Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (47)

Hi everyone and happy Wednesday! Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine to show books we can't wait for!

This week's pick is:
Goddess Interrupted by Aimee Carter
March 27, 2012

Kate Winters has won immortality.

But if she wants a life in the Underworld with Henry, she’ll have to fight for it.

Becoming immortal wasn’t supposed to be the easy part. Though Kate is about to be crowned Queen of the Underworld, she’s as isolated as ever. And despite her growing love for Henry, ruler of the Underworld, he’s becoming ever more distant and secretive. Then, in the midst of Kate’s coronation, Henry is abducted by the only being powerful enough to kill him: the King of the Titans.

As the other gods prepare for a war that could end them all, it is up to Kate to save Henry from the depths of Tartarus. But in order to navigate the endless caverns of the Underworld, Kate must enlist the help of the one person who is the greatest threat to her future.

Henry’s first wife, Persephone.

I know some people didn't like the Goddess Test very much, but I absolutely loved it! Therefore, I can't wait for Goddess Interrupted! I liked the first one for not following Greek Mythology exactly and I liked how Carter put her own unique spin on it. I'm definitely in for another round of Kate and Henry...and what's this about Persephone!?

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

Title: Perfect Chemistry
Author: Simone Elkeles
Publisher: Walker Books
Publication Date: December 23, 2008
Source: Bought

Summary: A fresh, urban twist on the classic tale of star-crossed lovers. 

When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created “perfect” life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she's worked so hard for—her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect. Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more.  In a passionate story about looking beneath the surface, Simone Elkeles breaks through the stereotypes and barriers that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart.

Review: I waited so long to read a book by Elkeles. If you haven't read Perfect Chemistry...don't wait! This book is addicting and one of my new favorite books!

I instantly connected with both Alex and Brittany. My, were they some interesting characters. I think that I loved both of them. Alex definitely managed to make my heart melt. Both of their characters were complex, and by complex I mean very complex. Brittany and Alex are caring, sweet people and every time they were together and just had to root for them and their romance.

Speaking of romance, did someone just turn up the hot-o-meter! Whew, Elkeles has set my standard high for romance. I could handle insta-love before but now I'm going to be comparing every couple to Alex and Brittany's literal Perfect Chemistry. Everything about their relationship was so real and so raw. I really loved it.

Perfect Chemistry has this addictive air about it. All I could think about was reading it, when I wasn't reading it! It takes me awhile to finish books these days but this one I polished off in no time. I just felt compelled to read it.

There is no way that I couldn't continue this series. I'm hoping that the next two books are just as awesome as the first. Elkeles is on the fast track to being one of my favorite authors, and Alex and Brittany one of my favorite couples.

Let's just see how the other Fuentes brothers compare!

Note: I'm absolutely hate this cover. I'm not a fan of...covers like this. Would you really want to go out in public with this?! I did because it was just so dang addictive!

Rating: Way more than 5 stars!

Monday, November 28, 2011

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

Title: The Name of the Star
Author: Maureen Johnson
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Publication Date: September 29, 2011
Source: Library

Summary: The day Louisiana teenager Rory Deveaux arrives in London marks a memorable occasion. For Rory, it's the start of a new life at a London boarding school. But for many, this will be remembered as the day a series of brutal murders broke out across the city, gruesome crimes mimicking the horrific Jack the Ripper events of more than a century ago.
Soon "Rippermania" takes hold of modern-day London, and the police are left with few leads and no witnesses. Except one. Rory spotted the man police believe to be the prime suspect. But she is the only one who saw him. Even her roommate, who was walking with her at the time, didn't notice the mysterious man. So why can only Rory see him? And more urgently, why has Rory become his next target? In this edge-of-your-seat thriller, full of suspense, humor, and romance, Rory will learn the truth about the secret ghost police of London and discover her own shocking abilities.

Review: The Name of the Star was thrilling. It was scary and it was awesome!

Rory, our main character, was one spunky girl. I always like Johnson's characters. They're a little quirky but they have this lovable air about them. One of the things that I liked most about her was that she was brave. I did have a hard time connecting to her in the beginning but soon that passed away as the story got going.

I love the secret ghost police of London that the summary mentioned! All of them were such great people that I could root for. My favorite was definitely side character was from the police was Stephen. That guy was definitely sweet, I can't wait to learn more about him.

But who I really liked out of the supporting characters was Jazza, the roommate, and Jerome, the love interest. The romance definitely wasn't defined in this one but I liked how Johnson focused on the mystery and the plot more.

The plot was tense! I loved how Jack the Ripper was incorporated into the book. It was just plain clever. The last couple of chapters had me on the absolute edge of my seat. I cannot wait for the next one.

The Name of the Star is a book that I'd definitely recommend.

Rating: 4.5 stars

Sunday, November 27, 2011

In My Mailbox (57)

Hi everyone and welcome to my IMM! In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren to share all the awesome books we got during the week!

Rules of Attraction by Simone Elkeles-I love this series
Chain Reaction by Simone Elkeles
The Pledge by Kimberly Derting+Bookmark-I couldn't resist, I ordered myself a copy that was signed. Since I love her other books I had to get this one, even though it wasn't my favorite. 

Though, I do like that it is signed!

That's it for me! What about you?

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Blog Happenings (46)

Hi everyone! I hope you all had an awesome Black Friday! I'm not really a Black Friday shopper...I'm a go in the afternoon shopper when it's not that busy!


Every Other Day by Jennifer Lynn Barnes-Yes, I'm not doing so well. It's due to expire any day...oops!
Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles-This one is just a little too addicting! It's just SO good, though!

Tempest by Julie Cross-This one was awesome!
If I Tell by Janet Gurtler-I'd definitely recommend this one if you're looking for something different.
The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson-This book was quite amazing. I really, really enjoyed it.

Soul Thief by Jana Oliver....there's a story with this one!
The rest of the Perfect Chemistry series-I must finish it!

Soul Thief Story:
I'm browsing the book shelves at Barnes and Noble on Black Friday. My eye catches on something that says Events. It's tucked into a book. Specifically, Soul Thief by Jana Oliver. Turns out Jana Oliver is coming to the bookstore I was at! Let's just say there was a little bit of jumping up and down and excited yelling! I'll definitely post pictures when I, hopefully, go to it! It's not till next month, though! But November is almost over.

I also scored a Hunger Games calendar! It's so cool! 

While I was there I had to check out the new Nook Tablet. That's the thing I don't like about electronics. You feel like you have the most awesome thing and then they just keep coming out with better and better ones! The Tablet has a much better screen, but I still love my old one! Though, it isn't even a year old yet!

That's all for me! See you tomorrow for IMM! This post seems a little hyper!

Friday, November 25, 2011

What to Read (9)

Hi everyone!
What to Read is just a little thing I like to do that features a slew of books from a certain genre. Sometimes I don't exactly do genres, but you get the gist!

Today I'm featuring:
Fixing Delilah by Sarah Ockler is a book that I put off reading for so long. It amazed me. The writing, the characters, the romance were spectacular.

Even though I'm still reading Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles, I'm already kicking myself for not reading this sooner. This book is pure HOT! I'm loving every second of it.

Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen or anything by Dessen. Like the others I waited forever to start a Dessen book. It took me till this summer to finally crack one open. I love them all.

I waited forever to read the Harry Potter series by J.K Rowling. I mean forever. I read them all about two years ago on a dare. I loved them. I'd watched the movies but I could never get into the books. Until two years ago.

Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly is one where I only waited a few months to read but still those months made me miss out on an amazing book that touched my heart.


The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. Maybe its the hype that's scaring me a way, but I'm vowing to read this one by the end of the year!

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. I know its not the hype that's getting me on this one. I just haven't found the willpower to open up this awesome looking book. I'm afraid it won't live up to my expectations.

There are so many books that I still haven't read but need to. What are some of yours?

Thursday, November 24, 2011

If I Tell by Janet Gurtler

Title: If I Tell
Author: Janet Gurtler
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: October 11, 2011
Source: Thanks Negalley and Sourcebooks!

Summary: Jasmine Evans knows one thing for sure... people make mistakes. After all, she is one. Jaz is the result of a onenight stand between a black football player and a blonde princess. Having a young mother who didn't raise her, a father who wants nothing to do with her and living in a small-minded town where she's never fit in hasn't been easy. But she's been surviving. Until she sees her mom's new boyfriend making out with her own best friend. When do you forgive people for being human or give up on them forever?

Review: It's safe to say that I was throughly surpsied by If I Tell.

It was hard for me to get into If I Tell, for some resason it was very hard for me to connect to the characters and their problems. Jaz is a bi-racial girl in a very small town. I felt for her but she had a somewhat whiny voice. Thankfully, I connected with her but it was at the very end when she was coming to accept who she was and what she needed to do to make her life better. For some reason it was just hard for me.

One of my favorite things about If I Tell was the writing. Gurtler had some a special way of putting things and it was just beautiful to read. Even when Jaz was being a little whiny I enjoyed Gurtler's writing. I also appreciated how she conveyed differnet messages throughout the book.

If I Tell definitely had some interesting side characters. I wasn't quite sure what to make of any of them. It was just weird. It was sort of like, what are the purpose of these characters? I can't say that I disliked them but they just irked me a little. I did like Ashley, Jaz's friend from school, who always said what was one her mind and was quite funnny.

Overall, If I Tell has some spotty characters but it should definitely be picked up because of its messages and beautiful wrting.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (46)

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine to share books we can't wait for!

This week's pick is:
The Traitor in the Tunnel by Y.S. Lee
February 28, 2012

Get steeped in suspense, romance, and high Victorian intrigue as Mary goes undercover at Buckingham Palace - and learns a startling secret at the Tower of London.

Queen Victoria has a little problem: there's a petty thief at work in Buckingham Palace. Charged with discretion, the Agency puts quickwitted Mary Quinn on the case, where she must pose as a domestic while fending off the attentions of a feckless Prince of Wales. But when the prince witnesses the murder of one of his friends in an opium den, the potential for scandal looms large. And Mary faces an even more unsettling possibility: the accused killer, a Chinese sailor imprisoned in the Tower of London, shares a name with her long-lost father. Meanwhile, engineer James Easton, Mary's onetime paramour, is at work shoring up the sewers beneath the palace, where an unexpected tunnel seems to be very much in use. Can Mary and James trust each other (and put their simmering feelings aside) long enough to solve the mystery and protect the Royal Family? Hoist on your waders for Mary's most personal case yet, where the stakes couldn't be higher - and she has everything to lose.

I can't wait for this one! I've been a fan of the Agency series since the very beginning. Lee writes such amazing historical mysteries. I hope this one is no different! James Easton is back.....hmmm. That means a very happy Katie!

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Mini Review: Tempest by Julie Cross

Today I'm doing something a little different to get a book I recently read, and loved, out on your radar!
Tempest by Julie Cross
Publishing on January 17, 2012 by St. Martin's Griffin
My Source: Netgalley

The year is 2009.  Nineteen-year-old Jackson Meyer is a normal guy… he’s in college, has a girlfriend… and he can travel back through time. But it’s not like the movies – nothing changes in the present after his jumps, there’s no space-time continuum issues or broken flux capacitors – it’s just harmless fun.

That is… until the day strangers burst in on Jackson and his girlfriend, Holly, and during a struggle with Jackson, Holly is fatally shot. In his panic, Jackson jumps back two years to 2007, but this is not like his previous time jumps. Now he’s stuck in 2007 and can’t get back to the future.

Desperate to somehow return to 2009 to save Holly but unable to return to his rightful year, Jackson settles into 2007 and learns what he can about his abilities.

But it’s not long before the people who shot Holly in 2009 come looking for Jackson in the past, and these “Enemies of Time” will stop at nothing to recruit this powerful young time-traveler.  Recruit… or kill him.

Piecing together the clues about his father, the Enemies of Time, and himself, Jackson must decide how far he’s willing to go to save Holly… and possibly the entire world.

Mini Review: Tempest is the ultimate time travel book. Everything about the time travel in Tempest is unique to this book. Yet, the time travel aspect of the book left me with so many questions. I devoured everything there was to know about time travel. I can't wait for more information to be revealed in later books.

In Tempest we have a male narrator! Yes, a male narrator! I love how this is becoming more common these days. To me Jackson had a distinctly male narration. It probably helped that he was somewhat of a sweet heart! 

That ending was quite the ending. I'm not going to say any more but it was a little hard to read, it was so emotional and sad.

Tempest is a book you need to look out for! I'm sure that it will surprise you, just like it surprised me!

Pre-Order Tempest by Julie Cross

Monday, November 21, 2011

The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler

Title: The Future of Us
Author: Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication Date: November 21, 2011
Source: Won ARC

SummaryIt's 1996, and less than half of all American high school students have ever used the Internet.

Emma just got her first computer and an America Online CD-ROM.

Josh is her best friend. They power up and log on--and discover themselves on Facebook, fifteen years in the future.

Everybody wonders what their Destiny will be. Josh and Emma are about to find out.

Review: The Future of Us is an awesome story that asks the question, “What would you do if you knew your future?”

Personally, I thought this was a great book. One of the things I liked most about The Future of Us was the different narrators. The two narrators are the two main characters, Emma and Josh. I really enjoyed Josh’s narration. He seemed like such a great guy. Emma did annoy me a little but she, like Josh, was very easy to connect to. I was invested in the book from very early on. I had to see what journey Asher and Mackler took them on.

I LOVED the idea that Emma and Josh got to see their future Facebook profiles. It was so interesting to see how the littlest, or the biggest things changed their futures. Emma was a little reckless about this ability but I guess I understood why she would be. It was so cool to see what their status updates from the future were.

One thing that I was aware about, and worried about, was that this was set in the 90’s.  I was alive in the 90’s but I’m nowhere old enough to remember anything about that decade. But surprisingly I wasn’t phased. There was some things I’d heard of but really wasn’t overly familiar with, mostly the bands. But there was one thing that totally made me laugh. A beeper. Which I learned was a Pager type of thing. I admit having to ask my parents what it was.

Overall, The Future of Us was an amazing read. The plot was engaging, and I instantly connected to the characters. I’d definitely recommend this one. If you’re younger don’t shy away from this because it’s set in the 90’s!

Rating: 4.5 stars

Sunday, November 20, 2011

In My Mailbox (56)

Hi Everyone and welcome to In My Mailbox, hosted by The Story Siren. Its purpose is to share books we got during the week!

A recent trip to Books A Million was awesome!
Dark Inside by Jeyn Roberts, I've heard some really good things about this one!

Past Perfect by Leila Sales, I'd been searching so much for this one! I'm so glad I finally found it. It's an amazing book!

If I Die by Rachel Vincent, I haven't made it that far in the series but I plan to before the year's over!

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi was a book I got earlier in the week and DEVOURED! Read this book now. If you can't see there is no book inside the jacket. I've already loaned it to a friend.

Then from Amazon I got Destined by Jessie Harrell. This one looks super good!
That's all for me this week! What did you get?

Saturday, November 19, 2011

Blog Happenings (45)

Hi Everyone! I hope your having a very happy weekend!


I'm reading a lot of books! I planed on finishing The Name of the Star and Every Other Day soon but when I downloaded Tempest...strange things happened.
I read most of this book last night. I'm almost done. I have about 70 pages left. And I'm absolutely LOVING it! 
I'll get to the other books soon though!

The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler
Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
Both of these books are awesome!

I'm not even going to put a "To Read" because I'm reading a lot of books!

Now for the stories...

I went to Book A Million last night. I'm pretty sure that it just opened yesterday here in my town. I was actually quite surprised. Even though it's in the old Borders location, and I miss Borders a ton it actually has a great selection of YA! I ended up getting a couple of books and this cool little bag because I joined as a member! 

The only thing I noticed was that they didn't have this week's releases like Shatter Me and The Pledge. (Mafi and Derting) But this can be understood because they just opened! 

Then there's this thing that I'm really sad about. Netgalley. Yes, I'm very sad about Netgalley. I keep getting denied for two books that I'm absolutely dying for. Hallowed by Cynthia Hand and Incarnate by Jodi Meadows. I don't mean to sound snotty but I've never got denied. Even when I had about 20 followers. It just makes me a little sad, I guess. I'll just wait till January! Is anyone else getting denied?

I don't know anything else so I'll see you all tomorrow for IMM! 

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Shatter Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Publisher: Harper
Publication Date: November 15, 2011
Source: Bought

Summary: Juliette hasn't touched anyone in exactly 264 days. 

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette's touch is fatal. As long as she doesn't hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don't fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war-- and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she's exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

In this electrifying debut, Tahereh Mafi presents a world as riveting asThe Hunger Games and a superhero story as thrilling as The X-Men. Full of pulse-pounding romance, intoxicating villainy, and high-stakes choices, Shatter Me is a fresh and original dystopian novel—with a paranormal twist—that will leave readers anxiously awaiting its sequel.

Review: Shatter Me is stunning. It was everything I wanted it to be and more. Shatter Me dominated my world the few days that I read it.

I finished Shatter Me last night and I just can't stop thinking about how utterly refreshing everything about it was.

The writing. Mafi's writing is beyond gorgeous. It's almost perfection. Juliette's scribbled out lines, her somewhat incorrect thoughts, by incorrect I mean grammatically, made her just seem more real, more human.

Juliette was an astounding character. I instantly felt her pain, her fury, her love. I felt like I knew Juliette, she was written so well.

The rest of the things that make Shatter Me amazing are Adam and the X-Men type powers. I'll save my favorite one for last.

Juliette possesses the power to kill people with her touch. It was awesome. There's nothing I like more than a book where a character has some sort of unique power but isn't sure if it's good....or bad. Lots of interesting things happen to Juliette because of her power.

Oh Adam. I could use a lot more Adam. This boy rivals some of my favorite leading men of all time. He's sweet, caring, compassionate. He's pretty much the ultimate hunk. I can't wait to see more of him and Juliette together. Their romance is amazing.

If you haven't read Shatter Me, you need to do so now. If you don't you are missing out on a spectacular book. I know I'm glad I didn't wait to read it!


Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (45)

Hi everyone! Happy Wednesday. Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine and showcases books we can't wait to read!

This week's pick is:
Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
March 7, 2012

Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?

Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.

Ismae's most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?

This one sounds unbelievably cool. I have a weakness for historicals with supernatural or fantasy elements. And this sounds just perfect for that. I'm liking the target who has stolen her heart! It's a 2012 debut, I believe, which makes it even more awesome. Plus that's one defiant looking girl on the cover!

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

The Pledge by Kimberly Derting

Title: The Pledge
Author: Kimberly Derting
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry
Publication Date: November 15, 2011
Source: Galley Grab

Summary: In the violent country of Ludania, the classes are strictly divided by the language they speak. The smallest transgression, like looking a member of a higher class in the eye while they are speaking their native tongue, results in immediate execution. Seventeen-year-old Charlaina has always been able to understand the languages of all classes, and she's spent her life trying to hide her secret. The only place she can really be free is the drug-fueled underground clubs where people go to shake off the oppressive rules of the world they live in. It's there that she meets a beautiful and mysterious boy named Max who speaks a language she's never heard before . . . and her secret is almost exposed. 

Charlie is intensely attracted to Max, even though she can't be sure where his real loyalties lie. As the emergency drills give way to real crisis and the violence escalates, it becomes clear that Charlie is the key to something much bigger: her country's only chance for freedom from the terrible power of a deadly regime.

Review: The Pledge is a fast-paced book set in a world where only queens rule, and your set apart from everyone by social classes.

Kimberly Derting is one of my absolute favorite authors. I'm in love with her Body Finder series, yet this was not the book I was expecting it to be. My expectations were a high and sadly, The Pledge fell short.

I'm not saying The Pledge is a bad book. It certainly isn't. But I was expecting a little more from Derting's third book.

Charlie, the main character, can understand all languages. She was a sweet girl but she, like other characters, just didn't have that relatable-ness that I wanted. The love interest Max confused me. I just didn't get why he was attractive. He was just off-putting to me. He certainly didn't wow me. I did like some secondary characters, such as Xander, Charlie's sister and her friends from school. The Pledge wasn't all bad with its characters.

One of the things that I liked the most was the world. I would have liked to know so much more, but overall the world Charlie lived in was very unique. The class systems that have their own languages are very believable and are well done by Derting. There is not a doubt that I want to dive back into this world again.

The plot moves along at a fast speed. Though it was a tad predictable there were some things that just shocked me! There were definitely some interesting twists and turns that I enjoyed.

Overall, The Pledge could have been better. It succeeds, though, because of its unique and believable world. I'll definitely be reading the rest of the series.

Rating: 3.5 stars

Monday, November 14, 2011

Wherever You Go by Heather Davis

Title: Wherever You Go
Author: Heather Davis
Publisher: Harcourt Children's Books 
Publication Date: November 14, 2011
Source: Thanks Netgalley and Harcourt!

Summary: Seventeen-year-old Holly Mullen has felt lost and lonely ever since her boyfriend, Rob, died in a tragic accident. The fact that she has to spend most of her free time caring for her little sister and Alzheimer’s-stricken grandfather doesn't help. But Holly has no idea that as she goes about her days, Rob’s ghost is watching over her. He isn't happy when he sees his best friend, Jason, reach out to help Holly with her grandfather—but as a ghost, he can do nothing to stop it. Is his best friend really falling for his girlfriend?

 As Holly wonders whether to open her heart to Jason, the past comes back to haunt her. Her grandfather claims to be communicating with the ghost of Rob. Could the messages he has for Holly be real? And if so, how can the loved ones Rob left behind help his tortured soul make it to the other side?
Told from the perspectives of Holly, Jason, and Rob,Wherever You Go is is a poignant story about making peace with the past, opening your heart to love, and finding the courage to move forward into the light.

Review: I'm not sure what I was expecting when I started reading Wherever You Go. But I do know I got a sweet book that definitely warmed my heart.

Holly is instantly admirable. What she did for her Alzheimer stricken Grandpa, her over-worked mom, and her little sister was so awesome. Holly does everything without complaining. I don't think that I could ever be as kind-hearted as Holly. But even though I admired her I didn't exactly connect with her. I liked her but she just didn't click with me.

One of the things that I really liked was the change of perspective. The perspective's changed between Holly's first person accountant, Jason's third person, and Rob's second person. It gave Wherever You Go a really unique edge!

I loved the interactions between Holly's grandpa and Rob, her ghost boyfriend. There are quite a few mysteries surrounding Rob's death so it was nice to see them come out slowly and be fleshed out due to the interactions.

Another interaction that I loved was Jason and Holly's! It was the most adorable thing. Jason was a total sweetheart! He did so many things for her and when it made Holly happy, it in turn made me happy.

Overall, Wherever You Go is a touching read that will appeal to quite a few readers.


Sunday, November 13, 2011

In My Mailbox (55)

Hi and Welcome to In My Mailbox hosted by The Story Siren to showcase books we got during the week!

Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally
Fracture by Megan Miranda
The Gathering Storm by Robin Bridges
Pure by Julianna Baggott

Those are all from Netgalley! I really didn't "get" any books this week!

What'd you get?

Saturday, November 12, 2011

2012 Debut Author Challenge

The 2012 Debut Author Challenge is hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren to try to read and review 12 debut author books in the year! Here's my list. I'm doing this a little early so I won't forget!

I couldn't pick a button so I have two!
  1. The International Kissing Club by Ivy Adams
  2. Everneath by Brodi Ashton
  3. The Gathering Storm by Robin Bridges
  4. Tempest by Julie Cross
  5. Everything You Need to Survive the Apocalypse by Luca Klauss
  6. Incarnate by Jodi  Meadows
  7. Ditched: A Love Story
  8. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  9. Fracture by Megan Miranda
  10. The Catastrophic History of You & Me by Jess Rothenberg
  11. Love and Leftovers by Sarah Tregay
  12. When the Red Sea is Rising by Cat Hellisen
  13. Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen
  14. Harbringer by Sara Wilson Etienne
  15. Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
  16. Shooting Stars by Allsion Rushby
  17. Article 5 by Kristen Simmons
  18. Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood
  19. Illuminate by Aimee Agresti
  20. Cross by Heart by Sasha Gould
  21. Slide by Jill Hathaway
  22. Pretty Crooked by Elisa Ludwig
  23. Where it Began by Ann Redisch Stampler
  24. Struck by Jennifer Bowsworth
  25. Queen of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
  26. The Gathering Storm by Robin Bridges
  27. A Breath of Eyre by Eve Marie Mont
  28. Level Two by Lenore Appelhans
  29. Reunited by Hilary Weisman Graham
  30. Of Poseidon by Anna Banks
  31. Breaking Beautiful by Jennifer Shaw Wolf
  32. The Selection by Kiera Cass
  33. Spies and Prejudice by Talia Vance
  34. Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins
  35. Unraveling by Elizabeth Norris 
  36. Embrace by Jessica Shirvington
  37. Welcome, Caller, This is Chloe by Shelley Coriell
  38. Undeadly by Michele Vail
  39. Arcadia Awakens by Kai Meyer
  40. Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock
  41. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
That's it for me. Expect this list to change and grow during the upcoming year!

Blog Happenings (44)

Hi everyone! I hope you had a great Veterans Day yesterday and celebrated 11.11.11 in style! Only one more of those left!


I'm really liking both of these! I had to give up on Silence since it was due at the library yesterday! I'll just have to request it again!

Wherever You Go by Heather Davis
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Steifvater
Darker Still by Leanna Renee Heiber

Possess by Gretchen McNeil 
Soul Thief by Jana Oliver

Beautiful covers are just popping up all over the place!

That's all for me. I know there were a few more but I just can't remember them!

Friday, November 11, 2011

What to Read (8)

Hi everyone!
What to Read is just a little thing I like to do that features a slew of books from a certain genre. Sometimes I don't exactly do genres, but you get the gist!

This week's topic is not a genre but rather a list of stuff...
Like I said, not really a topic since I haven't read any of these yet..but with singing up for the debut author challenge here, I though it'd be a great time to do this!
These are my top five picks for early 2012!
Why hello there pretty cover! This one looks original plus that! I've seen some pretty good reviews on this one so, of course, I can't wait to read it!

This one has another beautiful cover. The idea of this one reminds me a lot of Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver in some ways. It looks amazing, though. I love it when people keep books!
The idea of this one sounds so funny! I think it has something to do with Robin Hood type stuff. Really descriptive, I know! The main character steals from the popular people at her school and ends up maybe trusting one guy. I think the author has the opportunity to make this a really awesome book!
This one is a historical and a mystery and it's set in Venice! Could it get any cooler than that? No, I don't think so. 
This one sounds absolutely heart-breaking. It's about car wrecks, abusive relationships and just a bunch of sad stuff. It sounds beautiful....

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Blog Design By Use Your Imagination Designs Inspired by Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater