Thursday, March 31, 2011

The Midnight Tunnel: A Suzanna Snow Mystery

Title: The Midnight Tunnel: A Suzanna Snow Mystery
Author: Angie Frazier
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: March 1, 2011
Source: Bought

Summary: A mysterious adventure of self-discovery that reveals shocking secrets!

It is 1905 and young Suzanna works at her family's inn in Loch Harbor, New Brunswick, where she is trained to be a well-mannered hostess and a charming lady. Suzanna has other ideas for her future--she wants to be a detective. When a young guest goes missing on a stormy summer night, Suzanna's famous detective uncle, and idol, comes to solve the case. But Suzanna learns that not everything is as it seems. With a little help from her friends, can she solve the mystery of the missing girl before her uncle gives up?

Review: The Midnight Tunnel was an absolutely amazing book. I would have never picked it up if I hadn't loved Everlasting, her previous book. I'm not a fan of middle grade novels, but this…this was just awesome.

Suzanna or Zanna, as she likes to be called, was just as great as the book its self. She was such a feisty girl and so likable. I loved how she wrote things down in her notebook and then referred back to them later to solve the mystery. Oh, Zanna is my kind of girl! And she had such a unique voice!

One of my favorite things about this book was that it wasn't toned, or dumbed down for middle grade readers. And I love that when authors write.

I could just go nuts about the mystery. It was SO good! I took me awhile to figure things out, seriously Zanna is smarter than I am. And the mystery was very complex, and kept you engaged the entire book. It was so surprising when it was resolved, I did not expect anything about this book.
All I can say is Angie Frazier scores again! I will always read her books, no matter what. And I can't wait to see what Suzanna Snow does next. She will always be welcome.

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (10)

WoW is hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine!

This week's pick is:

Overprotected by Jennifer Laurens
April 29, 2011

Ashlyn: A lonely society princess living in New York City.

Daddy hired you to be my bodyguard.

Colin: Childhood enemy, now her protector.

Daddy thought I’d be safe. He thought I’d never fall in love. He thought he could keep me forever.

Charles: obsessed with keeping her safe, keeping her his, he hires the one person he knows she could never fall in love with: Colin.

Daddy was wrong.

I want to read this book SO bad. I cannot wait for it to come out. Ever since I say this cover on someones blog and then encountered it later on Goodreads, falling in love with it, I knew I HAD TO HAVE IT! Good thing April is coming!

Tuesday, March 29, 2011


I'm already, ready to break my book buying ban...NO! I can't let this happen. There are so many books I want. It is awful I want Entwined by Heather Dixon and Born at Midnight by C.C. Hunter. And then on the 31st, Wake unto Me by Lisa Cach. The world of books bans are so unfair.

Oh, well! I just have to stay away from Barnes and Noble. *Sigh*

Off to write some reviews, and then watch NCIS! Oh yes, favorite show ever!

Look at this beautiful thing, and I'm talking about the badge. Even though Michael Weatherly is pretty a old guy way. (Compared to me at least! LOL)

Clarity by Kim Harrington

Title: Clarity
Author: Kim Harrington
Publisher: Scholastic Point
Publication Date: March 1, 2011
Source: Bought

Summary: When you can see things others can't, where do you look for the truth?

This paranormal murder mystery will have teens reading on the edge of their seats.

Clarity "Clare" Fern sees things. Things no one else can see. Things like stolen kisses and long-buried secrets. All she has to do is touch a certain object, and the visions come to her. It's a gift.

And a curse.

When a teenage girl is found murdered, Clare's ex-boyfriend wants her to help solve the case--but Clare is still furious at the cheating jerk. Then Clare's brother--who has supernatural gifts of his own--becomes the prime suspect, and Clare can no longer look away. Teaming up with Gabriel, the smoldering son of the new detective, Clare must venture into the depths of fear, revenge, and lust in order to track the killer. But will her sight fail her just when she needs it most?

Review: It's not hard to figure out how much I LOVE mysteries, so I was more than thrilled to see that a mystery with a special abilities character was coming out. I had huge expectations for this. And were they met? Yes and miles beyond that!

Clarity "Clare" Fern was AMAZING! She was so funny, snarky and just plain fun. She was so great to read about! And I really liked her older brother Perry who is a medium, Clare sees visions when she touches things. Anyway, Perry was really protective of Clare and she of him, which was really sweet. But Perry was one heck of a player, which I really don't admire, but he was still a good character!

And who were those two smoldering boys that made their debut in this mystery? Gabriel, the hot new detectives son with a couple of prejudices. And Justin, Clare's ex-boyfriend, who cheated unintentionally. I like Gabriel, but Justin just seems to be the guy. He made a mistake that's all. I can't wait to see what happens with them and Clare.

On the side of the actual mystery, it was really good. I didn't have too much trouble figuring out who exactly it was, though it took a little thinking. Okay, a TON of thinking... and I had a hard time of figuring out why. And why is almost as important as the who! I congratulate Harrington for making a difficult to solve mystery! It was truly amazing.

Clarity was an extremely well done mystery, with very awesome characters! I would definitely recommend it.


Monday, March 28, 2011

Wither by Lauren DeStefano

Title: Wither
Author: Lauren DeStefano
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Publication Date: March 22, 2011
Source: Simon and Schuster Galley Grab

Summary: What if you knew exactly when you would die?

Thanks to modern science, every human being has become a ticking genetic time bomb—males only live to age twenty-five, and females only live to age twenty. In this bleak landscape, young girls are kidnapped and forced into polygamous marriages to keep the population from dying out.

When sixteen-year-old Rhine Ellery is taken by the Gatherers to become a bride, she enters a world of wealth and privilege. Despite her husband Linden's genuine love for her, and a tenuous trust among her sister wives, Rhine has one purpose: to escape—to find her twin brother and go home.

But Rhine has more to contend with than losing her freedom. Linden's eccentric father is bent on finding an antidote to the genetic virus that is getting closer to taking his son, even if it means collecting corpses in order to test his experiments. With the help of Gabriel, a servant Rhine is growing dangerously attracted to, Rhine attempts to break free, in the limited time she has left.

Review: Wither was truly horrifying, but I mean that in the best possible way.

But this horrifying concept of human trafficking was delivered in a great, addictive way.

While I was reading this I could literally feel the mood, I was sucked into it. It made the book more awful, awful concept not book, but it also made the book more real, and much more memorable. I know, for a fact, that I will always remeber this.

I loved being there along with Rhine and her sister wives and watching them fight for themselves and defend themselves. Reading about their everyday life was exciting yet very melancholy because they are prisoners.

Rhine, just by herself was stunning. She was strong and brave, wanting to get away. But she has this vulnerable air, making her real.

I really liked Gabriel, the servant that Rhine grows attached too. And while I knew that Linden was extremely sheltered and stupid in the ways of the world, he still wasn't my favorite.

The ending was, well, bittersweet, if I had to describe it. At least there was no cliffhanger! But I can't wait to see what happens to Rhine!

I wish that I could do this book justice, but sadly a review can't do that!

Sunday, March 27, 2011

In My Mailbox (23)

IMM is hosted by The Story Siren.

I didn't buy any books this week! But I still got some!


  • Airhead by Meg Cabot!!!!!! I LOVE THIS BOOK! This is my first Meg Cabot book, and when I finished it last night, I knew I was in love! Going to get the sequel this afternoon, from the library!
  • Along For the Ride by Sarah Dessen. I haven't read any Sarah Dessen and I'm very eager to start!
  • And just because I have to read a biography for school, The Life of Dolley Madison by Richard N. Cote. I really like Dolley!
E-book from the library:

Jinx by Meg Cabot. YAY!

From Simon and Schuster Galley Grab:

  • The Summer of Firsts and Lasts by Terra Elan McVoy
  • Wrapped by Jennifer Bradbury
  • Between Here and Forever by Elizabeth Scott
  • Sixteenth Summer by Michelle Dalton
So excited to read these! Between Here and Forever will be my first Elizabeth Scott book!
And Sixteenth Summer is really good, so far!

What did you get this week?!

Saturday, March 26, 2011

Blog Happenings (18)

I'm in a much better mood today! If you read my Follow Friday, you'd know that I've been a bit discouraged by blogging. I'm a little bit better today. But I'll talk about it later!

But, first I have a very important announcement. And don't worry, I'm not going to stop blogging or something ridiculous like that. But this is important.

I'm going on a book buying ban. It is going to be hard but after my buying spree on spring break, I decided it would be a very good idea to stop buying books!

I do have a few pre-orders coming, like Shades of Gray, City of Fallen Angels and Overprotected. But those don't count!

And I will only break it once to buy Divergent by Veronica Roth because I need to read it! Sooo excited for it.

In book related stuff, I'm reading Stay on my nook. And Airhead by Meg Cabot which I love. Meg Cabot is awesome, this is my first book by her!

So in being tired of blogging, I'm just tired of getting on the computer and typing up reviews. It makes me happy but I feel like my efforts are for nothing! But I'll get through it. And I feel so out of place in the "blogging community." Whenever I comment on blogs, I'm afraid I sound like a little kid and my reviews are too immature. So no one takes time to read them.

OH WELL! I'm sure I'll be much, much better by next week!

I don't blame you if you didn't read this, but at least you know how I feel!

Have a great weekend!!

Friday, March 25, 2011

Follow Friday (11)

It's FRIDAY! I swear I never been this happy to see a a Friday in my life! This week has been awful, in terms of life and blogging. Just plain awful! I could have pulled my hair out. I'm seriously sick of blogging, but you'll get to hear more of that in book happenings tomorrow!

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee's View.

This week's question is:
Inspired by the inane twitter trend of #100factsaboutme, give us five BOOK RELATED silly facts about you.

  1. I start reading a book, then I stop, then I read another book and repeat the process over again. Possibly 2 to 3 times, before I finally settle on a book.
  2. I love reading on a treadmill or bike. But it also sucks because I can't read when I run.
  3. I don't use bookmarks. Like ever. I have about a million but I just use random things, like right now holding my spot in Airhead by Meg Cabot, which is an awesome book, is an empty gum pack. I'm also an obsessive gum chewer, I chew it everywhere! Not that, that relates!
  4. On my bookshelves books are not shelved by author. They are shelved by color...which I understand is really, really weird but it looks good that way!
  5. And finally, I read in the weirdest places. Seriously, some are too weird to share on the Internet, trust me, they are weird! And I'm not willing to share them!

I'm pretty sure you all know how crazy I am now! Oops...didn't want to get that one out.
I can't wait to go around to some other blogs, and meet some new blogger!
P.S.: I'm sorry I'm posting this so late I'm going to go and visit blogs tomorrow, since it is soo late!

Thursday, March 24, 2011

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

Title: The Summer I Turned Pretty
Author: Jenny Han
Publisher: Simon and Schuster Children's Publishing
Publication Date: May 5, 2009
Source: Library

Summary: Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer--they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one terrible and wonderful summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.

Review: Jenny Han has created something special, something memorable and I can't wait to travel to Cousins again.
The Summer I Turned Pretty was so heartwarming and so very real. Don't even read the rest of this review, just go out or order yourself a copy because you're in for a real treat!
I loved Belly and the setting she created for me. It was just plain addictive to read about her and all her buddies! Conrad, Jeremiah and her mom and their mom! It was amazing, but at the same time sad. There was some heavy stuff going on. And I almost wish it wasn't in there but it wouldn't be the same with out it.
And who do I want, exactly for Belly? Probably Conrad, but Jeremiah is a sweetheart but Conrad is just…special. I love the idea of falling for two brothers who are basically polar opposites.
I'm so glad the sequels out, I don't think I'd be able to wait otherwise!


Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (9)

Divergent by Veronica Roth
May 3, 2011

Summary: In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.
During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.
If I said I was excited for this...I'd be lying. I'm super excited for it!! Ever since Cicely over and Cicely Loves Books read it and loved it, May can't come fast enough!! And it has a beautiful cover!

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Top Read Authors

Today, I'm going to do something that might be interesting to some but not to others! I'm going to show you my top something read authors. Some other blogs have done this like The Story Siren and Word for Teens. And I love reading them, so I though it would be cool to show you might be a little surprised!

  1. Lois Gladys Leppard, author of the Mandie Series and other various books about the character. I've read 41 of her books. Their elementary level Christian fiction. I read them in about 3rd and 4th grade.
  2. Lauraine Snelling, author of many, many Adult Christian Fiction books. I've read 22 of her books, soon to be 23. She has some contemporary but I only read her historical fiction
  3. Lynn Morris, along with Gilbert Morris. A Christian Fiction writing team who have wrote multiple books together. 11 of their books.
  4. D.J. MacHale, author of the Pendragon Series and others. I loved this series when I was in 5th Grade! 10 of his books.
  5. Margret Peterson Haddix, author of many books, my favorite being Running Out of Time. 9 of her books.
  6. Anthony Horowitz, author of the Alex Rider Series...I LOVE these books. Seriously it must be the spies. I can't wait for the final one which comes out today...possibly. Read 7 of his books
  7. Rick Riordan, James Patterson, Frewin Jones, and Lois Walfred Johnson, who wrote my favorite some of my favorite books, as a kid, again Christian fiction. They all tie for 6 books.
Then 11th place is Marlene Perez, Ally Carter, Anna Godbersen and Stephanie Meyer tie for 5 books. Then the rest is just a lot of ties.

What I find really interesting is that my top three are Christian Fiction, I never really realized I read that much of it!

Hope you enjoyed this!

Monday, March 21, 2011

The Charmed Return by Frewin Jones

Title: The Charmed Return (Faerie Path #6)
Author: Frewin Jones
Publiser: Harper Teen
Publication Date: Januaray 25, 2011
Source: Library

Summary: The thrilling conclusion to the Faerie Path series, in which Tania, the long-lost princess of Faerie, ultimately must choose between her two worlds.
She was once a princess of Faerie, the seventh daughter of King Oberon. But sixteen-year-old Anita Palmer wakes up in London with no memory of the Faerie Realm; her princess identity; her true love, Edric; or her quest to save Faerie from a deadly plague that ravaged it. Anita must reawaken Tania, her Faerie self…but how? And who can she trust when not even her memories are safe? Her quest leads to a thrilling final battle, with her own destiny—as well as the fate of both Faerie and the Mortal World—at stake.

Review: The Charmed Return is the last book in the Faerie Path Series and while I'm a touch sad to see it go, I'm glad it's over.

The Charmed Return, if I recall right, is not as good as its predecessors. Maybe my reading level or expectations weren't as high as they are now, but I still remember loving them. I didn't come very close to loving this one at all, liking it a little would be more accurate.

I felt very distant from all the characters, especially Tania. It felt like I was reading about characters I barely knew, they were just characters in a book, and I don't encounter that too often.

And the plot was, well, boring. It was hard to stick with and hard to get into. Also some of the things the characters said annoyed me, I know that they're across the pond but I really don't think people say things like "far out." If I remember correctly what one character said!

I'm not going to make this review too long because no one needs me to complain too much but just know that this was a semi-likable ending to a good series.

Sunday, March 20, 2011

In My Mailbox (22)

So sorry this is late! I've been doing a lot of other starts tomorrow!

IMM is hosted by The Story Siren!!

I went a little overboard...

I'm just going to list the titles. But, I'm excited for every single one of these! Well except the ones I've already read and loved, Babe in Boyland and Angelfire!
  • Wishful Thinking by Alexandra Bullen
  • Afterlife by Claudia Gray
  • Where I Belong by Gwendolyn Heasley
  • Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulten
  • Vanished (Bind-Up) by Meg Cabot
  • Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen
  • Steel by Carrie Vaughn
  • Babe in Boyland by Jody Gehrman
  • Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg
  • Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr
  • Dark Mirrror by M.J. Putney
  • Beastly by Alex Flinn (MOVIE COVER!!)
  • Deception by Lee Nichols

Body Finder and Angelfire SIGNED!!

Afterlife signed! Bought signed copy of Wicked Lovely!


What did you get this week??!

Friday, March 18, 2011

Favorite Covers (2)

Happy Friday! This is the last favorite covers!!

But I do get to feature one really special book!!

The Midnight Tunnel: A Suzanna Snow Mystery by Angie Frazier! I love all of her books!

Here is the online cover:

When I first saw this cover I was a little bit hesitant. It looked really middle grade, which it is. And which makes sense. But I went through this period where I hated this cover, but then I changed my mind.

When I got my own copy, I fell in love...Below are some pictures that I look of my copy, this book is seriously cool!!

Here is just a shot of the cover!

I lettering on RAISED!! Everything is raised!! Holy Buckets, it is awesome! Did I just say Holy Buckets? Eek! And that is my whole hand not just a finger, because that would be a big finger.

And inside the book is even more awesome! A map of Zanna's little world. I loved it!
Here's a closer look and can anyone spot the Midnight Tunnel?

So, I think you all can see why I love this cover, and the book so much!

Why Haven't I . . . (2)

Happy Weekend everyone!
Today, like Favorite Covers yesterday, is the last one of its kind! Enjoy!

Why Haven't I . . . is a feature in which I show books in which I haven't read but really should. Plus show off my true craziness!

This week's pick is: The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass. So far...!

Again, I have all these books, so no excuse! And yes people I had hear you out there screaming, "What kind of idiot is this chick?" I think the same things everyday. Not really. But ... never mind.

Back to books! Some people love these, some people don't.

I've heard them referred to as the most awesome books ever, I've also heard them called fan fiction piles of crap. can see my dilemma.

But personally I think they are going to be awesome, it is just the act of removing them off the shelf, and then sitting down and reading them.

Anyone love this series, hate it??!

Thursday, March 17, 2011

Very Important!

Hey guys,

Happy St. Patricks Day! I've always wanted to be Irish…

Anyway, I have some burning questions that I need to ask you!

I'm going to a book signing, and I was wondering if it was acceptable
to bring other books for the authors to sign, books that I have
already purchased.

I will be buying books though too.

So basically I was was wondering if that was ok!?

Thanks so much!

If you are going to the Dark Days of Winter signing in Naperville look for a semi short blonde girl with an FBI sweatshirt! That's me! Thanks so much!

Dead Is Not An Option by Marlene Perez

Title: Dead is Not an Option
Author: Marlene Perez
Publisher: Graphia Originals
Publication Date: May 2, 2011
Source: Big Thanks to NetGalley!

Summary: It’s springtime of senior year, and psychic sleuth Daisy Giordano is preparing to say goodbye to Nightshade High. But no college acceptance letters have arrived yet, and she’s beginning to worry about where she’ll end up come fall—and if it will be anywhere near her boyfriend, Ryan. But that’s not the only uncertainty Daisy’s dealing with. There’s a vamps-versus-shifters war going on in Nightshade, and things are so tense that there is talk of canceling the prom. The conflict is carrying over to the Giordano home, since Rose and Daisy are both dating werewolves and Poppy’s new boyfriend is a vampire.
Can the paranormal community in Nightshade finally find peace? And will Daisy and her friends survive graduation? All of these questions and more are answered in the explosive final installment in the Dead Is series.

Review: Dead is Not an Option was a very good wrap up to the Dead is Series. I felt like all my questions had been answered and I can now put this series behind me. Plus I do not have to worry about some dying question! Dying...Dead?! Sorry!

Even though this final installment was quite predictable, I still had a fun time reading it. I don't quite know what draws me to this series, but they're my light, fluffy reads where I enjoy trying to solve the mystery within the first few chapters. I don't mean to be overly critical but it isn't hard to solve.

I wish we would have seen Daisy and Ryan's develop a little bit more, but most of the book was devoted to defeating The Scrouge once and for all.

I liked the way the was this specific book ended but some things were just a little sudden and hadn't sunken in, and then BAM! the book was over.

If you've read this series so far, I'd say read this one. And if you haven't read any yet, only read them if you're deadly curious, they aren't really worth your time. Look I made another pun!

Rating: 3.5 stars

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (8)

Happy Wednesday!

Wow is hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine!

This week's pick is:

Bumped by Megan McCafferty
April 26, 2011

Summary: When a virus makes everyone over the age of eighteen infertile, would-be parents are forced to pay teen girls to conceive and give birth to their children, making teens the most prized members of society.
Sixteen-year-old identical twins Melody and Harmony were separated at birth and had never met until the day Harmony shows up on Melody’s doorstep. Until now, the twins have followed completely opposite paths. Melody has scored an enviable conception contract with a couple called the Jaydens. While they are searching for the perfect partner for Melody to bump with, she is fighting her attraction to her best friend Zen, who is way too short for the job.
Harmony has spent her whole life in religious Goodside, preparing to be a wife and mother. She believes her calling is to bring Melody back to Goodside and convince her that “pregging” for profit is a sin. But Harmony has secrets of her own that she is running from.
When Melody is finally matched with the world-famous, genetically flawless Jondoe, both girls’ lives are changed forever. A case of mistaken identity takes them on a journey neither could have ever imagined, one that makes Melody and Harmony realize they have so much more than just DNA in common.
I don't quite know why I want to read this, but it just looks really interesting and good. I can't wait to see where the author takes the idea in the book! And I have it from NetGalley should I'll read it soon!

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Teaser Tuesday (3)

Happy Tuuesday Everyone!

Teaer Tuesday is hosted by MizB of Should be Reading!

•Grab your current read
•Open to a random page
•Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
•BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

Teaser: "But the guests were always correct. This was on one the many rules of hospitality my parents seemed bent on pounding into my brain." -The Midnight Tunnel: A Suzanna Snow Mystery by Angie Frazier

I LOVE this book!

Monday, March 14, 2011

Angel Burn by L.A Weatherly

Title: Angel Burn
Author: L.A. Weatherly
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Publication Date: May 4, 2011 (Already released in UK)
Source: Special Thanks to NetGalley!!

Summary: Willow knows she’s different from other girls, and not just because she loves tinkering with cars. Willow has a gift. She can look into the future and know people’s dreams and hopes, their sorrows and regrets, just by touching them. She has no idea where this power comes from. But the assassin, Alex, does. Gorgeous, mysterious Alex knows more about Willow than Willow herself. He knows that her powers link to dark and dangerous forces, and that he’s one of the few humans left who can fight them. When Alex finds himself falling in love with his sworn enemy, he discovers that nothing is as it seems, least of all good and evil. In the first book in an action-packed, romantic trilogy, L.A. Weatherly sends readers on a thrill-ride of a road trip — and depicts the human race at the brink of a future as catastrophic as it is deceptively beautiful.

Review: I was not expecting this book, not at all. I thought I would get some stuffy, boring angel book like all the others, filled with not so angelic guardian angels, and annoying fallen angels. I didn't get that at all. I got a beautiful book that I toar through in 2 days. And enjoyed every second that I got to spend reading.

One of the things that I really liked about this book was Weatherly's idea of angels. In Angel Burn angels are  evil creatures that had come to earth to feed on humans. They weren't from Heaven or anywhere else, they lived in their own world, a separate dimension. And I thought this was really unique! Plus it provided a great plot and story line.

And then we have Willow, I love Willow, there was just something really special about her, and I instantly connected with her. She was a really great person. I loved how she was just so caring, and just plain awesome.

Alex. I've always liked the name Alex, and I've also think guys who can shoot a gun are hot. (And I mean good guys, like police officers.) Plus, Alex is also like the sexiest guy ever, and the sweetest. Can anyone tell that I'm in love, with a fictional character? Who cares! He and Willow were something special, and I loved all their scenes together. I swear I could see sparks flying.

I was kept captivated that whole book, and was emotionally invested in it. It was just that good! I'd recommend it in a flash.

And guess who will be ordering from The Book Depository in October to get the second book? I wonder...


Sunday, March 13, 2011

In My Mailbox (21)

Happy Sunday all!

IMM is hosted by The Story Siren. Would anyone mind linking it over there? If not, that's fine.

I downloaded We'll Always Have Summer by Jenny Han from Simon and Schuster Galley Grab.

I purchased:
Sorry about the glare on the books!

  • Love, Inc. by Yvonne Collins and Sandy Rideout! This book looks sooo cute! I can't wait to read it!
  • It's Not Summer Without You by Jenny Han! I'm going to start this one soon!
  • Timeless by Alexandra Monir. I'm really excited about reading this, I love time travel!
That's all for me, what did you get??!

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Why Haven't I . . . (1)

It's Saturday everyone, and in order to show everyone how crazy I am I decided to post books I haven't read yet, and frankly am scared to read, in case they aren't as good as everyone says!

This week's pick is: The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa

The Iron King, The Iron Daughter, and The Iron Queen

Is it incredibly stupid that I haven't read this series yet, and I remain hesitant!

You would think after seeing soo many great reviews for it, I would pick it up.

I don't even have the excuse of not having them, well I don't have the last one yet but I have enough to get me started!

What is MY PROBLEM??? If I don't have these read by the end of the summer, then...

Has anyone ever hesitated from reading a book just because everyone said it was amazing??

Friday, March 11, 2011

Favorite Covers (1)

It's Friday, yay! I feel awful about only having 2 reviews a week, but we have to do whatever!

Anyway, I'm starting this little "thing" were I'm going to show you my favorite covers, but there will probably only be two of these little features, which I'm sure you won't mind!

Two covers that I absouletely love are Firelight and Vanish by Sophie Jordan!

Both are extremely beatufiul and they GO together! I love the cover scheme and just the way everything is layed out. Below are the covers and summaries!

A hidden truth.

Mortal enemies.

Doomed love.

Marked as special at an early age, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. But she longs for freedom to make her own choices. When she breaks the most sacred tenet among her kind, she nearly pays with her life. Until a beautiful stranger saves her. A stranger who was sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki—a descendant of dragons whose greatest defense is her secret ability to shift into human form.

Forced to flee into the mortal world with her family, Jacinda struggles to adapt to her new surroundings. The only bright light is Will. Gorgeous, elusive Will who stirs her inner draki to life. Although she is irresistibly drawn to him, Jacinda knows Will's dark secret: He and his family are hunters. She should avoid him at all costs. But her inner draki is slowly slipping away—if it dies she will be left as a human forever. She'll do anything to prevent that. Even if it means getting closer to her most dangerous enemy.
Mythical powers and breathtaking romance ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide.

To save the life of the boy she loves, Jacinda did the unthinkable: She betrayed the most closely-guarded secret of her kind. Now she must return to the protection of her pride knowing she might never see Will again—and worse, that because his mind has been shaded, Will’s memories of that fateful night and why she had to flee are gone.

Back home, Jacinda is greeted with hostility and must work to prove her loyalty for both her sake and her family’s. Among the few who will even talk to her are Cassian, the pride’s heir apparent who has always wanted her, and her sister, Tamra, who has been forever changed by a twist of fate. Jacinda knows that she should forget Will and move on—that if he managed to remember and keep his promise to find her, it would only endanger them both. Yet she clings to the hope that someday they will be together again. When the chance arrives to follow her heart, will she risk everything for love?

In bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s dramatic follow-up to Firelight, forbidden love burns brighter than ever.

Thursday, March 10, 2011

The Demon Trapper's Daughter by Jana Oliver

Title: The Demon Trapper's Daughter
Author: Jana Oliver
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Publication: February 1, 2011
Source: Ordered from Barnes and Noble

Summary: Seventeen-year-old Riley, the only daughter of legendary Demon Trapper, Paul Blackthorne, has always dreamed of following in her father's footsteps.  The good news is, with human society seriously disrupted by economic upheaval and Lucifer increasing the number of demons in all major cities, Atlanta’s local Trappers’ Guild needs all the help they can get – even from a girl. When she’s not keeping up with her homework or trying to manage her growing crush on fellow apprentice, Simon, Riley’s out saving distressed citizens from foul-mouthed little devils – Grade One Hellspawn only, of course, per the strict rules of the Guild. Life’s about as normal as can be for the average demon-trapping teen.
But then a Grade Five Geo-Fiend crashes Riley’s routine assignment at a library, jeopardizing her life and her chosen livelihood.  And, as if that wasn’t bad enough, sudden tragedy strikes the Trappers’ Guild, spinning Riley down a more dangerous path than she ever could have imagined. As her whole world crashes down around her, who can Riley trust with her heart – and her life?

Review: This book was amazing, epic, wonderful and as many good adjectives you want to use. Seriously, maybe you shouldn't even read this review, just go get it!

I loved Riley so much. She was easy to connect with, and she felt so real. She was fun to read about. Reading about Riley was like relaxing in a hot tub, with a few disturbances by demons. And Riley was brave but at the same time very vunerable and real.

As for Simon or Beck, I love both of them but I have a soft spot for Beck. He was just the greatest backwoods boy ever!  But Simon was great too. I can't wait to see what happens with Riley and them!

I loved the mythology about the demons, but I would like to know more about how they came to earth and such. But otherwise reading about all the different kind of demons and the demon trapping world was a a truly pleasurable experience. And I love how this was set in Atlanta, it was a really cool setting, that I enjoyed reading about.

And I LOVED reading about Riley demon trapping, and her day to day life.

What a magnificent start to a series!!

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (7)

Happy Wednesday, all! Today is the last day of school before break, for me!
WoW is hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine!

This week's pick is:

The Pledge by Kimberly Derting
November 15, 2011

Summary: Words are the most dangerous weapon of all.

In the violent country of Ludania, the classes are strictly divided by the language they speak. The smallest transgression, like looking a member of a higher class in the eye while they are speaking their native tongue, results in immediate execution. Seventeen-year-old Charlaina has always been able to understand the languages of all classes, and she’s spent her life trying to hide her secret. The only place she can really be free is the drug-fueled underground clubs where people go to shake off the oppressive rules of the world they live in. It's there that she meets a beautiful and mysterious boy named Max who speaks a language she's never heard before . . . and her secret is almost exposed.

Charlie is intensely attracted to Max, even though she can’t be sure where his real loyalties lie. As the emergency drills give way to real crisis and the violence escalates, it becomes clear that Charlie is the key to something much bigger: her country’s only chance for freedom from the terrible power of a deadly regime.

Just a couple of words. . .It is Kimberly Derting, and she is an amazing author. Plus it sounds positively amazing. November, November, why aren't you here yet? And why can't I time travel!??

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Teaser Tuesday (2)

Happy Tuesday, everyone!

Teaser Tuesday is hosted by MizB of Should be Reading!

  • Grab your current read

  • Open to a random page

  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page

  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

  • Teaser:

    "Real panic set in as black spots danced before my eyes. I had to breathe." -Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins

    Be sure to link your teasers so I can read them!!

    Monday, March 7, 2011

    Desires of the Dead by Kimberly Derting

    Title: Desires of the Dead
    Author: Kimberly Derting
    Publisher: Harper Collins
    Publication Date: February 15, 2011
    Source: Bought

    Summary:  The missing dead call to Violet. They want to be found.

    Violet can sense the echoes of those who've been murdered—and the matching imprint that clings to their killers. Only those closest to her know what she is capable of, but when she discovers the body of a young boy she also draws the attention of the FBI, threatening her entire way of life.
    As Violet works to keep her morbid ability a secret, she unwittingly becomes the object of a dangerous obsession. Normally she'd turn to her best friend, Jay, except now that they are officially a couple, the rules of their relationship seem to have changed. And with Jay spending more and more time with his new friend Mike, Violet is left with too much time on her hands as she wonders where things went wrong. But when she fills the void by digging into Mike's tragic family history, she stumbles upon a dark truth that could put everyone in danger.

    Review: How does one review a sequel to her favorite book? That question is best to be left unanswered because not even the reviewer knows how to do this.

    I loved Desires of the Dead! I really did love it, and I enjoyed every page, every sentence, every word, and every letter. That is how much I love it. It was a great sequel to The Body Finder.

    Desires of the Dead is less suspenseful mainly because in this book Violet's relationship with her special ability is explored and the emotional trauma of having to deal with finding dead bodies all the time. And not being able to forget about them. And I liked it, I really did. It was so different then The Body Finder you can't even really compare the two of them.

    It is so hard not to like Violet. We see her in her most vulnerable states and we see her when she's at her best, and she is one wonderful character. And her and Jay's relationship got even better in this book, they are such a beautiful couple.

    The plot was very good, and I was wrapped up in it, not wanting to put the book down! I loved seeing how everything played out and was very satisfied with everything in the end.

    Reading Desires of the Dead was a great experience, in which I got to see my favorite characters, and enjoy a new mystery written in Ms. Derting's wonderful style. But it was a touch melancholy too, as this review seems to be. I guess it's because I got to see all the characters mature and become something better. And I can't quite put a finger on why, but it just felt so good to read this book.


    Sunday, March 6, 2011

    In My Mailbox (20)

    Happy Sunday everyone!

    IMM is hosted by The Story Siren!

    This was an awesome week for books!

    • Strings Attached by Judy Blundell. This looks amazing, it's historical fiction and about gangsters and mobs and such!!
    • Desires of the Dead by Kimberly Derting!! LOVE THIS!! If you haven't read this series, you are missing out!
    • Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins! I'm currently reading this and it is just plain great!
    • Clarity by Kim Harrington. Gee, I love this book too! Super Great!
    • The Liar Society by Lisa and Laura Roecker! Looks awesome, can't wait to read it!
    • The Midnight Tunnel by Angie Frazier!!! I read this yesterday and I'm in love. Seriously this was a great mystery!
    • And the swag, signed Unearthly bookmark and bookplate from Cynthia Hand!!

    Hmm, what's this???!

    And the Books I got from NetGalley!
    • Hereafter by Tara Hudson
    • Die for me by Amy Plum
    • The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson
    • Bumped by Megan McCafferty
    • Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini
    Super excited to read all of those!

    What did you get!?

    Saturday, March 5, 2011

    Blog Happenings (17)

    This will be the last Blog Happenings for awhile! Oh no! I'm sure you're all really, really disappointed!

    This week was an absolutely awesome week in terms of books. I got quite a few, which you'll see tomorrow. All of them I'm was super excited for, too!

    And so many great books came out this week too! Like, Demonglass, Clarity, and The Liar Society to name a few!

    I also read quite a few books this week too! I finished Wither by Lauren Destefano, The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han and Clarity by Kim Harrington. All of them 5 stars and AMAZING! Especially Clarity!!

    And today, if I read correctly the summary for The Pledge by Kimberly Derting is being released! It might already go check!

    I'm currently reading Evernight and Demonglass! Great books so far, both of them!

    And for the cover unveiling:

    Beautiful Chaos by Kami Gracia and Margret Stohl

    I don't know, I sort of like it! The gold looks dull, online. But apparently the letters are going to be in gold foiling?! Which would be amazing!

    You've heard me blabber enough for one day, back to doing bloggy stuff!

    Have a great weekend!

    P.S. I don't have as much homework this weekend!!

    Look what I just found:

    Related Posts with Thumbnails
    Blog Design By Use Your Imagination Designs Inspired by Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater