Thursday, May 19, 2011

Drowning in the Dark by Allison Karras

Title: Drowning in the Dark
Author: Allison Karras
Publisher:You Come Too Publishing
Publication Date:
Source: Author Requested Review

There’s a demon walking the streets of Freeport. And only teenager Samantha Carver can stop it.

It’s hard to outrun your past. But that’s what Sam thought she could do. After moving to a sleepy town on the Oregon coast to live with relatives, she thought she was safe. She thought she could be someone different. She thought she could be a normal teenage girl.

However, the quiet coastal town of Freeport is no refuge. After a girl at the high school is brutally murdered, the police believe Samantha’s cousin and best friend, Terry, is responsible.

But Samantha knows what her friends, teachers, and the police don’t. The murderer isn’t human. Samantha has seen this before. Too many times. She has witnessed the dead rise from their graves and do unspeakable things. She carries the scars on her skin and the sorrow in her soul to prove it.

The evil that she thought she had left behind in the rotting graveyards of her past is still stalking her.

Will Samantha be able to save Terry, Freeport, and herself from the malevolent power that threatens to rip her world apart? Or will she succumb under a surging tide of evil and drown in the growing darkness that surrounds her?

In the tradition of Amanda Hocking and Charlaine Harris comes a paranormal romantic thriller with more chills than a cold and windblown night on the Oregon coast.

Review: Drowning in the Dark is a entertaining short story, it took me less than 2 hours to read, and I'm a slow reader.
Even though it had some of my favorite things in it, like zombies, a murder and a coastal town, the story couldn't always keep my interest. Sometimes it would get really intense and I didn't want to stop reading.

Sam was an interesting character, I could understand what she was doing. But sometimes I was just confused about her. I still liked her though, she was well written. And the secondary characters were my favorites. They were a lot of fun to read about.

The ending was really abrupt, but I could understand it well. There were also a lot of new developments that promise to make the rest of the series even more interesting!
Drowning in the Dark is a good read with well written characters!



Lisa said...

I also received this for review. The cover was a bit off-putting so it's good to know you enjoyed it :)

Post a Comment

I love getting comments! They make my day! Thanks for stopping by. This is an award free blog!

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Blog Design By Use Your Imagination Designs Inspired by Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater