cares about them. I care about Tucker! And Clara but Tucker!

And it was funny! Especially Tucker....I'm sort of obsessed!

Thanks to NetGalley and Harper Collins!

Sunday, January 9, 2011

In My Mailbox (14)

IMM is back! And Hosted by The Story Siren! I'm so depressed today, the Colts lost...stupid Jets!

The Sky is Every Where by Jandy Nelson. I have heard so many great things about this book. I should read it soon.

Shine by Lauren Mryacle from NetGalley. Sorry the pictures bad but this one looks good. I love murders, I mean reading about solving them!

Angel Burn by L.A Weatherly. Also from NetGalley. This creeps me out, at the bottom it says  "The Only Good Angel is a Dead Angel." Interesting, I can't wait to read this!

That's all I got this book!
What did you get? Link Below!

Saturday, January 8, 2011

Blog Happenings (12)

Sorry this is a little late but I filmed a movie today (With Phae from Phaedra's Multipurpose Blog). And I took a break from I'm not that big of a fan of actually watching it but right now the Colts are playing, who I happen to love but I just needed to get on the computer and do what ever.

Anyway, I'm reading the second book in the Soul Screamers Series and I'm liking it so far. I should finish it tonight...tomorrow!?

Then I'm going to read Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly next, because I joined a book club on goodreads, and this is the book of the month and I figured I should get started!

I'm going to be gone on vacay, not this week but the next, I'm pretty sure I'll have some posts up but just in case that doesn't happen, but I'm sure it will, you know now?

Oh and the cover for Passion by Lauren Kate. I like it but it looks weird like it's a cross between an animation and real-life. I don't know it just looks so different from the rest. Whether that is a good thing or a bad thing, you can decide that for yourself.

Oh, oh and since I finished the Winter Break/Galley Challenge I set up for myself...there shall be a giveaway! Yes! I know the Giveaway of the Pale Assassin ended, on the 31st but I still need to draw the winners! Look for a post next week.

I can't think of anything else knew other than Across the Universe and Timeless are coming out soon...and I shall buy!

Friday, January 7, 2011

Spotlight Monday er..Friday?

It's Friday, thankfully. I am so sick of school I could die! I didn't do a Spotlight Monday this Monday because I didn't have time, but since I don't have a review ready, and there have already been 4 REVIEWS! I think we can wait a little. By the way, should I keep doing Spotlight Monday? I don't really want to, I'd rather do Waiting on Wednesday!

As You Wish by Jackson Pearce

Ever since Viola’s boyfriend broke up with her, she has spent her days silently wishing—to have someone love her again, and, more importantly, to belong again—until one day she inadvertently summons a genie out of his world and into her own. He will remain until she makes three wishes.

But Viola is terrified of wishing, afraid she won’t wish for the right thing, the thing that will make her truly happy. As the two spend time together, Jinn can’t deny that he’s slowly falling for Viola. But it’s only after Viola makes her first wish that she realizes she’s in love with Jinn as well…and that if she makes her final two wishes, he will disappear from her life—and her world—forever.

This book sounds great, as do Pearce's other books. And since I got this for Christmas..look for a review soon. Because I need to read this!

Thursday, January 6, 2011

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

I have had so much homework these last few days. I've stayed up to 10, just doing homework. I usually go to bed at 9:30....I do like my sleep. So thankfully I hardly have any homework so I was able to get this review up!

Title: Delirium

Author: Lauren Oliver

Recieved via NetGalley

Rating: 5 stars

Review: Lena has always listened to what the government has told the people. Wether it be about music, clothes or love. All Lena wants is to he cured of love, she looks forward to the day where she will get her procedure done. But as Lena's procedure date comes closer and closer Lena finds herself falling in love and breaking every rule she's ever known.

I had very high expectations for Delirium, especially after reading Before I Fall. And I am thrilled to say my expectations were met!
Lauren Oliver is a great writer. Everything she writes is so beautiful and just so perfect. Every word has it's own special place and wholly belongs there. This was one of the things that blew me away in her previous book and blew me away even more in this one.

Delirium was one of those books that I just loved, everything clicked with me and flowed great. I can't think of very many words to even describe how I felt!

I loved, loved, loved Lena and Alex. I found myself rooting for them and I  had to know if they'd be ok and safe. I even found myself smacking my head a couple if times when I thought something was stupid or was just plain mad.

This book sent me through a whirlwind if emotions, and many books don't make you feel very many emotions. Thank you Lauren Oliver for making me feel grateful that I live in a time where I am loved and appreciated.

I'm having a terrible love hate relationship with the end of the made me cry and I don't usually cry.


I am praying that Lena doesn't fall in love with another guy out in the Wilds, that would just be plain terrible! I will always love Alex. I'm even hoping that he isn't dead. He just can't be! I'm starting to tear up!


This is one great book that needs to be read by all and it will always be a favorite of mine.

Special Thanks to NetGalley and Harper Teen!

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

A Match Made in High School Review

Hope y'all is having a great Wednesday! I really like the summary for this book, so I'm going to use it!

Title: A Match Made in High School

Author: Kristin Walker

Rating: 4 stars

When the principal announces that every senior must participate in a mandatory year-long Marriage Education program, Fiona Sheehan “husband”: jerky jock Todd, whose cheerleader girlfriend, Amanda, has had it in for Fiona since day one of second grade. Even worse? Amanda is paired with Fiona's long-term crush, Gabe. At least Fiona is doing better than her best friend, Marcie, who is paired up with the very quiet, very mysterious Johnny Mercer.
Pranks, fights, misunderstandings, and reconciliations ensue in an almost Shakespearean comedy of errors about mistaken first impressions, convoluted coupling, and hidden crushes.

Review: This book was hilarious! It made me laugh out loud so many times and the dialogue was the best!

Fiona was an interesting character, but I didn't like her. While she could be nice one day, she thought the world revolved around her. But thankfully she developed and grew during the story and became much, much more likable! The supporting characters like Todd, who was hilarious and I liked him a lot! I also liked Johnny and Marcie, because, well, they were super good friends as well as so funny.

The very idea of a High School having a mock marriage between two students is so ridiculous. But Walker pulled it off and kept the mood light almost always, and made her readers laugh out loud with joy and pleasure. The things the students in the marriage program had to do....oh so funny!

This is a very nice debut that made me laugh a ton! Can't wait to see what the author writes next!

Tuesday, January 4, 2011

Dead is Just a Rumor by Marlene Perez

This week there will be a lot of reviews, because I'm mainly trying to get all my reviews for the books I read in the Readathon out. There will be 2 more review for the week.

Something screwy is going on so I apologize for the weird format of the review!

Title: Dead is Just a Rumor

Author: Marlene Perez

Rating: 4.5 stars

Review: Things are about to heat up for Daisy and her little town of Nightshade. Nightshade is planning its 200th Anniversary Party and it would go off without a hitch if citizens weren't getting blackmailed and someone wasn't writing terrible things about Daisy and Ryan on the bathroom walls. As always, Daisy is determined to get to the bottom of Nightshade's Problems. But it won't be as easy as she thinks this time around.

My great, trouble-making Daisy is back! If you read my review yesterday you'd probably know that I was less than pleased with the third installment in the series but this one was SO much better.

Daisy was better and did not get on my nerves at all! I don't know why but she just didn't. I loved the relationship between Daisy and Ryan in this book. It was so much more mature and romantic. It also helped that Daisy was grounded and was sneaking out....I guess I  like rule breakers!

The mystery, while predictable, was not as annoying either and I actually enjoyed reading about everything. I also didn't notice as many little "hints" the author drops. Maybe I just wasn't paying very good attention but I didn't notice many at all. And that was a very good thing.

This fourth Dead is book did surprise me in the very ending and I was so happy with the latest developments.

I can't wait to read the last book in the series, Dead is Not an Option! Thankfully I have it from NetGalley, so I'll get around to reading it soon!

Monday, January 3, 2011

Dead is So Last Year by Marlene Perez

Happy Monday! I hope your New Year is off to a great start!

Title: Dead is so Last Year

Author: Marlene Perez

Rating: 3.5 stars

Review: Daisy and her supernatural town, Nightshade, are back and this time solving a very dangerous mystery. When Daisy and her friends start seeing doubles of the citizens of Nightshade, they just brush it off. But it turns out that there are doubles trying to cause trouble for all of Nightshade. And Daisy's schoolmates on the football team are acting even weirder. Will Daisy and her friends be able to solve this mystery without anyone getting hurt?

Dead is so Last Year was highly predictable and the characters were just annoying! Well most of the time.

Those are my main complaints. I just knew what was going to happen sooo far before Daisy or anyone else did. It made reading this not enjoyable at all. And sometimes the author left little hints that made the plot even MORE obvious!

Daisy, despite being some great mystery solver, gets herself into so many situations that aren't even realistic! I'm sorry but this book just annoyed me!

But other than the characters and the predictability, I liked watching things unfold and at the end I was very satisfied with what had played out during the book.

My favorite characters are probably Poppy and Ryan. I don't dislike Daisy but she just gets on my nerves.

If you are looking for a predictable but fun mystery with paranormal elements than this is the book for you!

Sunday, January 2, 2011

In My Mailbox (13)

Happy Sunday! IMM is hosted by The Story Siren! I know there isn't a IMM this week, but I don't want to do just one huge thing...because that would be a lot of books!

This is a Christmas/ The week after Christmas smash-up! Enjoy!
I won't do much commentary on the books because there's a lot of books! YAY! I counted all the books I've got, 24 including the 3 library books.

Libaray Books!
  • Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
  • Carter Finally Gets It by Brent Crawford
  • A Match Made in High School by Kristin Walker

I'm going to go from down from the first column on the left and then back up to the 2nd column and so forth.
  • The Twin's Daughter by Lauren Baratz-Logsted
  • The Ghost and the Goth by Stacey Kade
  • Shadowed Summer by Saundra Mitchell
  • Enchanted Ivy by Sarah Beth Durst
  • Prisoners in the Palace by Michaela MacColl
  • The Back Door of Midnight by Elizabeth Chandler
  • Jane by April Lindner
  • The Dark Divine by Bree Despain
  • My Soul to Steal by Rachel Vincent

  • The Pretty Little Liars Boxed Set by Sara Shepard (Books 1-4)
  • As You Wish by Jackson Pearce
  • Losing Faith by Denise Jaden
  • The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
  • The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa
  • Impossible by Nancy Werlin
  • Forgive my Fins by Tera Lynn Childs

And I bought these yesterday! And only payed 8 dollars! Go Borders Bucks! These are my first books that are published in 2011!
  • Hexbound by Chloe Neill
  • And my first 2011 Debut Author Challenge Book that I bought: XVI by Julia Karr

And 2 pictures of my gorgeous Nook Color!

So what did you get this week??

Saturday, January 1, 2011

2010 Debut Author Challenge Wrap-Up

Hi Everyone!

Since the 2010 Debut Author Challenge is now over I thought I'd just do a little wrap-up post! Just for fun!

Original Post

Here is all the books I have completed and reviewed except for one, Wish by Alexandra Bullen. All, except for one are linked to their review!
  1. Everlasting by Angie Frazier
  2. The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting
  3. Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
  4. Shadow Hills by Ananstasia Hopcus
  5. Faithful by Janet Fox
  6. Angel Star by Jennifer Murgia
  7. Wish by Alexandra Bullen (Not Reviewed)
  8. Paranormalcy by Kiersten White
  9. Sea by Heidi R. Kling
  10. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
  11. Other by Karen Kincy
  12. 13 to Life by Shannon Delany
  13. The Thirteenth Chime by Emma Michaels
  14. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
  15. Intrinsical by Lani Woodland
  16. Nightshade by Andrea Cremer
  17. Firespell by Chloe Neill
  18. Whisper by Phoebe Kitanidis


Just A Reminder: I'm also participating in the 2011 YA Historical Challenge, The 2011 Debut Author Challenge and the 2011 350 Page Challenge! Check out the Challenge Page on the Sidebar for more info!

My Favorite Books of 2010

It's 2011, isn't it? I can't believe it! I have to go back to school on Monday and I don't want to. But I'm just going to enjoy the rest of my break, and read some 2011 Debuts!

In no particular order: My Favorites books of 2010 and Why
 The Hunger Games wasn't published in 2010 but I read it then, other than that all of these books are  2010 debuts!

The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting
It has everything I ever wanted in a book, romance, suspense, mystery, and killer characters.
I never wanted it to and I couldn't stop thinking about it days after I finished. I still think about it! I love it a lot.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
It was fun, it was incredibly sweet, and it had a heart. It's more than a pretty cover, it has many things that made it absolutely lovable. Especially those boys!

Everlasting by Angie Frazier
Everlasting was mysterious, romantic and had some great adventure. The plot and the characters drew me in as well as the historical setting!

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
Before I Fall was heartbreaking and a real tear-jerker. It was real and has a great message. This book will stay with you a long time after you read it.

Shadow Hills by Anastasia Hopcus
Unique characters, plus a unique storyline. What's not to love? Plus there was romance and it was fun to read as well as suspenseful.

A Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee
I'm a sucker for mysteries and will always be. And A Spy in the House was just what I needed. It has likable characters, a riveting plot and a great setting. And a heroine who can take care of herself!

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
No Duh! I just loved it. I don't know how to describe it but it was great.

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White
This is different from all those stereotypical books we always get. It's fun, it's sweet and something about it is just magic.

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
A Hot Guy, a mystery and all those other things I love. Sophie was a great character along with all the others. It was so much fun!

Sea by Heidi R. Kling
This book was so awesome. It was heartbreaking and so real. I felt the pain every character was going through. It was just a great read.

EDIT: While I did read Delirium yesterday I'm not going to include it in my favorite books of 2010, it will probably be in 2011 favorite books! Since I just don't have room for it on 2010 and it's published in 2011, I'll just wait!
Related Posts with Thumbnails
Blog Design By Use Your Imagination Designs Inspired by Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater