Saturday, April 30, 2011

Blog Happenings (20)

Sorry this is late, I have been sooo busy today! Busy but fun. Tomorrow is a big day for me! I really, really hope I'll get all my homework and blog related things done soon. I will have no time tomorrow, except at night! So wish me luck.

I'm going to keep this quick because I need to work on tomorrows post!

I'm reading Scorpia Rising by Anthony Horowitz. Still. I'm actually almost done! Things are getting very tense!

For a galley I'm reading The Lipstick Laws by Amy Holder and The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter. (Hope I spelled that right!) Both are extremely good!

Covers, covers, covers!!

I actually really dont' like this cover, it just looks weird! And I don't like her dress too much! Well just thought I'd let you see this!


Friday, April 29, 2011

Follow Friday (15)

Happy Friday!

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee's View!

This week's question is:
If you were stocking your bomb shelter, what books would you HAVE to include if you only had space for ten?

Hmmm....! THAT IS SO HARD!

  1. The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting
  2. Everlasting by Angie Frazier
  3. Unearthly by Cynthia Hand
  4. Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins
  5. Across the Universe by Beth Revis
  6. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
  7. Heist Society by Ally Carter
  8. The Demon Trapper's Daughter by Jana Oliver
  9. Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly
  10. And........MY NOOK!! HEHE! Hopefully there is a plug in, in this bomb shelter! I sure hope that counts!

            What about you??

Thursday, April 28, 2011

Airhead by Meg Cabot

Title: Airhead 
Author: Meg Cabot
Publisher: Point
Publication Date: May 13, 2008
Source: Library


Emerson Watts didn't even want to go to the new SoHo Stark Megastore grand opening. But someone needed to look out for her sister, Frida, whose crush, British heartthrob Gabriel Luna, would be singing and signing autographs there-along with the newly appointed Face of Stark, teen supermodel sensation Nikki Howard.

How was Em to know that disaster would strike, changing her-and life as she'd known it-forever? One bizarre accident later, and Em Watts, always the tomboy, never the party princess, is no longer herself. Literally.

Now getting her best friend, Christopher, to notice that she's actually a girl is the least of Em's problems.

But what Em's pretty sure she'll never be able to accept might just turn out to be the one thing that's going to make her dream come true . . . .


Review: My first Meg Cabot book!!! I'd heard some great things about her and her books. But, truthfully, I wasn't expecting what I got. I was expecting something sorta boring and or weird. But Meg Cabot gave me one amazing book.

The idea in Airhead is so fresh and original! I loved it. Even if I hadn't loved the characters, the plot would have surely been memorable.

But I did love the characters. They were so quirky and fun! Em or Nikki as she is now was just so special! I never read a character quite like her. She's sorta a video gaming nerd. And I hate video games for the record. But I still really liked her.

I'm so excited to read the rest of the series! It will be so much fun. I'm also officially a Cabot fan. I can't wait to read more and if you haven't yet, what are you waiting for!??


Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (14)

Happy Wednesday!
WoW is hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine!

Forgiven by Janet Fox
June 2, 2011

Kula Baker never expected to find herself on the streets of San Francisco, alone but for a letter of introduction. Though she has come to the city to save her father from a cruel fate, Kula soon finds herself swept up in a world of art and elegance - a world she hardly dared dream of back in Montana, where she was no more than the daughter of an outlaw. And then there is the handsome David Wong, whose smiling eyes and soft-spoken manner have an uncanny way of breaking through Kula's carefully crafted reserve. Yet when disaster strikes and the wreckage threatens all she holds dear, Kula realizes that only by unlocking her heart can she begin to carve a new future for herself.

I loved the first book in this series, Faithful and I can't wait to read this one. This is a companion book and it involves Kula a girl I sort of liked from the first I'm not sure how that is going to turn out but I'm sure I'll love it!

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson

Title: The Last Little Blue Envelope
Author: Maureen Johnson 
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publication: April 26, 2011
Source: NetGalley 

Summary: Ginny Blackstone thought that the biggest adventure of her life was behind her. She spent last summer traveling around Europe, following the tasks her aunt Peg laid out in a series of letters before she died. When someone stole Ginny's backpack—and the last little blue envelope inside—she resigned herself to never knowing how it was supposed to end.

Months later, a mysterious boy contacts Ginny from London, saying he's found her bag. Finally, Ginny can finish what she started. But instead of ending her journey, the last letter starts a new adventure—one filled with old friends, new loves, and once-in-a-lifetime experiences. Ginny finds she must hold on to her wits . . . and her heart. This time, there are no instructions

Review: The Last Little Blue Envelope was a such a satisfying conclusion to 13 Little Blue Envelopes that it isn't even funny.
First of all, I'm just glad Ms. Johnson wrote this!! And I am so lucky to have read 13 Little Blue Envelopes only last summer and didn't have to wait about 5 years for this one! That would have been an awful wait. I was satisfied with the first one but this made it so much better and tied up all those burning questions that I had!

Again Ginny got to leave home way too easily for my liking but it's not real so it doesn't matter too much. Ginny was more developed in this, as were the rest of the characters. I felt like I got to know her much better and I liked her a lot more!
And with this sequel we also got a couple of new characters. That were AMAZING! I loved Oliver and Ellis. Especially Oliver. If you've read the first one you'd be like but what about Keith. He was a total jerk. Highlight to read: And Ellis is his girlfriend...what a jerk! He didn't even tell Ginny!

I was really surprised at how things turned out in the end and I loved watching the adventures as they went on the journey for the last envelope.

Even if you didn't like the first one too much, I'd read this one because it is much better the the first and loose ends were tired up!!


Monday, April 25, 2011

Overprotected by Jennifer Laurens

Title: Overprotected
Author: Jennifer Laurens
Publisher: Grove Creek Publishing
Publication Date: April 29, 2011 (Paperback) Feb. 2011 (eBook)
Source: Bought Ebook

Summary: Ashlyn: A lonely society princess living in New York City.

Daddy hired you to be my bodyguard.

Colin: Childhood enemy, now her protector.

Daddy thought I’d be safe. He thought I’d never fall in love. He thought he could keep me forever.

Charles: obsessed with keeping her safe, keeping her his, he hires the one person he knows she could never fall in love with: Colin.

Daddy was wrong.
Review: Overprotected absolutely blew me away. Seriously. I knew it was going to be good but I never ever imagined the way I would devour it!

Ashlyn has been overprotected by her Father for forever. And she is tired of being protected and not having any friends. Which leads to her acting out and her old bodyguard being fired... And guess who comes to town?? Colin.

Colin is one if the sweetest boys I have ever met in YA fiction and I don't say that lightly. He was always there for Ashlyn and comforted her. He was stunning. And he never took things too far and was just plain sweet.

Ashlyn, oh I felt so sorry for her. The life she lives is awful, I could never imagine it. Some of the things she did might seem childish or stupid. But it's exactly the thing I would do if I was in her situation. She was also a really great character.

I don't even want to mention her parents they were so awful.

Despite the plot being mainly about Ashlyn trying to escape and a couple of spoilery things, it never dragged and I was super addicted. The style of writing and Ashlyn's voice made this truly unforgettable.

I don't think I can express in a review how special this book really was and how much I loved it. So basically I just want everyone to give this a try because it was so good!

I left with a new favorite and an author to watch out for!!


Sunday, April 24, 2011

In My Mailbox (27)

Happy Sunday! And Easter!

IMM is hosted by The Story Siren!

From the library:
  • Not that Kind of Girl by Siibhan Vivian. I'm usually sort of turned off my covers with people kissing on the front, but everyone seems to love this book, so why not?!
  • Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King. I've heard great things about A.S. King and can't wait to read this!
  • Banished by Sophie Littlefield! This looks really good and I love that cover!
  • Crossing the Tracks by Barbara Stuber. I have wanted to read this one for a really long time. It looks like my kind of book!
And then I did something sort of bad...I bought Overprotected by Jennifer Laurens for my Nook! It was only a little over $4!!! I couldn't resist! And it turned out to be worth while, this book was super great!

That's All I Got! What did you get??

Saturday, April 23, 2011

Blog Happenings (20)

It is the weekend! YAY! I'm going to be super busy today...I have to get all my homework done, and blog posts for tomorrow and this upcoming week...yeah really fun. But Happy Easter Weekend everyone!

I'm currently reading Scorpia Rising the last Alex Rider book. It is really good but I haven't had much time to read it. I love books with spies, and I wish for once that Alex Rider will have a happy ending. I'm also reading Sixteenth Summer on my Nook. This book is so much fun! I only have a few more days to read it though.

And then I'm reading....OVERPROTECTED!!!!!!!!!!! Oh my goodness this book is amazing!! I should finish it soon but I don't want to, it is so amazing.

Is this self-published or not??? Just curious because I can't seem to tell.

I'm trying to read but just haven't got there, probably because of all the books I'm reading at one time, is Runaway by Meg Cabot and Crossing the Tracks by Barbara Stuber. 

I'm pretty sure I have way to many books to read.

And I have no clue what I'm going to review this week. I usually have it planned out...but not this week!

I better get working on homework so I can work on this and read later!

Have a great weekend!

Friday, April 22, 2011

Follow Friday (14)

HAPPY FRIDAY EVERYONE! I'm so glad it is Friday!

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee's View!

This week's question is:
What is on your current playlist right now?
I'm not that big of a music person...*gasp* but it doesn't mean I don't like to listen to it.
Our Song-Taylor Swift
Misery- Maroon 5
She Will Be Loved- Maroon 5
Cooler Than Me- Mike Posner
And....I happen to like a couple of oldies so
Dancing in the Moonlight- King Harvest
Yeah, music is not my strong point...!


Thursday, April 21, 2011

Babe in Boyland by Jody Gehrman

Title: Babe in Boyland
Author: Jody Gehrman
Publisher: Dial
Publication Date: February 17, 2011
Source: Bought

Summary: When high school junior Natalie--or Dr. Aphrodite, as she calls herself when writing the relationship column for her school paper--is accused of knowing nothing about guys and giving girls bad relationship advice, she decides to investigate what guys really think and want.

But the guys in her class won't give her straight or serious answers. The only solution? Disguising herself as a guy and spending a week at Underwood Academy, the private all-boy boarding school in town. There she learns a lot about guys and girls in ways she never expected--especially when she falls for her dreamy roommate, Emilio. How can she show him she likes him without blowing her cover?

Review: There are no words no describe how much I loved this book. It was the ultimate fun book, and I enjoyed every second that I got to spend reading it!

I love books where a girl dresses up as a boy and goes and lives with them. They are usually hilarious, and Babe in Boyland was no exception. It was so funny, I cracked up laughing out loud!

I loved Natalie, or Nat when she was a guy. She was funny, and absolutely brilliant. She was alive and likable. I loved how she was so determined to get answers to all her questions about boys. And her friends were so funny too, and really supportive of Natalie and her "mission."

Emilio. Now that boy was drop dead dreamy. Seriously, I'm not lying. He was also one of the sweetest guys I have ever read too. And he said some pretty hilarious things...! This is the book with all the awesome one-liners.

Babe in Boyland is most definitely one of my favorite books of 2011. It was sweet, insightful, had a bunch of awesome characters and...guess what??



Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (13)

Happy Wednesday!
WoW is hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine!

The Faerie Ring by Kiki Hamilton
September 27, 2011

London, December 1871

Orphaned and picking pockets in London’s Charing Cross station to support not only herself, but her ‘family’ of orphans, sixteen year-old Tiki steals the Queen’s ring and thinks she’s solved their problems. That is, until Rieker, a pickpocket from the North End, suspects her in the theft and tells her that the ring is really a reservoir that holds a truce between the British and Faerie courts.

When he warns her that the fey will do anything, including murder, to recover the ring, Tiki is unsure whether to believe him or not. To complicate matters, Rieker seems to know something about the unusual birthmark on Tiki’s wrist. But when Tiki and her family are threatened the game changes.

In a dazzling debut that takes you from the gritty slums of Victorian London to the glittering ballrooms of the Royal Palace to the menacing Otherworld, you won’t want to miss this thrilling tale of mystery, adventure and romance.

This book looks like an extremely good debut. I'm always up for anything about Faeries! And it is historical! How can it get any better than that? And look at that beautiful cover!

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

We'll Always Have Summer by Jenny Han

Title: We'll Always Have Summer
Author: Jenny Han
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Publication Date: April 26, 2011
Source: Simon and Schuster Galley Grab

Summary: It's been two years since Conrad told Belly to go with Jeremiah. She and Jeremiah have been inseparable ever since, even attending the same college-- only, their relationship hasn't exactly been the happily ever after Belly had hoped it would be. And when Jeremiah makes the worst mistake a boy can make, Belly is forced to question what she thought was true love. Does she really have a future with Jeremiah? Has she ever gotten over Conrad? It's time for Belly to decide, once and for all, who has her heart forever.

Review: We'll Always Have Summer was an epic, absolutely epic, conclusion to the Summer Series.

I felt so many emotions, as always in this book. I just wanted Belly to be happy. I was tired of both Conrad and Jeremiah hurting her and making her unhappy. I didn't support all of the decisions Belly made in this book but, you know what? Everything turned out for the better.

I feel like I can't elaborate too much on the plot because I will totally spoil it for everyone who hasn't read it yet. But let's just say I was super surprised at somethings.

And the ending, oh the ending. It made me want to squeal and jump up and down with joy. It was so good, and so perfect. I read it a couple of times just to make sure I was reading it right. It was so happy.

I don't think this is spoiling too much, but I loved the letter Belly got from Susannah at the end. It was so sweet.

I'm extremely sad to see all these amazing characters go. I'm never going to get to see Belly and the boys again or go to Cousins' Beach. But I had fun there, and I'm glad a discovered such an amazing series.


Monday, April 18, 2011

It's Not Summer Without You by Jenny Han

Title: It's Not Summer Without You
Author: Jenny Han
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Publication Date: April 27, 2010
Source: Bought

Summary: Last year, all of Belly’s dreams came true and the thought of missing a summer in Cousins Beach was inconceivable. But like the rise and fall of the ocean tide, things can change--  just like that. Suddenly the time she's always looked forward to most is something she dreads. And when Jeremiah calls to say Conrad has disappeared, Belly must decide how she will spend this summer: chasing after the boy she loves, or finally letting him go.

Review: Wow! The Summer Series is just plain amazing!

It's Not Summer Without You was another whirlwind of emotions for Belly and for me. There is something so great about this series that just makes me want to read it. They are addicting and hard to put down.

Belly is one of my all time favorite characters. She has such a unique voice that I love reading. I can feel her emotions and understand her dilemmas. She'll always have a special place with me and on my bookshelf.

The only thing that frustrated me about this book is the boys, Jeremiah and Conrad. Both of them were just stupid. And ugh, they made me so angry. Especially Conrad. Does he not realize how much he hurts Belly?! I still love him though.

There were a couple a chapters in Jeremiah's point of view. It was an extremely nice touch and well done. I loved getting inside his head.

As for the plot, all the Summer books meld into one so I can't really say anything too great about it other than it was...great!

So who do I think she'll pick in the last book? Conrad. I've been on Team Conrad all the way from the beginning but I just have this little feeling that Belly will pick him. Jeremiah is too silly, for lack of a better word. I love him but I don't think he is right for Belly. OK, how about I just say I want Belly to pick whoever she picks! Though I do have a feeling it will be Conrad.

Just read this series!


Sunday, April 17, 2011

In My Mailbox (26)

IMM is hosted by The Story Siren!!

Book Buying Ban is still standing! YAY!

From the Library I got:

Scorpia Rising by Anthony Hororwitz. The Alex Rider series has been a favorite of mine for a long, long time. I while I'm sad to see it go, I can't wait to see what happens in the last book!

The Iron Thorn by Caitlin Kittredge. This book looks amazing, I want to read it so bad! Soon, soon, soon!

Angel by James Patterson. I'm getting a little sick of this series, but I'm going to give this one a shot!

And from NetGalley:

The Magnolia League by Katie Crouch! I can't wait to read this one, it looks sooo good!

That's all I got this week, what did you get??

Saturday, April 16, 2011

Blog Happenings (20)

How is everyone doing on this find day!? I'm doing pretty great, I'm extremely tired though and I hurt all over. Why? We had this crazy little formal at school last night, I'm still really tired! But anyway...let us talk books!!

I finished the Summer Series by Jenny Han...Oh my goodness. It was amazing, especially the last book, We'll Always Have Summer was the best of them all. I love this series, and if you haven't read it you should! We'll Always have Summer comes out in about 10 days! I still can't stop thinking about the way it ended!

I only have like 15 and 16 days left on some NetGalley and GalleyGrab books, I really need to read them! And I have 2 library books that I need to read and they are due tomorrow, I guess I'll have to renew them!

You know what book I really, really want to read? The Iron Thorn. For some reason I have just become obsessed with it in the last couple of days...!

I can't think of anything else to say, other than I really need a nap! Have a great weekend!!

Friday, April 15, 2011

Follow Friday (14)

Today is a huge day for me! It is Friday and something really special is happening today!! But it is raining!!

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee's View!

This week's question is:
Do you have anyone that you can discuss books with IRL? Tell us about him/her.
I talk to all of my friends at school, well at least the ones that loves books. We sometimes just sit down at lunch and argue which guy is hotter...! There is this ongoing thing with this girl where we argue about David and Tamani from the Wings series. I'm Team David and she is, well, not! But I mostly talk to Phaedra, from Phaedra's Show and Tell, about books, because she is my friend IRL! I hate that acronym!

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Stay by Deb Caletti

Title: Stay 
Author: Deb Caletti
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: April 5, 2011
Source: Simon and Schuster Galley Grab

Summary: Clara’s relationship with Christian is intense from the start, and like nothing she’s ever experienced before. But what starts as devotion quickly becomes obsession, and it’s almost too late before Clara realizes how far gone Christian is—and what he’s willing to do to make her stay.

Now Clara has left the city—and Christian—behind. No one back home has any idea where she is, but she still struggles to shake off her fear. She knows Christian won’t let her go that easily, and that no matter how far she runs, it may not be far enough....

Review: Stay was my first Deb Caletti book. And I have to say, I'll definitely being coming back for more from Caletti.

Stay was more then emotional, it was a powerful read that opens your eyes to that inscrutable fine line between love and obsession.

I loved Clara. She was so believable, so real, and she had a great voice. I really felt like I was in her shoes, I felt her fear, her happiness, her inability to let go. It was just amazing. And Clara's Dad, what a nice guy! Like I've said before: I had awful parents in YA. And Christian was a total scumbag. Yeah, that is all I'm going to say about that awful boy. I don't want to spoil the story but there was one noteworthy character that was awfully sweet...!

The setting created by Caletti was just as powerful as her characters. I was sucked into the vortex of Clara's world on the beach. I never wanted to leave.

Sometimes Stay was downright scary. The way Christian's obsession with Clara was painted, was so real and gritty, it makes me scared to even think that this type of situation happens every single day. Clara was in so much pain, and I just get choked up thinking about all she went through.

The writing in Stay was so amazing, it wasn't even funny. Seriously. You can tell when an author puts thinking and thought in to every word, every sentence. Just reading the writing was a joy.

The Bottom Line: I would definitely recommend this, especially to older young adults and adults who are fans of contemporary.


Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (12)

Happy Wednesday! WoW is hosted by Jill over at Breaking The Spine!

This week's pick is:

Undercurrent by Tricia Rayburn
June 12, 2011

Summary: After losing her sister and finding out who- or what- she really is, Vanessa returns home for her senior year. Everyone at Hawthorne Prep has questions about her tragic summer, but knowing who to open up to is impossible. As she walks the halls without Justine for the very first time, Vanessa has more to worry about than just making a new life for herself.

Because the sirens are out for revenge. To protect herself and the ones she loves, Vanessa must call on powers she believes she has but does not know how to use. To learn, she'll have to seek help from the only person who truly knows her. But first, she must admit the truth about her real identity.

I LOVED the first book, Siren, and I can't wait to read this one. I can't wait to see what happens with Vanessa and with Simon..! I like this cover a lot more than the first cover, though it doesn't match! I hate when they do that!

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Oh Dear


The post that was supposed to go up today, I canceled. I felt that the review was too negative, and mean. I know I should post the review because it is my honest opinion but I knew that I would regret posting it.

So hopefully, I can get my thoughts about this book in order, and publish a semi-decent review. Because other than hating on the book, the review was awful!

So sorry there is no review today! I apologize. There will be a review for this book in the future but I don't have time to write it now. And no, you won't ever know what this book was.

But I thought I should mention it. I'm dearly sorry faithful readers, but I would just regret it.

Have a great rest of your day!!

Do you have any thoughts on posting negative reviews??

Monday, April 11, 2011

Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky

Title: Awaken 
Author: Katie Kacvinsky
Publisher: Houghten Mifflin Books
Publication: May 23, 2011
Source: Special Thanks to NetGalley

Summary: Maddie lives in a world where everything is done on the computer. Whether it’s to go to school or on a date, people don’t venture out of their home. There’s really no need. For the most part, Maddie’s okay with the solitary, digital life—until she meets Justin. Justin likes being with people. He enjoys the physical closeness of face-to-face interactions. People aren’t meant to be alone, he tells her.

Suddenly, Maddie feels something awakening inside her—a feeling that maybe there is a different, better way to live. But with society and her parents telling her otherwise, Maddie is going to have to learn to stand up for herself if she wants to change the path her life is taking.

In this not-so-brave new world, two young people struggle to carve out their own space.

Review: Awaken was a magnificent debut that really opens your eyes to the world of technology and what it could and most likely will do to our society.

Awaken takes place in 2060ish where technology rules the world. People don't even know their own neighbors because they spend all day inside. Maddie's, our main character, father is the head of The Digital School. But Maddie does start to think the world is wrong after awhile, especially once she meets Justin.

Maddie was a really interesting main character. And I mean that in the best way possible! She was vulnerable yet I felt that she was strong and brave. And that she could fight for what she believed in! I also loved Justin. But sometimes he felt like he was too much of an adult. Some of the things he said were a little too philosophical. But it didn't both me that much.

But the romance between Maddie and Justin was just so alive, it flew of the page at you. Seriously even though there was hardly any kissing till the very end of the book. It was very alive.*

There was just something about the plot that had me captivated from the very beginning of the book. It was enthralling and I couldn't put my Nook down! I had to keep flipping those pages* and know what happened with this unique America. It was just so amazing!

Awaken was a really unique debut that was a pleasure to read. I really hope there is a sequel because I want more of Maddie and Justin, and their world!

*Ok, I totally feel like an idiot for saying that!
*Well, I guess I wasn't actually flipping the pages, I was touching the pages to make them flip! 

Sunday, April 10, 2011

Divergent Giveaway!


Usually I don't post about giveaways on the blog....but I just had to! Casey over at The Bookish Type is doing a giveaway for Divergent! Take this link for...Divergent! Seriously, go enter this!

Because if you are like me, you want this book more than anything!!!


In My Mailbox (25)

Happy Sunday! IMM is hosted by The Story Siren!

Don't kill me guys, I broke my book buying ban! I just couldn't help it! I'm going to try and revive it though! You can yell at me all you want!

  • Entwined by Heather Dixon! I have wanted this book for the longest time. I love retellings!
  • Playing Hurt by Holly Schindler! I want to read this one more than anything!
  • Where She Went by Gayle Forman. I really liked If I Stay and I know that this one will be even better!
  • City of Fallen Angel, complete with Jace's letter to Clary. I know I haven't even read the series yet, but I had to have it!
  • Falling Under by Gwen Hayes.  Can't wait to read this!!
  • Born at Midnight by C.C. Hunter! This looks amazing!
That is all I got this week! Book buying ban is still in place, unless I can find Wake Unto Me by Lisa Cach.

What did you get??

Saturday, April 9, 2011

Blog Happenings (20)

Happy Weekend!

100 FOLLOWERS! I love you all! It actually might have more than that, but last time I checked I did. I remember when I used to have only 2! 2! I still can't believe anyone would want to follow my blog, it is just astounding. So thank you all! You just made my day!

I'm currently reading Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen. I'm a little undecided how I feel about it though, sometimes I love it, other times I feel like I don't like it at all. I'm almost done! Then I'll read this, this and that. But what I really need to read is Invincible Summer! I only have like 10 days left on it! And I have to finish reading The Summer Series by Jenny Han soon! Too many books!!

For all those Mortal Instruments Junkies I'm sure you all know that City of Fallen Angels came out! I have a copy....I know be ashamed. I only have one complaint about it! It looks awful next to City of Glass on the shelf, the colors clash. And they just don't look good together! I really need to start reading all of those, SINCE I HAVE THEM! I promise you, this summer I will read them!

I've even debated breaking by book buying ban to buy Wake Unto Me by Lisa Cach! But I can't find it anywhere!! And I really don't want to order it! I need this awesome book!

That's enough of my babbling! Have a great day!

Friday, April 8, 2011

Follow Friday (13)

Happy Friday! This has been one long, but happy week! I got some new countdown widgets and I love it. Coming to my blog is like coming and seeing the ocean!

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee's View!!

This week's question is:
Do you judge a book by it's cover?
Unfortunately, I do. I'm not that proud of it, but I pretty cover catches your eye better than a dull one. I do try and pick up book not based on their cover or title but sometimes it is hard not too! I'm trying to amend that though!


Thursday, April 7, 2011

The Vespertine by Saundra Mitchell

Title: The Vespertine
Author: Saundra Mitchell 
Publisher: Harcourt Children's Books
Publication Date: March 7, 2011
Source: Special Thanks to NetGalley and Harcourt!

Summary: It’s the summer of 1889, and Amelia van den Broek is new to Baltimore and eager to take in all the pleasures the city has to offer. But her gaiety is interrupted by disturbing, dreamlike visions she has only at sunset—visions that offer glimpses of the future. Soon, friends and strangers alike call on Amelia to hear her prophecies. However, a forbidden romance with Nathaniel, an artist, threatens the new life Amelia is building in Baltimore. This enigmatic young man is keeping secrets of his own—still, Amelia finds herself irrepressibly drawn to him.

When one of her darkest visions comes to pass, Amelia’s world is thrown into chaos. And those around her begin to wonder if she’s not the seer of dark portents, but the cause.

Review: I really didn't know what to except when I started to read this. Everyone loved this or they hated it. I fell into the former. And reading The Vespertine was one heck of a pleasure.

I loved how Saundra Mitchell wrote, she really got into the time period. I felt like I was reading something from that time. It was amazing. Sure it got a little confusing at times, but the loveliness of it all made up for it!

I loved the characters. Seriously loved them. Amelia was just left me awestruck, Nathanial made my heart pound, Zora made me laugh. They were amazing, and I'm was so sad to see them go once I finished the book. Sometimes you get so attached to characters, that it is hard to finish a book because of it! And this book was no different.

And the twists and turns! That was intense, half of the things that happened I never saw coming!

I'm going to not make this review too long because I don't want to bore you with all my loving words! But, I just want you all to read this book!

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (11)

Happy Wednesday!

WoW is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine!

The Near Witch by Victoria Schwab
August 2, 2011

The Near Witch is only an old story told to frighten children.

If the wind calls at night, you must not listen. The wind is lonely, and always looking for company.

And there are no strangers in the town of Near.

I'm seriously mad! I can the whole summary for this one and now it is gone! BLOGGER! WHY?!

So I'm just really looking forward to this and I love the cover!

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

Acorss the Universe by Beth Revis

Title:Across The Universe 
Author: Beth Review
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication Date: January 11, 2011
Source: Bought

Summary: A love out of time. A spaceship built of secrets and murder.

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone-one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship-tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn't do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed's hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there's only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

Review: Across the Universe is one of the best debuts I have ever read. It captivated me from the first chapter, the first page and I was captivated through the whole book. I read it in one sitting, in about 4-5 hours.*

To make a book so enthralling, so captivating you have to be an amazing writer. And Beth Revis is that author. The way she writes is so smooth and flowing, it is almost effortless to read. She writes the most beautiful sentences, pages, chapters.

And the characters were just as stunning as the writing. It was so easy to identify and relate with Amy and Elder. I really understood them, I felt for then and I cared for them. Amy was so broken and I need her to heal. I want her to be happy, I want her to see the outside world again one day. I need that for Elder too. I understood Elder as well, but his choices baffled me a little at first. But I understand, and I love him all the same.

The Godspeed was twisted. So twistedly evil and sinister. Sometimes it was hard to read about everything that happened on the ship. The way things happened, the way people acted was just so wrong and sick. The mystery was great, but like the Godspeed twisted and turned around so I never knew what was happening and before I could guess the next move, it was all shot down again. It was amazing.

Across the Universe will be a book I remember for a long, long time.

Rating: 5++

*I didn't really have anything else to do, I was in the car. But usually I put down a book and start reading another.

Monday, April 4, 2011

Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins

Title: Demonglass
Author: Rachel Hawkins aka one of the most awesomest authors ever!
Publisher: Hyperion Books
Publication Date: March 1, 2011
Source: Bought

Summary: Sophie Mercer thought she was a witch.

That was the whole reason she was sent to Hex Hall, a reform school for delinquent Prodigium (aka witches, shapeshifters, and fairies). But that was before she discovered the family secret, and that her hot crush, Archer Cross, is an agent for The Eye, a group bent on wiping Prodigium off the face of the earth.

Turns out, Sophie’s a demon, one of only two in the world—the other being her father. What’s worse, she has powers that threaten the lives of everyone she loves. Which is precisely why Sophie decides she must go to London for the Removal, a dangerous procedure that will destroy her powers.

But once Sophie arrives she makes a shocking discovery. Her new friends? They’re demons too. Meaning someone is raising them in secret with creepy plans to use their powers, and probably not for good. Meanwhile, The Eye is set on hunting Sophie down, and they’re using Archer to do it. But it’s not like she has feelings for him anymore. Does she?
Review: Oh my goodness, where do I even start?

This book was, well, one of the most amazing books I have ever read. EVER. The Hex Hall series will be a long favorite of mine, I can feel it down in my bones.

Sophie was as amazing as ever. She was just so great, it is hard to even describe her. She, like the series, is a favorite of mine. I'm not sure how I feel about Sophie's Dad, I think he tries really hard and I like him for it. I get so sick of lousy parents in YA. And the slew of other supporting characters were great too. So fleshed out and amazing.

And Archer, well Archer gets his own paragraph! There are barely words to describe how I much I love Archer. He is perfect, in his own special way. It's not his fault that he...well never mind read the book for yourself and find out! He and Sophie are just so perfect. Archer=Swoon.

As for the plot I don't think I have ever seen a book with so many twists and turns as Demonglass! One minute I thought one thing, the next that idea was blown to smithereens and I had to try and formulate a new idea. I did not see any of this book coming. Nothing at all.

Just read it. You won't regret it.

Rating: 5++

Sunday, April 3, 2011

In My Mailbox (24)

Happy Sunday and IMM everyone! IMM is hosted by The Story Siren!

Continuing the book buying ban, though I might break it later in the day. I NEED to. It's very important.

  • Being Nikki by Meg Cabot. Very good so far, I love this series!
  • Runaway by Meg Cabot. Last one!
  • The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney. This looks super good, I hope to read it soon!
PRE-ORDER! I haven't broke it, as of this minute.
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. I want to read this book so bad! It looks very eye opening. I can't wait.

NetGalley: Sorry no pictures!
Queen of the Dead by Stacey Kade. Loved the first book, I can't wait to read this one.
The Near Witch by Victoria Schwab! I have been anticipating this book for forever!
Sharks and Boys by Kristen Tracey. Looks real interesting!

Saturday, April 2, 2011

Blog Happenings (19)

Hope your April Fool's day was superb! I LOVE April Fool's Day and you wouldn't think I'd love it because I am fooled sooooo easily. Anyhow, let me tell you what I'm reading!

I'm reading Stay by Deb Caletti. Still. I had a hard time getting into the book, but now it is so worth it! I hope to finish it soon!

I'm trying to read Being Nikki and Fixing Delilah but I have so much school related things to do, it is stupid!

No one will remember this, but I have a science teacher who hates me and doesn't want me to get an A but I pulled it off this quarter! YES! I hate science, I used to love it but I really dislike it now. Science is really the only subject that I have to worry about getting an A in. I know you really don't care, but it made me happy!

I seriously can't think of anything else to share, but have you guys heard about iClue??! It sounds amazing. I might repost/reshare about it later in the day!

I do have one other book related thing to share, I finished Jinx by Meg Cabot the other day, and while it wasn't super duper amazing, it was still great!

After I finish all my library books, I NEED to start Invincible Summer by Hannah Moskowitz! And then all the other review galleys I have, they expire too quickly. And is it just my imagination or has NetGalley lowered their time you can read books..? I downloaded The Goddess Test and The Lipstick Laws and they are only available for 55 days, not 60.

Also on a NetGalley related note, is it taking longer and longer for your requests to be approved? I was used to waiting about 4,5 days but lately I've had to wait 2-3 weeks for a reply. It is driving me nuts!


Friday, April 1, 2011

Follow Friday (11)

This week was SO much better than last! Which is good, but now I'm ready to go around and visit some bloggers!!

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee's View!

The question is:

What is the book that you really don't want to admit to loving??

I'm pretty sure a lot of people are going to say Twilight! But I really don't have one...I think I should be able to love a book without being ashamed of it. I used to be ashamed of reading Twilight, but I got over that because Twilight is how I discovered the world of YA books! Which is awesome!

Have a great weekend!

This week on Katie's Amazing Book Reviews:
Reviews of Wither, Clarity and The Midnight Tunnel! Go check them out!

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Blog Design By Use Your Imagination Designs Inspired by Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater