Sunday, July 31, 2011

In My Mailbox (39)

Hi and Happy IMMIMM is hosted by the Story Siren!

This week was an okay week for me!

From the library: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier. I've heard fantastic things about this book! I can't wait to start it. Though the girl on the cover is really weird....
I bought Wildefire by Karsten Knight. I loved this book and I decided that I needed a copy.
Cascade by Lisa T. Bergren. I loved the first book in the series, Waterfall. And the final one comes out in September so I thought I'd need to get up to spend. A review for Waterfall will be posted next week!

I bought Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep for my Nook. Since I pre-ordered it, it was only about 6 dollars!

That's all for me. What about you?

Saturday, July 30, 2011

Blog Happenings (31)

Hi and Happy Weekend everyone!
Can you believe August is almost here? August means school for me. And school is scary! I want to broach this topic a little before school starts.

I'm not sure if I can keep blogging when school starts. I want to, more than anything but High school is hectic. My grades have never suffered because of reading and/or blogging. I know school is much more important.
But since I have this belief I'm not sure if I'll actually have time to blog and read. I hope I will.
Next week will be the last week of 4 reviews. I need to start saving up and writing reviews.
If all goes well I will be blogging this school year. I can't imagine not blogging!

I just finished Uncommon Criminals by Ally Carter yesterday and I loved it. But the end had me really confused, I'm not exactly sure what happened! If you have read it and you aren't an idiot like I am please tell me!
And I started The Candidates by Inara Scott it is really good so far. And then I'll read more and more books!

I didn't do an update this week. You want to know why? My computer got a virus. A VIRUS!!!!!! You couldn't really tell, other than I really didn't comment on peoples blogs. Thankfully, I had already gotten reviews and other things up on the weekend. And I never do that in the summer!
I'm so grateful to my computer nerd neighbor it was fixed in about 2 days! YAY!

Cover of Fever?
Eek! Not at all what I expected. And it creeps me out.

Friday, July 29, 2011

Legacy by Cayla Kluver

Title: Legacy
Author: Cayla Kluver
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Publication Date: June 21, 2011 (Re-release)
Source: Thanks Netgally and Publisher!

Summary: I noticed his eyes. They were blue, sharp and intense. Despite the youthful glows of his suntanned face, his eyes were cold and unfriendly, suggesting he had great experience in the world and was now expecting the worst.

In her seventeenth year, Princess Alera of Hytanica faces one duty: to marry the man who will be king. But her father's choice of suitor fills her with despair.

When the palace guard captures and intruder—a boy her age with steel-blue eyes, hailing from her kingdom's greatest enemy—Alera is alarmed…and intrigued. But she could not have guessed that their clandestine meetings would unveil the dark legacy shadowing both their lands.

In this mystical world of court conspiracies and blood magic, loyalties will be tested. Courage won't be enough. And as the battle begins for everything Alera holds dear, love may be the downfall of a kingdom.

Review: Legacy was an enchanting book that, while incredibly detailed, was quite fun to read.
Legacy is detailed to the max. And while it was beautiful and nice for awhile it started to get boring after 200 pages. And there was 300 pages after that. I was impressed with the writing even if it was tiresome after awhile.

The cover of Legacy makes it look like some chic high society book. It isn't. Legacy was set in a beautiful and creative world. It was a fantasy, historical world. When Kluver described the world, I was not bored.

Legacy had a great cast of characters, even if they had some hard to pronounce names. Alera was strong, extremely determined to do right and figure things out. She was an enjoyable protagonist, but she did feel a little distant at times. There was also a slew of Elite guards and a nice love interest!

The only other problem I had with Legacy was the pacing. I didn't fully get into this book until around page 300, it just didn't have me hooked. Even though things weren't really happening something about it wanted you to find out what, eventually, was going to happen.

But that ending, now that was what Legacy was slowly and continually building up too. And I can't wait for the second book, I really need to know what happens!

With a touch of romance and tons of political intrigue, Legacy is a enjoyable book that, frankfully, could have been much shorter.

(Is Frankfully a word?)

Rating: 3.5 stars

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Follow Friday (27)

Happy Follow Friday. This is hosted by Parajunkee's View and now Alison Can Read!

This week's question is:
Let's step away from books for a second and get personal. What T-Shirt slogan best describes you?
For a silly one:
I do love my sleep, it is one of life's greatest pleasures. Ah, not really I'd rather be in......

LOVE the Red Sox and Boston!

What about you?

Queen of the Dead by Stacey Kade

Title: Queen of the Dead
Author: Stacey Kade
Publisher: Hyperion
Publication Date: May 31, 2011
Source: Thanks Netgalley and Publisher!

Summary: After being sent back from the light, Alona Dare - former homecoming queen, current Queen of the Dead - finds herself doing something she never expected: working. Instead of spending days perfecting her tan by the pool (her typical summer routine when she was, you know, alive), Alona must now cater to the needs of other lost spirits. By her side for all of this - ugh - “helping of others” is Will Killian: social outcast, seer of the dead, and someone Alona cares about more than she’d like.

Before Alona can make a final ruling on Will’s “friend” or “more” status, though, she discovers trouble at home. Her mom is tossing out Alona’s most valuable possessions, and her dad is expecting a new daughter with his wicked wife. Is it possible her family is already moving on? Hello! She’s only been dead for two months! Thankfully, Alona knows just the guy who can put a stop to this mess.

Unfortunately for Alona, Will has other stuff on his mind, and Mina, a young (and beautiful) seer, is at the top of the list. She’s the first ghost-talker Will’s ever met—aside from his father—and she may hold answers to Will’s troubled past. But can she be trusted? Alona immediately puts a check mark in the “clearly not” column. But Will is - ahem - willing to find out, even if it means leaving a hurt and angry Alona to her own devices, which is never a good idea.

Packed with romance, lovable characters, and a killer cliffhanger, Queen of the Dead is the out-of-this-world sequel to The Ghost and the Goth.

Review: It might be just my imagination, but The Ghost and the Goth series just kept getting better. Queen of the Dead is an delightful ghost story.

Alona and Will were back again, and with even more humor and spunk this time. Alona just keeps surprising me. She is reforming from her mean girl ways, a little. But if you want to know the truth, I really like it about her. She is so much more alive and funnier that way. She just wouldn't be Alona.

I feel the surprising need for Will and Alona to have a happy ending. Relationships between ghosts and humans are tricky, especially when you have Alona up to no good. Like she always is. And in this book it gets her into a lot of trouble. Did I mention this is a sort of love triangle? And that is not good. But it did keep me entertained!

Queen of the Dead kept me hooked the entire way through. There were laughs, plot twists, some surprising new revelations and a touch of romance to tide me over.

I don't know what it is about ghost stories but they are just magical reads for me. If you haven't picked up this series yet, do it because it does not disappoint!


Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (26)

Hi and Happy Wednesday!
WoW is hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine!

This week's pick is:
Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally
December 1, 2011

What girl doesn't want to be surrounded by gorgeous jocks day in and day out? Jordan Woods isn't just surrounded by hot guys, though-she leads them as the captain and quarterback of her high school football team. They all see her as one of the guys, and that's just fine. As long as she gets her athletic scholarship to a powerhouse university. But now there's a new guy in town who threatens her starting position... suddenly she's hoping he'll see her as more than just a teammate.

With the NFL lockout finally over I thought it would be fun to WoW a football book and this one sounds really cute and fun. I love it when roles are reversed and such. I cannot wait for December.

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Wildefire by Karsten Knight

Title: Wildefire
Author: Karsten Knight
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Publication Date: July 26, 2011
Source: Simon and Schuster Galley Grab

Summary: Every flame begins with a spark.

Ashline Wilde is having a rough sophomore year. She’s struggling to find her place as the only Polynesian girl in school, her boyfriend just cheated on her, and now her runaway sister, Eve, has decided to barge back into her life. When Eve’s violent behavior escalates and she does the unthinkable, Ash transfers to a remote private school nestled in California’s redwoods, hoping to put the tragedy behind her. But her fresh start at Blackwood Academy doesn’t go as planned. Just as Ash is beginning to enjoy the perks of her new school—being captain of the tennis team, a steamy romance with a hot, local park ranger—Ash discovers that a group of gods and goddesses have mysteriously enrolled at Blackwood…and she’s one of them. To make matters worse, Eve has resurfaced to haunt Ash, and she’s got some strange abilities of her own. With a war between the gods looming over campus, Ash must master the new fire smoldering within before she clashes with her sister one more time… And when warm and cold fronts collide, there’s guaranteed to be a storm.

Review: When I finished this book all I could say was wow. And I'm still saying WOW!

At first I thought Ash and Wildefire were going to be extremely violent. If that first chapter doesn't tell you not to mess with Ash, or her sister Eve, then I don't know what will. Thankfully, though, the "extreme violence" subsided and gave into the awesome tale of Ash and her god and goddess friends.

Like I said before, Ash is not the type of girl you want to mess with. She isn't your typical YA heroine, either. She's not whiny, she is incredibly tough, has some awesome powers that she isn't afraid to use, and I really believe she wants to do the right thing. Did I mention she was tough? Oh and there was a nice little romance going on with one hot park ranger!

There was such a fun mix of mythology in Wildefire. There were sounds of awesome gods and goddess from different cultures to go with the equally amazing supporting characters. They shone, just like Ash.

Another plus to Wildefire was the non-stop action and the adventure. I won't give you too much detail but it was pretty darn awesome. And there was humor. Oh how I love funny books!!

To stop myself from sounding like a broken record of "awesome" and "amazing", (which I think I've already succeeded at doing) I'm telling you you pick up a copy of this today. But watch out, the cliffhanger is a killer. But really awesome. Second book please?

(There I go again....)

Rating: 4.5 stars

Monday, July 25, 2011

Sharks and Boys by Kristen Tracy

Title: Sharks and Boys
Author: Kristen Tracy
Publisher: Hyperion
Publication Date: June 28, 2011
Source: Thanks Netgalley and Publisher!

Summary: When 15-year-old Enid Calhoun follows her boyfriend Wick to Maryland for a party, fearful that he might be intending to cheat on her, she finds herself sneaking on board a houseboat where Wick and his friends plan to have a wild night. But before the boys discover their stowaway, a hurricane strikes, and the teenagers are carried miles from the shore and shipwrecked. What follows is a harrowing, yet heartwarming, story of survival, as the teens battle hypothermia, dehydration, man-eating sharks--and along the way, confront their own deepest secrets, including their catalytic roles in the disaster.

Review: Scary.

That's basically all I could think about when I was reading Sharks & Boys. Sharks & Boys is mainly a story of survival...and what you'll do to survive.

I have to admit, Enid annoyed me for the first quarter of the book. She was annoying, extremely possessive of her boyfriend, and whiny. Whiny girls do not sit well with me. Thankfully, being out on a yellow raft thing with a bunch of boys did the trick. She wasn't half bad, actually she turned out to be a really good character, and I loved seeing Enid grow.

Tracy knows how to make you shiver and make you fear. I felt like I was out on that raft with Enid and all the twins. I felt like I was going to be attacked my sharks and die. It was frightening and enough to make me scared of the ocean. Which I love but now I'm a little afraid. That's what a well-written survival/suspense book can do to you.

Not much happened while Enid and the boys were out on the raft. But we got to here them talk about their fears, hopes and we got to see them discover some pretty interesting things. And, therefore, it wasn't boring. You were kept on your toes through the entire book...waiting...waiting...for the shark to come up and bite you on the head.

A really cool aspect of Sharks & Boys was all the twins. Enid and Landon; Wick and Dale; Sov and Munny; Burr and Skate. Yes, weird names and it took me awhile to get used to all the characters but eventually you get to know them really well. And there was the aspect of the twin studies, which was interesting!

I thought there was going to be more of a romance in this book but there wasn't really. I was intrigued enough by the sharks and tyring to survive that I didn't need a romance. Though there is a rumored sequel, which I would happily read!

Sharks & Boys was an awesome, scary tale that will have you shivering with suspense. And if you live close to the ocean...beware. No, seriously, be careful.


Sunday, July 24, 2011

In My Mailbox (39)

Happy IMM! Hosted by The Story Siren!

Books I bought:

  • Bad Girls Don't Die by Katie Alender…looks awesome!
  • Intertwined by Gena Showalter. I've heard goo things about this and can't wait to dive in.
  • Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready…ghosts!!
  • The Fetch by Laura Whitcomb. I picked this one up on impulse, and I'm not really sure what exactly it's about!
  • A Royal Match by Tyne O'Connell. Another impulse buy!
  • The Revenant by Sonia Gensler…MORE ghosts!!!
  • The Goddess Test by Aimée Carter! I love this book!


Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore. Sounds like a chilling ghost story! (more ghosts…)

Winter's Passage by Julie Kagawa. Already read and liked this Iron Fey Novella!

Daimon by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Prequel/Novella to Half-blood! Can't wait to read this!

And I got the Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa!!!! YAY!

And that's the ghost edition. Why did you get?

Saturday, July 23, 2011

Blog Happenings (30)

Hi everyone! I hope you are having a great start to your weekend!

Just a quick little reminder: If you followed me for Follow Friday and I haven't got back to you yet, I'm coming! The Internet wasn't working for awhile yesterday evening. I plan on doing that this morning and afternoon.

This has been a bad week. In terms of books and otherwise. I haven't read as many books as I'd hoped to. And Borders is closing. There isn't a decent bookstore unless I drive 45 minutes to the capital. And it isn't like I'm living out in the middle of no where. Its very frustrating, I'll have to order all my books online and that isn't very fun.

And I've had a string of bad luck: I lost my pool pass in a drain, I was incredibly sore from doing weights, I broke my flip flop, AND IT'S HOT! Whoever invented AC is my hero. And I'm stressed out about school and my birthday. This may not seem like a lot, and you probably don't care.

I'm reading The Iron Queen...its sooo good. I love Ash and Puck.

I've written so many reviews in the last few days. I'm a good review writer when I'm mad.

That's enough randomness for one day! See you tomorrow for IMM!

Friday, July 22, 2011

The Dark Divine by Bree Despain

Title: The Dark Divine
Author: Bree Despain
Publisher: Egmont USA
Publication Date: December 22, 2009
Source: Bought

A Prodigal Son

A Dangerous Love
A Deadly Secret

Grace Divine—daughter of the local pastor—always knew something terrible happened the night Daniel Kalbi disappeared and her brother Jude came home covered in his own blood.

Now that Daniel's returned, Grace must choose between her growing attraction to him and her loyalty to her brother.

As Grace gets closer to Daniel, she learns the truth about that mysterious night and how to save the ones she loves, but it might cost her the one thing she cherishes most: her soul.

Review: The Dark Divine was an interesting take on werewolves that was based on religion.

In fact, the werewolf aspect was most likely my favorite part of the book. Despain, it seemed, came up with a new and fresh idea for werewolf lore. There was definitely a lot of information about the werewolves in the book but still I'm curious for more.

Grace, sadly, fell flat for me. She seemed like a whiny little girl that couldn't open her eyes and see what was going on around her. And she didn't listen. That annoyed me to no end. Yes, maybe if she had listened there wouldn't have been as much action and drama. But it could have been up somewhere else. Her name even irked me. The Divine's whole religious thing just rubbed me the wrong way. I'm a religious person but it just felt fake and overly cheesy to me. I'm not sure if I'm the only one who felt this way but I noticed it.

Daniel was interesting enough. He definitely was your bad boy with a soft spot inside. And I'm getting so tired of seeing that.

You may think that I hate this book but I don't. The plot and the mythology were enough to string me along, keeping me entertained and interested. If I wasn't trying to yell at the characters. The plot was quick-paced and I had this book finished in no time.

The Dark Divine was a fun book with some new mythology. New developments at the end have be extremely curious. Even though I had some issues with the characters I'm willing to read the next book and see where Despain takes them. Overall, The Dark Divine was a good summer afternoon read!


Follow Friday (26)

Happy Follow Friday everyone!

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee's View!

This week's question is:
Name 3 authors that you would love to sit down and spend an hour or a meal with just talking about either their books or get advice on writing from?
I would pick Angie Frazier, Stephanie Perkins and Rachel Hawkins. (I'd pick Kimberly Derting too but that would be four! Plus I've gone to a signing of hers!) I just love all these authors and it would be so cool to meet them.

How about you?

Thursday, July 21, 2011

What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen

Title: What Happened to Goodbye
Author: Sarah Dessen
Publisher: Penguin Group
Publication Date: May 10, 2011
Source: Library

Summary: Who is the real McLean?
Since her parents' bitter divorce, McLean and her dad, a restaurant consultant, have been on the move-four towns in two years. Estranged from her mother and her mother's new family, McLean has followed her dad in leaving the unhappy past behind. And each new place gives her a chance to try out a new persona: from cheerleader to drama diva. But now, for the first time, McLean discovers a desire to stay in one place and just be herself, whoever that is. Perhaps Dave, the guy next door, can help her find out.

Combing Sarah Dessen's trademark graceful writing, great characters, and compelling storytelling, What Happened to Goodbye is irresistible reading.

Review: Most of Dessen's books are pretty good reads for me. They have some things that I don't like but overall they're really good. But this one was amazing.

When I started reading  What Happened to Goodbye I knew it was going to be good. I hadn't been to Dessen land in over a week (Sarah Dessne binge) and I was eager to go back more. The premise of this one was really interesting to me and Dessen pulled it off quite well. Mclean was broken. She reinvented herself every new place they went, until here. This time we got to see the "real" Mclean. And I was glad. I liked watching her day to day life. Seeing her interact with an incredibly sweet girl, make some awesome new friends, and start a nice little romance with the next door neighbor.

And still Mclean struggles. She was the driving force in this book and one of my favorite characters in all of Dessen's books. She was just so relateable.

I just want to mention this really quick: Dave. What a sweet, talented, brainic boy. How adorable was he? Dave had me smiling every time he talked, or whenever we saw him.

Two of my favorite things that Dessen does is: incorporate previous characters in to her stories and have awesome work places. If that last one makes any sense. How cool is a "restaurant consultant" and a "model town builder." Those were so much fun to read about. And then the cameos. Those are priceless. One character from a previous book got his happy ending in a slightly ironic way, I think. And one was mentioned with a few laughs from me.

I'm not even going to apologize for going on and on about this book. Just read it and be wowed by a cute, heartwarming story with real issues.


Wednesday, July 20, 2011


Sorry for the excessive exclamation points but ahhhhhh!!!!!

See for yourself:

AHHHHHHH!!! I'm, I guess you could say, very, very, very excited. How beautiful is this cover??

Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident.

Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late?

Obviously I'm acting very silly right now, so excuse me. Its just a little exciting that's all. And it's the last book in the Hex Hall series so I'm a little sad.

How awesome??! AWESOME!

I think its time to rest....=D

Waiting on Wednesday (25)

Happy WoW! Hosted by Breaking the Spine!

This week's pick is:
The Last Echo by Kimberly Derting
April 17, 2012

Violet kept her morbid ability to sense dead bodies a secret from everyone except her family and her childhood-best-friend-turned-boyfriend, Jay Heaton. That is until forensic psychologist Sara Priest discovered Violet’s talent and invited her to use her gift to track down murderers. Now, as she works with an eclectic group of individuals—including mysterious and dangerously attractive Rafe—it’s Violet’s job to help those who have been murdered by bringing their killers to justice. When Violet discovers the body of a college girl killed by “the girlfriend collector” she is determined to solve the case. But now the serial killer is on the lookout for a new “relationship” and Violet may have caught his eye....

I'm a HUGE, HUGE fan of this series and of Derting. The Body Finder and Desires of the Dead are two of my favorite books...and if I'm not going crazy, this one looks even better. I love mysteries mixed with paranormal! 2012 will not come soon enough! But does anyone sense a love triangle...oh no!

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Love Story By Jennifer Echols

Title: Love Story
Author: Jennifer Echols
Publisher: MTV Books
Publication Date: July 19, 2011
Source: Simon and Schuster Galley Grab

Summary: She's writing about him. he's writing about her. And everybody is reading between the lines..

For Erin Blackwell, majoring in creative writing at the New York City college of her dreams is more than a chance to fulfill her ambitions--it's her ticket away from the tragic memories that shadow her family's racehorse farm in Kentucky. But when she refuses to major in business and take over the farm herself someday, her grandmother gives Erin's college tuition and promised inheritance to their maddeningly handsome stable boy, Hunter Allen. Now Erin has to win an internship and work late nights at a coffee shop to make her own dreams a reality. She should despise Hunter . . . so why does he sneak into her thoughts as the hero of her latest writing assignment?

Then, on the day she's sharing that assignment with her class, Hunter walks in. He's joining her class. And after he reads about himself in her story, her private fantasies about him must be painfully clear. She only hopes to persuade him not to reveal her secret to everyone else. But Hunter devises his own creative revenge, writing sexy stories that drive the whole class wild with curiosity and fill Erin's heart with longing. Now she's not just imagining what might have been. She's writing a whole new ending for her romance with Hunter . . . except this story could come true.

Review: Love Story is a nice, fast-paced read that didn't quite have me hooked but was still a fun read.

One of the main problems I had was the characters. I couldn't connect to any of them or feel something for them. At first I thought I'd have no problem connecting with the characters because the beginning of the story was really, really good. But then the characters, and the plot, fizzled out.

Erin was just sort of annoying. Hunter...was hot but I didn't swoon for him or anything like that. The supporting cast of characters were much more interesting to me.

Echols' had a great idea for the plot. It started out strong but then just vanished and everything was tension, tension, tension!

But that is one thing she knows how to write. Tension and a romance. The tension is the book was phenomenal. You thought everything was going to work out between Hunter and Erin and then BANG!

I loved reading the stories that Hunter and Erin wrote for their creative writing class, they gave tons of insight into many things.

Overall, Love Story was an okay read. Not one that I loved but it definitely had sizzling tension!


Monday, July 18, 2011

The Liar Society by Lisa and Laura Roecker

Title: The Liar Society
Author: Lisa and Laura Roecker
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: March 1, 2011
Source: Bought

Summary: Kate Lowry didn't think dead best friends could send e-mails. But when she gets an e-mail from Grace, she’s not so sure.


Sent: Sun 9/14 11:59 PM


Subject: (no subject)

I'm here…
sort of.
Find Cameron.
He knows.
I shouldn't be writing.
Don't tell.
They'll hurt you.

Now Kate has no choice but to prove once and for all that Grace’s death was more than just a tragic accident. But secrets haunt the halls of her elite private school. Secrets people will do anything to protect. Even if it means getting rid of the girl trying to solve a murder...

Review: I don't know how many times I've said this but I LOVE mysteries. And this book was really good too!

Kate is Spunk. She was funny and snarky. And she was going through a lot. Even though her best friend died over a year ago, she's still very broken. Roeckers' portrayal of Kate seemed truthful and realistic to me. But, thankfully, she wasn't all drab. She could a risk taker and a dare devil...and she wasn't afraid to uncover her friend's death.

The mystery was all bells and whistles, if that makes sense! The mystery was so well written and was chock full of secrets and so many twists and turns. The Liar Society kept me guessing on every page. The mystery aspect was probably the one thing that I loved most about this book.

There were some small aspects of the book that I didn't like, but they were little things!

Plus there were a hot boy! YAY! There wasn't that much romance but at least it wasn't insta-love. The romance developed slowly and was believable. I hope it's fleshed out more in the next book because I can't wait to see what happens.

The ending, to me, did not give very much closure. It didn't even feel like a cliff hanger but it just wasn't satisfying!

Overall, a good mystery with snarky characters and some killer secrets!

Update #5

Time for another update...if I can type it. I'm so sore! I can hardly move my hands and arms.

What I've read (Since the last update):

Currently Reading:

For some reason I'm having a hard time getting through this one!

To Read: (Subject to change)

That's it..sorry no names. But I think you can figure it out!

Sunday, July 17, 2011

In My Mailbox (38)

Hi and Happy IMM!

Hosted by The Story Siren!


Undercurrent by Tricia Rayburn! I LOVED Siren and I can't wait to dive into this one! Sorry the pictures a little dark!


I bought All You Get is Me by Yvonne Prinz. I'm reading it right now!

Drink, Slay, Love by Sarah Beth Durst. I received this one form Galley Grab. It looks...interesting! I didn't think there was that great of a newsletter this month so I only downloaded one book!

And from Netgalley:

Beyond the Grave by Mara Purnhagen!

I still haven't got accepted, or declined, for The Iron Knight! I'm so sad! I'll keep crossing my fingers!

That's all for me! What did you get?

Saturday, July 16, 2011

Blog Happenings (29)


Hope you are having a great start to your weekend!!!

This has been a hectic week, with multiple posts and updates for the Read-a-thon! It was pretty intense. And I'm just ready for it to wind down next week. Just the regular week...with no interruptions!

And in a couple of hours I'm going to see Harry Potter! I'm so excited. I wasn't originally that into the books. My dad started reading them when I was in 3rd grade and I would read beside him. But I never wanted to try them. The first HP came out in 1997....ummm yeah. So I was a little young to try it then.
But I read them in 7th grade. Because my friends forced me too! And a ton of people came up to me and was like, "are you re-reading those??" and I'd say yeah...sure!! I was pretty sad that I'd missed out on all the awesomeness and had just dived into it.

That's my HP story. A little silly but mine.

And some great news! Jessi Kirby has a new book coming out in May called In Honor and it sounds amazing! Her previous book was Moonglass, which I loved!

I also read, on The Story Siren, that The Lying Game by Sara Shepard is going to be a TV show! I might actually watch it. If I have time.

I'm reading Starcrossed...and how addicting is it? It had a slow start but it's so much better now!

That's about all for me this week…I can't wait to see HP!!

Friday, July 15, 2011

Follow Friday (25)

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee's View! HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!

This week's question is:
What do I do when I am not reading?
I go to school...does that count!? Anyway, I go to the pool a lot, work out a ton, watch awesome crime dramas, have fun with my family and friends. I do homework. Yes, nerd extraordinaire speaking! I'm actually not too boring!

What about you??

Thursday, July 14, 2011

Once Upon a Read-a-thon: Final Update!

Once Upon a Read-a-Thon
The Read-a-thon is now over!

I read a total of 4 books...and they were all awesome. I might have been able to read more but I went to go see Thor last!

The Books I read:
An amazing fairy tale!

All I can say is that I need the next GOOD!

Stared out slow, but it picked up and was awesome!

This was an amazing read. And I reviewed it today, check it out!

That's all for me!
Related Posts with Thumbnails
Blog Design By Use Your Imagination Designs Inspired by Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater