Saturday, March 31, 2012

Blog Happenings (71)

Hi everyone! Happy Saturday!

READING:
Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard: I've put off reading this book for the longest time. Now that I've started? I cannot stop. It's so fantastic. The funny thing is that I read Hubbard's first book and couldn't even get through it, because I was so bored. I'm not saying it was a bad book, I just had more to do than be bored with a book. 

But this one is SO good. I have a little over 100 pages left. It, and homework, is the reason this post is so late. 

TO READ:
Allegiance by Cayla Kluver
I'm not going to put another book down because this one is so dang long.


READ:
Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler-I loved this one!
The Girl is Murder by Kathryn Miller Haines-It wasn't as great as I was expecting it to be. It was just okay. 
Masters of the Veil by Daniel A. Cohen-Nice fantasy book!
Shooting Stars by Allison Rushby-Cute and funny with a great twist!

Overall, nothing is really new on the blog. I'm going to work on updating the Review Archive and putting more of my reviews on Goodreads. Otherwise, I'm just very busy with school work and keeping up with homework. It hasn't left too much time to read but I'm doing alright with that. 

Have a nice weekend! 

Friday, March 30, 2012

Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler

This review was supposed to go up on Thursday. I had it ready and everything. I got on the internet after I emailed it to myself and the internet stopped working. I even tried yesterday morning. It still didn't work. It seems to be working fine right now. Thanks for the consideration! There's not going to be a What to Read today because I really wanted to get this review up!


Title: Bittersweet
Author: Sarah Ockler
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: January 3, 2012
Source: Bought
Add to your shelves


Summary: Once upon a time, Hudson knew exactly what her future looked like. Then a betrayal changed her life and knocked her dreams to the ground. Now she’s a girl who doesn’t believe in second chances, a girl who stays under the radar by baking cupcakes at her mom’s diner and obsessing over what might have been. So when things start looking up and she has another shot at her dreams, Hudson is equal parts hopeful and terrified. Of course, this is also the moment a cute, sweet guy walks into her life—and starts serving up some seriously mixed signals. She’s got a lot on her plate, and for a girl who’s been burned before, risking it all is easier said than done. It’s time for Hudson to ask herself what she really wants, and how much she’s willing to sacrifice to get it. Because in a place where opportunities are fleeting, she knows this chance may very well be her last....

Review: Bittersweet is a fantastic contemp read. In fact, maybe you should stop reading this review and go read Bittersweet. I'm not kidding.

But if you really aren't sure, then read this review. I can only hope that it will convince you.

Hudson is a perfect example of a flawed character. Oh my goodness how I loved that girl! She wants so much more than being the cupcake queen of Watonka. I think all of us can identify with Hudson's insecurities. She doesn't know who she likes, what she wants to do with her life, and she really doesn't know where to call home. Is it really Watonka for Hudson? There are some times when you do want to slap her because of the choices she makes but you can't help but love her. It helps that Hudson can be downright hilarious with her internal dialogue too! 

I love the whole cast of supporting characters. They shone just as brightly as Hudson did!! Hudson coaches some hockey boys during the book. Those hockey boys? Prepare to fall hard for all of them! They were all fantastic and just loads of fun. I'm partial to one of them: Josh. He's such a sweet guy.

Cupcakes play such a huge role in this book. It's one of Hudson's escapes. At the beginning of each chapter there are these cute little cupcake ideas. They added so much to the book.

I don't think I could ever do this book justice. It's almost too special for words but you really just should read it.

Bittersweet is filled with a flawed main character, a hockey team and a place where someday Hudson might be able to call home. 


Rating:
These are two of my favorites! :) I hope this isn't illegal! 



Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (73)

Hi everyone and happy Wednesday! Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine!

This week's pick is:
Ten by Gretchen McNeil
September 18, 2012

And their doom comes swiftly. 

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie each have their reasons for being there (which involve T.J., the school’s most eligible bachelor) and look forward to three glorious days of boys, booze and fun-filled luxury. 

But what they expect is definitely not what they get, and what starts out as fun turns dark and twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine. 

Suddenly people are dying, and with a storm raging, the teens are cut off the from the outside world. No electricity, no phones, no internet, and a ferry that isn’t scheduled to return for two days. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on each other, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?


Ah! Doesn't this just sound like the creepiest thing ever? I love thrillers. Ten should be the perfect read for me! Plus, it reminds me a lot of Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None! The idea seems similar which is really cool! 

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Guest Post: Q&A with Daniel A. Cohen

Today I have Daniel Cohen on the blog doing a bit of a Q&A about magic and a lesson on magic from one of the supporting characters in his book, Masters of the Veil. I'd definitely recommend Masters of the Veil, especially if you like fantasy. The following Q&A has so much awesome information about the book!


Congratulations! You can do magic!

Here’s what you need to know about your exciting new ability:

Q: WHAT IS MAGIC? AND WHY CAN I DO IT?

This can be a very thrilling, confusing, and even frightening time for a young sorcerer, so let’s start with the basics. Magic is just another way of saying, “Connecting with the Veil.” As you may already know, the Veil is an ancient energy that lies all around us that some fortunate few (YOU!) can even use.

The Veil gives the sorcerer communities everything we need to survive. The more the Veil is used, the more She gives us. All sort of wonderful plants, animals, food, clothing, and shelter… they’re all there, waiting to spring forth.

There is no conclusive evidence explaining why some people can use the Veil and some people cannot. Some speculate it’s genetic, while others believe it’s spiritual. Alas, we will probably never be sure, so just be thankful that you are one of the lucky ones.

Q: HOW DO I DO MAGIC?

There are two methods of doing magic: A “grip” and a “drape”
A Grip: Connecting with the Veil to perform a specific feat.
A Drape: Essentially it’s wrapping the Veil around an object to give it extraordinary properties.
As you may have seen from the older sorcerers in your magical community, we use something called a “Second-Skin” to access the Veil.  A second-skin is a covering for your hand that allows you to grip the Veil. Second-skins must be made from materials that have sprung from the Veil in order to work. One of the first things that you will be instructed to do is create your own second-skin in order to create the deepest connection. You can use anything from dried aansi leaves to the bark from a zigzag tree, just know that attempting to do magic that is beyond your reach with break your second-skin.

Q: HOW SOON WILL I BECOME A MASTER SORCERER?

Whoa there! Don’t get ahead of yourself. Magic is extremely difficult and it’s going to take some time for you to become proficient at it. You have a magnificent, bumpy road ahead of you.


Q: BUT WHO IS GOING TO TEACH ME?

The sorcerer community doesn’t take your new ability lightly. We will provide you with the finest teachers available. Train hard enough and you might even get to be in Rona’s group (but don’t get your hopes up)!!! You will be matched up by your skill level and organized by the type of magic you’ll be pursuing.

Q: IS MAGIC DANGEROUS?

It can be if used wrong. To avoid causing unnecessary pain, make sure you study hard, respect your clan elders, and eat your vegetables.

Q: VEGETABLES?

Yes, vegetables.

Q: WILL I HAVE TO LEAVE MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY?

For a short time, yes. Whether you’re from the flathand (those who can’t grip the Veil) world or a magical community, you will be brought to Atlas Crown to study with Bariv. Bariv is the conduit to the Veil, and he will be the first—and probably the most influential—teacher you will have. After learning about your ability from Bariv, you will have the choice of returning home or staying in Atlas Crown.

*Special note for those who come from the flathand world. In the rare occurrence that you choose to return to the non-magic world, you will be draped with the inability to speak of our world or perform magic outside of a magical community. Sorry. The good news is that if you choose to join a magical community, your immediate family will be invited to come with you and will be provided for.

NOW TAKE A SEAT AND ENJOY A QUICK LESSON FROM BARIV ON THE THREE DISCIPLINES OF MAGIC
Welcome. Please have a seat. Before you are three second-skins that I have created for choosing purposes. As you may already know, there are three disciplines of magic that come from the Veil.
First, there are natural magics, which are best gripped with the aid of plants. The green second-skin is made from the leaf of the grampith tree.
Natural magics are very useful. They feed, they clothe, they help us interact with the world around us. We would not survive without them. Nature is dough and you shape it to your desires—if you are skilled enough. Mountains can be leveled and water can fall upwards. Nature’s secrets will whisk you away to another plane where you can realize the awe-inspiring connections we hold with the world around us.
Next, there are the mystical magics. The metal second-skin you see on the left was mined from beneath Grus’ pass and made from silver-palladium mixed by my own hand. A mystical sorcerer would use this second-skin. The mystical magics keep true to their namesake. Even I don’t fully understand all that can be accomplished with this, and I have been close to the Veil for a very long time. Those who excel at the mystical arts can reach into the deepest, darkest parts of the mind and cast dreams into reality. They can navigate the vast and powerful river of time. Reap gold out of metals like a glorious harvest. Harness fear, and ride on its back until it tires.
 And last… there is the second-skin made from the hide of Sectus remisican, the skull-wolf. This is a tool of power magics. These tools work best if taken forcibly. In Atlas Crown, we do not kill when we do not have to; however, in this particular case we had to. The power sect is a dangerous one, yet it brings with it the ability to forge oneself into the greatest ruler and purveyor of dominance. Authority is a given. Supremacy is taken. The true power sect is scarcely found here. Those who have chosen it, or rather have been chosen, usually take the road down another path, a false path that can only lead to death and misery. However, when applied for good, the power sect can be the most useful of them all. An iron body has no need for a suit. That is what the Veil is at Her heart. She is power. She holds possibilities so grand, we can never understand, only observe.
Now why don’t you try one on?

Read my review of Masters of the Veil. Thanks so much for stopping by! 

Monday, March 26, 2012

Goddess Interupted by Aimme Carter

Title: Goddess Interrupted 
Author: Aimee Carter
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Publication Date: March 27, 2012
Source: Harlequin Teen Panel! Thank you!
Add to your shelves 


Summary: Kate Winters has won immortality. 

But if she wants a life in the Underworld with Henry, she’ll have to fight for it. 

Becoming immortal wasn’t supposed to be the easy part. Though Kate is about to be crowned Queen of the Underworld, she’s as isolated as ever. And despite her growing love for Henry, ruler of the Underworld, he’s becoming ever more distant and secretive. Then, in the midst of Kate’s coronation, Henry is abducted by the only being powerful enough to kill him: the King of the Titans. 

As the other gods prepare for a war that could end them all, it is up to Kate to save Henry from the depths of Tartarus. But in order to navigate the endless caverns of the Underworld, Kate must enlist the help of the one person who is the greatest threat to her future. 
Henry’s first wife, Persephone. 


Review: Goddess Interrupted, the second book in The Goddess Test series, is a must read for fans  of the first book. Goddess Interrupted has the return of fantastic characters like Henry and Kate with that added part that makes this series so memorable. The mythology!

I loved The Goddess Test! So, I was quite a bit excited to read this one. Thankfully, I loved Goddess Interrupted, too! My only complainant about this one is the slow start. It took me awhile to get back into the book and into the character's minds again. Nothing too much, in my opinion, happened. Kate was quite angsty and getting adjusted in the Underworld . Other than that minor complainant I hardly have no more complaints! It was just that fantastic. 

Kate, the main character, is as feisty as ever. There were a few moments when I really wanted to slap some sense into her but she surprised me quite a few times during the book. Kate is such a strong character but she most certainly has her vulnerable moments. What I like most about her is that Henry doesn't have to come around saving her all the time. She's capable of taking care of herself. Henry isn't even around for most of the book, which really made me sad.

Speaking of Henry, I love that guy! He, like Kate, was moody and full of angst but I still loved him. He and Kate definitely have their problems which makes their relationship very real. 

Most of Goddess Interrupted take place in the Underworld. I loved how Carter described the Underworld. It was perfect. There isn't much new mythology in this one, but I loved seeing the things I loved from The Goddess Test come back. 

That ENDING was so intense and it really blew me away. The ending of Goddess Interrupted almost makes up for the slow start in the beginning.

Goddess Interrupted is a fun, sometimes deep, read that is definitely worth picking up! 


Rating: 4.5 stars

Sunday, March 25, 2012

In My Mailbox (71)

Happy Sunday everyone! In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren to share books we got during the week!

This week was a major e-book and Netgalley week!

Bought:
Pure by Jennifer L. Armentrout-I loved Half-Blood, the first book, and this one was already on Barnes and Noble even though the book doesn't release till April. I couldn't resist not getting it!
Indelible by Lani Woodland-I read the first book in this series, Intrinsical, and enjoyed it. I thought I might as well try this one. Plus it was about 4 dollars which wasn't bad! 

Netgalley: 
Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowen-I've seen this book around and I was super excited to get it!
The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa-I've heard nothing but good things about this book! Ah! I'm so excited to get started!

Did you get anything awesome in your mailbox?

Friday, March 23, 2012

What to Read (19)

What to Read is just a little thing I like to do that features a slew of books from a certain genre. Sometimes I don't exactly do genres, but you get the gist!


Today I'm featuring:
THE HUNGER GAMES!!!!
The Hunger Games came out last night at midnight and a few friends of mine actually went and saw it. I'm definitely not a stay up late person, especially with movies. BUT! I'm going to go see The Hunger Games tonight with some friends! Did any of you go to the midnight showing?!


Truthfully, I'm so excited that it isn't even funny! 

The Hunger Games and the following books are some of my absolute favorite books. In my mind, almost nothing can beat The Hunger Games or Catching Fire. I don't quite have the same views on Mockingjay but that is a different story all together.  It's still one of the best books I've ever read.

It makes me so happy when I here people who wouldn't normally read gushing about how awesome The Hunger Games are. It just makes me so ecstatic! 

Anyone going to see The Hunger Games today, this weekend or anytime in the future!? Let me know!

Have a great Hunger Games release day! 


And...I really want to make these but I in no way have the skills...Courtesy of fictionalfood.net


Thursday, March 22, 2012

Speed Date with Scotty: Trapped by Michael Northrup

Hi everyone, toady I'm doing something a little bit different. I'm participating in a thing called Speed Dating-with reviews. It's hosted by Mary over at The Book Swarm. The purpose is to tell your thoughts about the book in about 150 words. I think it's a fantastic idea! Go check out her blog to participate. 


Title: Trapped
Author: Michael Northrup
Publisher: Scholastic 
Publication Date: February 2, 2011
Source: Library
Add to your shelves 


SummaryThe day the blizzard started, no one knew that it was going to keep snowing for a week. That for those in its path, it would become not just a matter of keeping warm, but of staying alive. . . .Scotty and his friends Pete and Jason are among the last seven kids at their high school waiting to get picked up that day, and they soon realize that no one is coming for them. Still, it doesn't seem so bad to spend the night at school, especially when distractingly hot Krista and Julie are sleeping just down the hall. But then the power goes out, then the heat. The pipes freeze, and the roof shudders. As the days add up, the snow piles higher, and the empty halls grow colder and darker, the mounting pressure forces a devastating decision. . . . 


Review: Trapped is a gritty survival story. There's definitely no rainbows and unicorns in this book. But it could be funny at times and very real, making it a worthwhile read.

I wasn't a huge fan of the main character, Scotty. He's a high school boy so I didn't expect much in terms of maturity but sometimes guys just surprise me! I did like how he became stronger and a better person because of the blizzard. 

The actual concept was what I loved that most. Northrup handles it perfectly; the tiniest detail could make me shiver. It fact, I literally had the chills when I read this. Trapped is just that real. Trapped was never boring or dull. There was always a problem for the kids to solve.

Although it has an abrupt ending, Trapped is a read you will remember because of a scary situation you don't ever want to be in. 

(I have the chills just thinking about this book!)


Rating: 3.5 stars

Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (75)

Hi everyone! Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine to show books we can't wait to read!

This week's pick is:
The Lost Code by Kevin Emerson
May 22, 2012

WHAT IS OLDEST WILL BE NEW, WHAT IS LOST SHALL BE FOUND. 

The ozone is ravaged, ocean levels have risen, and the sun is a daily enemy. But global climate change is not something new in the Earth’s history. 

No one will know this better than less-than-ordinary Owen Parker, who is about to discover that he is the descendant of a highly advanced ancient race—a race that took their technology too far and almost destroyed the Earth in the process. 

Now it is Owen’s turn to make right in his world what went wrong thousands of years ago. If Owen can unlock the lost code in his very genes, he may rediscover the forgotten knowledge of his ancestry…and that less-than-ordinary can evolve into extraordinary.

Doesn't this one sound really cool?! I love that the world is already damaged and the main character, Owen, is trying to figure out some code. Plus a super powerful race? Sounds awesome to me! 

Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Masters of the Veil by Daniel A. Cohen

Title: Masters of the Veil
Author: Daniel A. Cohen
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Publication Date: March 1, 2012
Source: Thanks Dan and Kate!
Add to your shelves 


Summary: Life can't get much better for Sam Lock. Popular, good-looking, and with a future as a professional football player. every guy at Stanton High School wishes he were Sam. That is, until his championship football game, when Sam accidentally links with an ancient source of energy known as the Veil and reveals his potential to become a powerful sorcerer.Sam is whisked off to Atlas Crown, a community of sorcerers who utilize the Veil as a part of everyday life. Once there, he trains beside a mute boy who speaks through music, an eternal sage who's the eyes and ears of the Veil, and a beautiful girl who's pretty sure Sam's an idiot.As it becomes clear Sam's meant for power magic-the most feared and misunderstood form of sorcery-people beyond Atlas Crown learn of his dangerous potential. An exiled group of power sorcerers are eager to recruit Sam, believing that he is destined to help them achieve their long-held goal. If they succeed, they could bring about the downfall of not only Atlas Crown. But all humankind.


Review: Masters of the Veil is a fantastic book that shows that there can be so many new original things still to be discovered in the genre of fantasy. Cohen does a great job with this one!


Sam is such a fun guy! He wasn't the easiest to connect with-a problem I've been having lately-but that didn't mean that I didn't like him. He was such a pleasure to read about. He definitely developed a lot during the book. I enjoyed being there for his crazy sorcerer journey.


The supporting characters were pretty good. I loved the vast variety of them and just the different personalities of them. Some were a bit two-dimensional but I still loved them!


Like I said before, the fantasy is fantastic! There's tons of information packed into Masters of the Veil, the first in the trilogy. It could be a little overwhelming at times but you just have to get used to the flow of information. Then it gets enjoyable.


Overall, Masters of the Veil is a fun book that never fails to be interesting. This is definitely one for the fantasy lovers!


Rating: 3.5 stars

Monday, March 19, 2012

Shooting Stars by Allsion Rushby

Title: Shooting Stars
Author: Allsion Rushby
Publisher: Walker
Publication Date: February 28, 2012
Source: Thanks Netgalley and Walker!
Add to your shelves 


Summary: Meet Josephine Foster, or Zo Jo as she’s called in the biz. The best pint-sized photographer of them all, Jo doesn't mind doing what it takes to get that perfect shot, until she’s sent on an undercover assignment to shoot Ned Hartnett—teen superstar and the only celebrity who’s ever been kind to her—at an exclusive rehabilitation retreat in Boston. The money will be enough to pay for Jo’s dream: real photography classes, and maybe even quitting her paparazzi gig for good. Everyone wants to know what Ned’s in for. But Jo certainly doesn’t know what she’s in for: falling in love with Ned was never supposed to be part of her assignment. 

Review: Shooting Stars is such a fun book. One that tells the tale of a young paparazzo, named Jo, and it was pretty fantastic!

Jo immediately wins you over with her voice but actually connecting to her was the problem with me. It wasn't that I didn't like Jo because I really did and I appreciated how she grew during the course of the novel. The main problem was that I just couldn't connect or relate with her. I just seem to be having this awful problem lately. It's probably just me though, Jo was an awesome girl and I did end up growing to like her a lot!

A ton of Hollywood/LA books are cliched and filled to the brim with brand names. Thankfully, Shooting Stars has none of that. It fact the realness of the Paparazzi was fantastic. In fact the story doesn't take place much in LA, it's in a retreat in Boston.

Another thing that I loved about this book was the supporting characters! Now they were the ones that I loved. There was just something special about all the kids that were at the retreat with Jo, where she was taking pictures of a star. I especially loved Ned! Seth and Katrina were really fun, as well.

Rushby does a great job with surprising you in Shooting Stars. There was just so many surprising things that went on during the course of the book. Most I didn't see coming what so ever. It was just very refreshing.

Shooting Stars is a sweet story filled with tons of funny moments and great characters. Rushby takes the idea of the paparazzi and turns it into something new and unique. If you're in the mood for something light and unique pick this one up!

Rating:

Sunday, March 18, 2012

In My Mailbox (70)

Hi and happy Sunday everyone! In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren to share book we can't wait to read!

This week was fantastic! I doubt I'll get any book for awhile now so this might be it for a couple of weeks!

Bought:
When the Sea is Rising Red by Cat Hellisen-I love the cover of this one and I've heard this has a great twist on Vamps!
Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins-I'm so excited to start the conclusion to the Hex Hall series!
Embrace by Jessica Shrivington-The cover for this one is so soft but besides that I'm very excited to read it. I'm always looking for a new twist on Angels. 
Out of Sight Out by Time by Ally Carter-This is the fifth book in the Gallagher Girls series which I have a huge soft-spot for!

From the Library:
Just Listen by Sarah Dessen-This is one of the only Dessen books I haven't read so I'm looking forward to, hopefully, getting around to it.
Private by Kate Brian-I know, I know. This probably isn't the best series but my friend talked me into trying it. 

What did you get this week?!

Saturday, March 17, 2012

Blog Happenings (70)

Hi everyone! I hope everyone is having a great start to their weekend! I'm sad it's the weekend, spring break is almost over! :(

READING:
I've put off reading this one for a long time but I finally buckling down and reading it! It's long and has super small print. It's intimidating. I'm hoping I can finish it this weekend! *crosses fingers*

TO READ:
Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard (I'm so ashamed I didn't get to this one this week!)
The Girl is Murder by Kathryn Miller Haines
Shooting Stars by Allsion Rushby

READ:
I didn't get as many books read as I wanted to but whatever!
A Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee
The Body at the Tower by Y.S. Lee
The Traitor in the Tunnel by Y.S. Lee--It was absolutely fantastic!
The Night She Disappeared by April Henry--A nice read that had some unique touches.
Breaking Beautiful by Jennifer Shaw Wolf--This one was beautiful! I loved it. I'll definitely have a review closer to the release date.

I'd love to know if you guys would like review on A Spy In the House and The Body at the Tower. I reviewed them when I first started blogging and had about two followers...

I just don't think it's fair to review books that I already read. I could do something on how my thoughts changed, though. If you want something like that please let me know!

Also, I'm so tired with keeping up with what I'm reading on the sidebar. All the widgets on Goodreads are pretty ugly but I've seen different ones around that are form Goodreads that don't look bad at all! I just can't find them. Any suggestions??

I think that's it for me this week! I have some great books to show you in IMM tomorrow!

Friday, March 16, 2012

What to Read (18)


What to Read is just a little thing I like to do that features a slew of books from a certain genre. Sometimes I don't exactly do genres, but you get the gist!


Today I'm featuring:
Mid-2012 Debuts that I can't wait to read! Back in January I spotlighted by top five books that I couldn't wait to read through early April. Here are my picks for late April to June! In no particular order:

Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock (May 8, 2012)
I'm so excited to read this one! It's about werewolves and murder. I'm already in love with it! 


My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick (June 14, 2012)
This looks like a fantastic contemp read! I believe it's about a girl who meets this great boy who lives next door while dealing with problems back home! I'm definitely intrigued. 

Gilt by Katherine Longshore (May 15, 2012)
It's historical fiction. Enough said. 

Something Like Normal by Trish Doller (June 19, 2012)
I was sold from the moment I read the summary of this one. It's about a 19 year old coming home from war and the problems he deals with, I believe! I'm SO SO excited!

Unraveling by Elizabeth Norris (April 24, 2012)
I actually WoWed this one a few weeks ago but I'm still very excited. It's not just about a girl coming back from the dead it's about a girl saving the world! Yay!

Out of the debuts I showed in my last one of these-go here-I've read two out of the five but I have the other three and I can't wait to read them!


Thursday, March 15, 2012

Speed Date with Drew: The Night She Disappeared by April Henry

Hi everyone, toady I'm doing something a little bit different. I'm participating in a thing called Speed Dating-with reviews. It's hosted by Mary over at The Book Swarm. The purpose is to tell your thoughts about the book in about 150 words. I think it's a fantastic idea! Go check out her blog to participate. 


Title: The Night She Disappeared
Author: April Henry
Publisher: Henry Holt
Publication Date: March 13, 2012
Source: Thanks Netgalley and Henry Holt!
Add to your shelves 


Summary: Gabie drives a Mini Cooper. She also works part time as a delivery girl at Pete’s Pizza. One night, Kayla—another delivery girl—goes missing. To her horror, Gabie learns that the supposed kidnapper had asked if the girl in the Mini Cooper was working that night. Gabie can’t move beyond the fact that Kayla’s fate was really meant for her, and she becomes obsessed with finding Kayla. She teams up with Drew, who also works at Pete’s. Together, they set out to prove that Kayla isn’t dead—and to find her before she is


Review: If I had to describe The Night She Disappeared I'd say that it was part mystery, and part really creepy!


The Night She Disappeared actually has alternating chapters between Drew, the boy who answered the fatal phone call, and Gabie, the girl who should have been kidnapped. There are multiple other chapters from various points of view that really added to the story. I loved that and little tidbits from newspapers, transcripts from calls and TV shows that related to the case of Kayla's kidnapping!


The main problem I had with this one is the characters. I just couldn't relate to them, but I really wished that I could!


The last 70 pages of the story are so gripping! You just have to know what happened to Kayla, the kidnapped girl. It gets very intense and I was going crazy because I just had to get to the end.


Overall, The Night She Disappeared is a creepy read that ends up being really exciting. I'd definitely recommend it to someone that's looking for something different.


Rating: 3.5 stars

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (74)

Hi everyone, happy Wednesday!! Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine to show books we can't wait for!

This week's pick:
Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins
May 1, 2012


What if there were teens whose lives depended on being bad influences? This is life for sons and daughters of fallen angels in Sweet Evil.

Tenderhearted Southern girl, Anna Whitt, was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage, and her will-power is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

A cross-country trip to meet her father forces Anna to face the reality that hope and love are not options for her kind. When she confronts her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?

Truthfully, I'm not even sure what this one is even about. I'm absolutely loving this cover, though! I do like books that are about discovering powers and heritages. I'm definitely willing to give this one a try, maybe because of Kaidan Rowe? Or maybe not! :) 

Tuesday, March 13, 2012

The Traitor in the Tunnel by Y.S. Lee

Title: The Traitor in The Tunnel
Author: Y.S. Lee
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Publication Date: February 28, 2012
Source: Bought
Add to your shelves


Summary: Queen Victoria has a little problem: there's a petty thief at work in Buckingham Palace. Charged with discretion, the Agency puts quickwitted Mary Quinn on the case, where she must pose as a domestic while fending off the attentions of a feckless Prince of Wales. But when the prince witnesses the murder of one of his friends in an opium den, the potential for scandal looms large. And Mary faces an even more unsettling possibility: the accused killer, a Chinese sailor imprisoned in the Tower of London, shares a name with her long-lost father. Meanwhile, engineer James Easton, Mary's onetime paramour, is at work shoring up the sewers beneath the palace, where an unexpected tunnel seems to be very much in use. Can Mary and James trust each other (and put their simmering feelings aside) long enough to solve the mystery and protect the Royal Family? Hoist on your waders for Mary's most personal case yet, where the stakes couldn't be higher - and she has everything to lose.

ReviewIn The Traitor in The Tunnel we see Mary undercover as a spy in Buckingham Palace investing a recent string of thefts that are quite petty in nature. 

First of all, I just want to say how much a absolutely adore this series. I love the characters, the writing and the historical aspect. Plus, it's not just historical it's historical with mystery fiction! :) 

Mary, the main character, has such a strong exterior. In The Traitor in the Tunnel we really get to see Mary's vulnerable side. And when you do it's when you really start to realize why you love her so much as a character. Mary is a wonderful character, you can literally tell that Y.S. Lee put a lot of time into making her complex and lovable. 

The mystery in this one doesn't have as high of stakes as the other ones did. It does get exciting and it's never boring. I felt this book was more for Mary to really embrace who she was and how she felt about the others around her. The mystery in this one is still spectacular but it didn't quite have that whodunit factor that I've experienced in the previous two in the series. 

I love the writing and the setting in this book more then anything I've read in awhile. Lee has this certain style that manages to stay beautiful but she gets so many laughs out of me! You wouldn't think there was a lot of things to be funny about in Victorian London but there's always something to smile about during the book. I also love how London is portrayed, it just feels like I'm there solving the mysteries with Mary! 

I've been saving the best for last. James Easton-an engineer who Mary met on her first assignment. James and Mary's banter is one of the main reason for the humor in these books. The banter is done SO well. I just love, love James. He and Mary make the perfect little bickering couple, because they like to go back and forth with each other a lot. It's more than enjoyable, it's heaven reading about them. The ending of this one melted my heart so much. 

The Traitor in the Tunnel would be a fantastic conclusion to this series, but thankfully there's still one more book, and I couldn't have asked for more. I need some more mystery, London and, of course, Mary and James. 

Rating: Way more then 5 stars!

Monday, March 12, 2012

Perception by Kim Harrington

Title: Perception
Author: Kim Harrington
Publisher: Scholastic Point
Publication Date: March 1, 2012
Source: Bought
Add to your shelves 


Summary: When you can see things others can't, what do you do when someone's watching you? 

Everybody knows about Clarity "Clare" Fern. She's the psychic girl in school, the one who can place her hands on something and see hidden visions from the past. 

Only Clare would rather not be a celebrity. She prefers hanging back, observing. Her gift is not a game to her. 

But then someone starts playing with her head . . . and heart. Messages and gifts from a secret admirer crop up everywhere Clare turns. Could they be from Gabriel, the gorgeous boy who gets Clare's pulse racing? Or from Justin, Clare's hopeful ex-boyfriend who'd do anything to win her back? 
One thing is certain. Clare needs to solve this mystery, and soon. Because the messages are becoming sinister, and a girl in town has suddenly disappeared. 


Review: I read Clarity, the first book in this series, when in first came out and I was amazed. I was even more blown away by Perception, the sequel. 


One of my favorite things about this series has to be Clare and the other supporting characters. All of them managed to win me over once again. Clare and all her crazy friends have such a special place in my heart. I just love Clare's Mom and her brother, Perry. They are just spectacular! 


How could you not like the two boys vying for Clare's affection? Justin and Gabriel are wonderful. I have my favorite but I don't want to spoil anything for you! The love triangle in Perception is so well done. I'm not a huge fan of love triangles but Harrington absolutely nails it. Even if you don't like love triangles you might want to give this series a try!


Harrington does even better on the mystery. She also did a great job with the creepiness factor! There were a couple of times where I was pretty spooked. I had my suspicions about who the "bad guy" was but you are kept guessing for awhile in Perception. The paranormal ability thing was also well done. 


If I'm not mistaken this is the last book in the series, but not hold me to it. If it is, it definitely went out well. Perception is a very smart, funny book that has wonderful characters who win you over quickly. 


Rating: 4.5 stars

Sunday, March 11, 2012

In My Mailbox (69)

Hi everyone! In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren to share books we received during the week!

This week was fantastic!

Bought:
Where It Began by Ann Redisch Stampler-This one sounds like a great book. I haven't heard many things about it but it intrigues me.
The Traitor in the Tunnel by Y.S. Lee-I'm actually just about to read this one right now. I just finished re-reading the first two in the series. I can't wait!
The Mastermind Plot by Angie Frazier-I'm such a huge fan of Frazier. This is the second book in her middle grade mystery series and I can't wait to get started!
Never Eighteen by Megan Bostic-This one looks so heartbreaking and so awesome! 

Library:
The Girl is Murder by Kathryn Miller Haines-I got the second book from Netgalley last week. I've been meaning to read the first one for quite awhile now so this was the perfect opportunity! I seem to me on quite the mystery streak, don't I??

 Netgalley:
Breaking Beautiful by Jennifer She Wolf-I've been waiting to read this one forever! I was so happy when I saw it on Netgalley.

The Summer by Life Began by Shannon Greenland-Despite the incredibly cheesy cover I have a feeling this book will be fantastic! It just looks very promising. 

Have a good rest of your weekend!

Saturday, March 10, 2012

Blog Happenings (69)

Good morning, everyone!


READING:

You're reading all of these at the same time?? No, I'm not. I started reading The Traitor in the Tunnel yesterday because I wanted to read a great mystery. I was about 50 pages in when I realized I've forgot just about everything about this series. It's been 2 years since I read the first one and a year and a half since I read the second. Which is why I'm re-reading the first two! I don't remember the last time I re-read a book but I might as well try!

READ:
Pretty Crooked by Elisa Ludwig-A very fun book!
Perception by Kim Harrington-Very good, I love the characters in this series!

TO READ:
I want to read a ton of books. I'm finally on Spring Break and I'm hoping to get some serious reading time in. Maybe even catch up with the books on my Nook. I'm know that I'm getting a little behind by re-reading but seriously I think I'm going to have time!

List of Books to Read Over Spring Break:
Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard
Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
The Girl is Murder by Kathryn Miller Haines
Two Truths and a Lie by Sara Shepard
The Night She Disappeared by April Henry
The Mastermind Plot by Angie Frazier
Masters of the Veil by Daniel A. Cohen

Let's hope I can finish these and more!!

Which is why I leave you now because of I have some fictional worlds I'm dying to get back into! 
Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Blog Design By Use Your Imagination Designs Inspired by Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater