Friday, December 31, 2010

Readthon Wrap-up!

Hi.
Sorry to Bombard you with another post for the day, but I figured I'd do a Wrap-up post for the readathon, even if it doesn't end for like 6 more hours, well at least where I'm at.

But I did finish almost all of my books, except Carter Finally Gets It by Brent Crawford, I'm going to read it when I'm more in the mood...I'm just going to spend the rest of New Year's Eve with my family and have some fun!

But I did finish all my other books for the readathon.
Here they are:
  • Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
  • Dead is a so last Year by Marlene Perez
  • Dead is just a Rumor by Marlene Perez
  • A Match Made in High School by Kristin Walker
  • Delirium by Lauren Oliver
I just finished Delirium and I'm in a state between where my heart is heavy and where I just want to bawl my head off. I don't usually cry during books, I just don't for some reason. It's not that I don't feel them or anything I just don't! But I cried during the last couple of pages of Delirium and so hard I could hardly see the screen (of my Nook). Lauren Oliver such writes powerful books! I'm so excited for the second book, it's not even funny. I have to know what happens.

That's all for now guys, but tomorrow in edition to My Favorite books of 2010, I'll post a challenge wrap-up for the 2010 Debut Author Challenge and anything else. So stay tuned!

P.S. I feel even more sad knowing this is my last post of the year!

Follow Friday (3)

Hi!
Happy New Year's Eve Everyone! Hope 2011 is better than 2010 for you!

Follow me Friday is hosted by Parajunkee's View!



 
This Week's Question is:
 What are your new years book blogging resolutions?
 
  1. Comment More! I've recently tried to start doing this but sometimes I just don't have time. I'm going to try and comment on about 10 or so blogs a day...
  2. Read More! I know I read about 100 books this year, but I still feel like I could do better. 
  3. Post Regularly. I know I already do this, to an extreme but I need to keep it up.
  4. Author Interviews..I don't know though. I'm not exactly the most courageous person ever. 
That's all I can think of for now!

Recent Posts:

Tomorrow:
My Top 10 Books of 2010

ENJOY!

Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Hi!
Happy New Year's Ever! Are you going to stay up to midnight?? I might, just maybe. I do like to sleep...lol

Title: Anna and the French Kiss

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Rating: 5 ++++++++ stars

Review: Anna is dreading her senior year. It might  not actually be so bad if she didn't have to spend it in Paris. Because that sucks since she won't have any friends there. But as Anna gives school in Paris a try she actually finds herself liking it and liking someone else. As Anna explores the beautiful city of Paris, will she ever find her true love? And at the end of the year, what will she actually have to show for it?

WARNING: IN THIS REVIEW THE BOOK REVIEWER WILL GO TOTAL FAN GIRL. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK.

I'm going to actually try and me a little sane in this review, but I don't think that's going to happen. Here goes nothing.

If I had to describe Anna and the French Kiss in three words, those words would be: Perfect, Romantic and A Must Read. (I know that isn't three.)

It was perfect and I don't want to ruin the awesomeness of this book by going on and on about how wonderful the characters were, how awesome the plot was, and how spectacular the romance was. Or even how breath taking the setting was. And that was all amazing, let me tell you.

But just let me tell you a few quick things: Stephanie Perkins is (Do I really want to say the man? Because she obviously isn't a man....?) Well in short she is the best author. LIKE EVER! I mean how is this book a Debut? Seriously? It was sooo good. I even did a couple of embarrassing things on GoodReads like this:

"I don't ever want this to end!!!!! I LOVE IT SOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Hmmm....I will let you all ponder my silliness for a moment.

But I can't finish this review without saying how much I loved Anna and √Čtienne. And all the rest of the characters. They were all flawed but so awesome.

I LOVE THIS BOOK, GO READ IT NOW.

No I don't care what you have to do to go read it NOW, JUST GO!

If you couldn't read that, it's probably for the best.

Thursday, December 30, 2010

The Thirteenth Chime by Emma Michaels

Hi!
Can you believe the year's almost over? I can't. This year has certainly been great especially  in terms of books. I don't think I'll get to posting my favorites of the year, this year. But on the 1st and 2nd of January they should be up. But the rest of 2010 will be full of reviews! YAY!

Title: The Thirteenth Chime

Author: Emma Michaels

Rating: 5 stars

Review: Destiny planned a fun break with her best friend Stephanie, but her plans are ruined when Stephanie and her Mother are attacked in their house with Destiny watching. Not knowing what to do, Destiny calls her ex-boyfriend, David, to come out and help her solve this weird occurrence. Because Destiny knows this wasn't a normal attack. Together David and Destiny have to figure out what happened in that house, that fateful night without getting hurt themselves.

Two Words: Creepy and Awesome!

I don't know what is was about this book that made me rush through it and made me almost die to know the end, but I really, really loved it!

The mystery is probably what made the book for me, and while the writing was simple I enjoyed that too.

I don't know if I've said this before but there needs to be a lot for mysteries in YA. There are but most are all paranormal. I wouldn't exactly call this book a paranormal but it sure is creepy enough to be one.

The Thirteenth Chime scared me, it was just so creepy and it felt so real. Maybe it's just because I have a Grandfather Clock but I don't know...It was good though!

David and Stephanie were the best characters. I liked that most of the book centered around David, he was just a really sweet guy. Destiny was alright but was really moody and I didn't like what she did to David...Alrighty no spoilers.

This was a great debut that makes me want so much more!

Wednesday, December 29, 2010

13 to Life by Shannon Delany

Hi! It's Wednesday, and while I'm still stressed, I can't actually write half-decent book reviews again! Yes! Actually my review for Other wasn't bad but I was in a foul mood.

Title: 13 to Life

Author: Shannon Delany

Rating: 5 stars

Review: When Jess Gillmansen's Mother died, her world was torn apart. Now months later Jess is still trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life by being nice to others and trying to make them happy. When a new Russian boy moves into Junction, Jess's town, she's his "tour guide." Pietr is not at all what he seems and Jess only has so much time to figure out all the answers.

Oh, I loved this book! It was juts awesome and I was drawn in from the very beginning!

Jess was a wonderful character and I knew she was going to be one strong heroine! And she was. I felt all that she had went through and everything about Jess was just so perfect. I'm not sure if that's the right word since Jess was certainly not perfect, but reading about her was a perfect experience maybe.. I'm having a hard time reviewing this book, I loved it so much.

The romance between Pietr and Jess was so sweet and real. I enjoyed every moment they spent together! The one thing though was that they both lied to Sarah about their relationship. Hopefully this resolves in the sequel though. Sarah is a friend of Jess, just in case you were wondering.

Everything unfolded very nicely but left a little cliffhanger that is making me very anxious for the sequel!

This is such a amazing debut and I can't wait to see what Delany has in store.

And what about the title? Am I missing something? I just don't get it.

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Books to Read during the Readathon!

Hi!
As you might all know I'm participating in the Out With A Bang Readathon Hosted by The Bookish Type and Book Savvy. Here's my list of books that I HOPE to read. I'll probably finish about 1or 2! I already finished 2010 Debut Author Challenge, but I'm still reading Debuts!



  • Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (FINISHED!)
  • A Match Made in High School by Kristen Walker (Finished)
  • Delirium by Lauren Oliver
 

  • Carter Finally Gets it by Brent Crawford
  • Dead is So Last Year by Marlene Perez (Finished)
  • Dead is Just a Rumor by Marlene Perez (Finished)

Other by Karen Kincy

Hi!
Happy Tuesday! I don't want to write a review, I'm sick of reviews! Yeah, I need to suck it up but I'm tired and stressed about a project at school. Even though school's out, I'm still worrying because it's a movie about fashion for English (And what does that have to do with English?). All I can hope is that I get a good grade on it! Don't worry about the reviews, there will be one tomorrow. And then some stuff about my favorite reads of 2010 and such.

Title: Other

Author: Karen Kincy

Rating: 4 stars

Review: Gwen Williams has always lived with the fact she's an Other. A creature accepted in American Society but never less shunned. Gwen is a 50% Pooka, a shape-shifter. Having to deal with the pressures of being an Other and with a boyfriend who has no clue she's an Other, Gwen is overwhelmed when Others are being murdered around her small rural town. Gwen tries to figure out the murders but she won't succeed without being the killer's prey herself.

Other was another solid, strong debut that was highly enjoyable.

Gwen was a great character and I loved her! She was strong and funny. And she blogged, which was cool. And most importantly Gwen was unique, she was Other and I loved her for it.

There were quite a few supporting characters but I'd have to say my favorite was Tavian. I hope I'm spelling that right! He was funny, supportive, and he also blogged. Plus he was cute, and not in an adorable puppy way. Actually he was probably hot!

I love mysteries, so that was probably the main reason I picked this up but I was surprised by it entirely. It kept me reading and it kept me enthralled. It was amazing.

The one thing I didn't like, other than a few little things, was the negativity towards Christians. It was terrible, the way they were described in the book. It made Christians sounds like overbearing, prejudiced people who liked to shove their beliefs in your face. Umm...No? I'm not saying no Christians, or even people in general are like that because many are. But this really was a negative point in the book for me.

But anyways I would recommend this book to mystery and paranormal lovers alike!

Side Note: While the cover is gorgeous is freaks me out a little! I don't know why though.

Monday, December 27, 2010

Spotlight Monday: A Match Made in High School

Hi!
Sorry this is a little late in the day! There will be a review tomorrow, promise!

A Match Made in High School by Kristin Walker


Summary:

When the principal announces that every senior must participate in a mandatory year-long Marriage Education program, Fiona Sheehan believes that her life can't get any worse. Then she marries her “husband”: jerky jock Todd, whose cheerleader girlfriend, Amanda, has had it in for Fiona since day one of second grade. Even worse? Amanda is paired with Fiona's long-term crush, Gabe. At least Fiona is doing better than her best friend, Marcie, who is paired up with the very quiet, very mysterious Johnny Mercer.
Pranks, fights, misunderstandings, and reconciliations ensue in an almost Shakespearean comedy of errors about mistaken first impressions, convoluted coupling, and hidden crushes.

This sounds fun and just good! I just got it from the library, like an hour ago. And I will read it in the New Year! I also got Carter Finally Gets it by Brent Crawford, which is totally out of my comfort zone but I'm going to try it....

REVIEW TOMORROW! If I can write it!

Sunday, December 26, 2010

News!

Hi!
And Happy Sunday! I sure got everything I wanted for Christmas! I got a brand new spanking HD camera and......wait for it....drum roll please!

A NOOK COLOR!!!!!!! YAY!

Not to mention a billion books! Well maybe only like 11 but still!!! I was so excited! My NOOK is awesome, I already have a couple of books on it. And I managed to get my Books from NetGalley on there so I could read them!

I'll do an IMM post when they actually start back up again, and I still need to install the software for my new camera on my laptop.

Anyway, I'm reading 13 to Life!!!!! I LOVE this book! I should finish it soon!

I'm so busy so I'm not sure if there will be much posting next week, but I'll try.

After I finish 13 to Life, only one more book left till I finish the 2010 Debut Author Challenge. Well technically I did finish but I want to read all the books on my list!

So did anyone else get anything exciting for Christmas??

Saturday, December 25, 2010

Happy Holidays!

Merry Christmas And Happy Holidays!!

I hope everyone has a great day, Christmas or no! Remember the holidays just aren't about getting gifts they are about giving and spending time with your friends and family!

Anyways have a wonderful fun-filled day


Thursday, December 23, 2010

Christmas Wishlist!

Hi!

I know there was some meme this week about the ten books you want to see under your Christmas tree but I'm just hoping this is what's under my tree this Christmas!

1. The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
2. The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa
3. Losing Faith by Denise Jaden
4. Shadowed Summer by Saundra Mitchell
5. Enchanted Ivy by Sarah Beth Durst
6. Forgive my Fins by Tera Lynn Childs
7. The Dark Divine by Bree Despain
8. The Twins Daughter by Lauren Baratz-Logsted
9. As You Wish by Jackson Pearce
10. Impossible by Nancy Werlin
11. A bookcase!

I can't think of anymore at the moment, but after Christmas I am going shopping for a new bookcase! I am in desperate need of one! And I have the perfect place to put it!

I just can't seem to find the right one online, so I'm going to go out and look!
What do you want under your tree??!

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Whisper by Phoebe Kitanidis

Hi!
Happy Wednesday! I might be MIA for awhile but I will try to get some posts written this morning! Aren't you proud that I finished Whisper?!

Title: Whisper

Author: Phoebe Kitanidis

Rating: 4 stars

Review: Joy hears Whispers all the time from people around her. She hears their wishes, their desires and their fears. Joy tries to make people happy by listening in to their whispers, but by making people happy she makes herself very unhappy. When Joy's sister goes missing, Joy immediately realizes what she's going to have to do to make things right again; with her family and herself.

Whisper was a strong debut that I enjoyed reading. It had paranormal, mystery and some series family issues.

Whisper really made me think about the things I thought in my head, and what if my friends or others could hear them. I'm not mean, but it definitely has me thinking about what I think!

Some of the things Joy's friends whispered were terrible! I hope many people don't call their friends freaks! I mean really if you were friends with someone why would you say that?

Joy was an alright character from the beginning but she did get on my nerves a little. She was so sweet to others but terrible to Icka, her sister. But thankfully she gets much better and mature, finding out what she really wants and needs.

Her mom drove me nuts! But other than that I really like all the other supporting characters. Except her friends, but hopefully they get better. Jamie was such a sweet guy! I really want to see what happens with him and Joy in the future!

The plot while a little slow, finally picked up speed in the middle. It was unpredictable at points and I really enjoyed that. I really like how things played out towards the end and was very satisfied.

I am hoping there is going to be a sequel (I'm pretty sure there is) because I need to know what happens with Joy, Jamie and their powers!!

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

Hi!
Happy Tuesday!! Hope y'all are having a great day! Wait did I just say y'all? I must be in a good mood!

Title: Nightshade

Author: Andrea Cremer

Rating: 5 stars

Review: Calla Tor is a Guardian, or as more commonly refered to: a werewolf. She knows exactly what is going to happen with her life when she turns 18 in a matter of weeks. She'll marry Ren, who will be a alpha of their pack and they will fight as warriors together. But then Shay moves to town and shatters Calla's perfectly laid out plans, and presents Calla with questions she never knew she had. About her own little world, who she is, and especially what she wants.

For some reason I just loved this story, you think I'd be sick of paranormal love triangles, but for some messed up reason I'm not. And I am certainly not sick of werewolves.

Andrea Cremer does a great job with all the unique werewolf lore and habits. I enjoyed learning about the packs, how they formed and especially about the people that rule over the Guardians, The Keepers.

All the different characters were great! When we first got to know all the characters, I was a little confused at the flow of characters but soon I grew to like them all. A lot. They made the book all the more fun. Byrn and Ansel were my favorites! Mason and Neville were awesome too, I would say Logan but I didn't like him, it's just so nice to see gay characters in YA.

Now Calla was a good character, a little stereotypical of paranormal books, but not by much. Because I really like her too because she made the book so much better, just like the plot and all the additional characters did.

Now Shay or Ren? I don't know, I really don't but I have a feeling I'm heading a little towards Ren. He's just so awesome and just great, not to mention terribly hot. Shay while an okay dude, just wasn't doing it for me. I get that he's probably good for Calla but still....I like Ren. Well I don't think I'd care too much if she picked either on, but let's just say I'm a little undecided at the time. Hopefully Book Two, Wolfsbane, will clear this up for me!

Overall this was an amazing debut that I loved! Awesome characters and a great story!

Don't even get me started on that beautiful cover!!

Anyone else excited for Wolfsbane??!

Monday, December 20, 2010

A Struggling Reader

Hi!
I'm trying to read the rest of my 2010 Debut Author Challenge Books but I am just struggling through the two I'm reading right now. Other by Karen Kincy and Whisper by Phoebe Kitanidis. I like them but I'm not in the mood for reading them. I'm on page 127 out of 326 in Other. And page 144 out of 281. I was reading Other but got bored and started reading Whisper. Which I am now bored with It's not like Other was boring but I am boring and I needed a break! Also the same story with Whisper.

I feel like tearing by hair out! I need to finish at least one of them tomorrow. I want to read Delirium instead! I've read the first couple of chapters and I want to know more. I'm just so frustrated with myself and with books!

And I have so many other things I want to do before Wednesday. If I finish Whisper by tomorrow, then there better be a clap hear round the world. Oh whatever. We'll just see what happened tomorrow. Goodnight all.

Please Ignore the post tomorrow when I say I'm in a good mood. I wrote than before I realized what a lousy reader I was!

Good bye now!

2010 Survey!

Hi!
It's Monday and for once I'm not hating it because, there is no school! YAY!

So I made a survey over the weekend, about the books of 2010 and such! Please, pretty please participate, it would mean the world to me! Please! And since I didn't think anyone will, I decided to throw in a nice little prize, one lucky winner will win a book! I haven't decided which one yet, but I will let you know soon! It will most likely be a 2010 YA Debut! You will get a pick from a few options! This is not the Winter Break Challenge Giveaway, that will happen at a late date, if I finish.

Go Here to take the Survey.......please!

That's all for now! No Spotlight Monday Today, I thought I'd give it a little break.

Sunday, December 19, 2010

So.....

Hi!
So yesterday on my blog happenings post, I posted something that you might have taken the wrong way! Now don't get all freaked out on me, it wasn't anything bad, but I did get an email, asking me why I said this!

Here's what I said:
"Anyways, I finished Nightshade this morning.....Did I like it? Nope. If your friends with me on GoodReads, you should know exactly how I feel about this book! Review sometime soon!"

Does anyone see anything wrong with that? All I said was that I didn't like Nightshade, and if you were friends with me on GoodReads you knew how I felt! The thing is I didn't like Nightshade because, I LOVED IT! I was just joking around a little, and thats why I said the thing about GoodReads because I had rated it 5 stars there. I didn't mean to offend anyone!

So is that all cleared up? Most of you, if you even read my blog, probably didn't even notice it so I wasn't too worried but I thought I should just clear it up.

Out with a Bang Readathon!

Hi!
Happy Sunday, Again!

I am going to participate in the Out with a Bang Readathon hosted by Casey at The Bookish Type (Link to Post about Readathon)


 
I am so excited, let's hope I can get some major reading done! I plan to finish my Winter Break challenge thingy! YAY!

The Lying Game by Sara Shepard

Hi!
Today is Sunday, usually there is an IMM, but I didn't get any books this week....I feel so deprived! Well I should be getting lots of books on a certain special day next week! I asked for a lot of books..so maybe I will do a post of my "wish list" for the holidays!

Anyways here is my review, I am a little nervous since this is my first review for NetGalley! Tell me how I did!


Title: The Lying Game

Author: Sara Shepard

How Received: NetGalley

Rating: 4.5 stars

Review: Emma, has been in foster care ever since she was a little girl.  So When she sees a video of a girl being strangled that looks exactly like her, Emma jumps at the chance to find her hopefully long lost twin. But it seems like Sutton, her twin, is missing and isn't ever coming back. Which leaves Emma in her place, trying to figure out herself and the mysterious sister she will never know.

I don't know what to think about this book! I loved it and the mystery but sometimes I felt like I was so disconnected from Emma and I really didn't know who she really was.

But other than that I enjoyed this book immensely. I liked how the mystery played out, and even though we never got an answer at the end, I felt like I was guessing the whole time! There were so many twists and turns about who Emma thinks murdered her sister, that I couldn't even begin to guess who did it. Even when I thought I knew who did it, I was smacked in the face with yet another twist. Now that the book is over I even have a hunch to who murdered Sutton but don't expect me to share who!

I liked the characters, even though they weren't the best of people. Ethan was probably my favorite since he and Emma were the only "nice" people. All of Sutton's/Emma's friends were so mean! And the Lying Game was terrible! Those girls truly were mean.

I sorta liked but disliked how Sutton came in at random places and said things. Sometimes it was nice to hear what she was thinking but it was also distracting.

I understand that this plot line isn't exactly original for the author, but since I haven't read the Pretty Little Liars series I was okay with this. Still I love mysteries, I don't think this plot line could get too old for me.

Overall this was a very well written book that I really liked! The mystery was great! Sometimes I don't feel like there are enough mystery books out there for Young Adults!

I am anxiously awaiting the second book, Never have I Ever! Hurry up April!

I also loved how at the end the author said that you should never try the pranks described in the book. Because they were just downright mean.

Special thanks to NetGalley and HarperTeen for providing me with this!

Saturday, December 18, 2010

Blog Happenings (11)

Hi!
Sorry this post is a little late! I was out doing some Christmas shopping! FUN!

I am enjoying my first weekend of freedom, and I don't have any homework! I could work on a finals review I have but I don't think so! No one else in my grade has to take finals except the people in Algebra, it isn't fair! Smacks herself for being such a nerd.

Anyways, I finished Nightshade this morning.....Did I like it? Nope. If your friends with me on GoodReads, you should know exactly how I feel about this book! Review sometime soon!

I am currently reading Other by Karen Kincy, I'm like just in the first couple of pages, but it seems good so far!

I am doing great on my Winter Break/Galley Challenge! 3 out of 8 required books (11 in total) YAY! Then after Other I am going to read Whisper! And then The Thirteenth Chime and then 13 to Life. I'll fit those Galleys in there somehow! I'm going to see if I can read Unearthly and Angelfire in the first few days of January so they count for the 2011 Debut Author Challenge!

I'm thinking about submitting my name for The Teen Book Scene.....But I am a little nervous about getting rejected or getting nothing back at all! Oh Well! Maybe I will wait a little bit longer. Actually that's a really good idea! Forget I said anything about that!

Did you notice my new countdown widgets? Desires of the Dead and Clarity? I am so excited to read both of these, I know they will be favorites, they just have to be!

In Fact I am so excited for all the Debuts for 2011! They all look so goods! On my list I didn't include Wither and Populazzi but I am now! I don't know if Populazzi is spelled right.....? No ones going to read this anyway!

And if  you do, at least I have one fan out there!

Reviewed this week: Sea, Always a Witch: Mini Review and Two Girls of Gettysburg.

Upcoming: The Lying Game and Nightshade!

Aren't these covers just beautiful!? Sorry I just had to show these, even though everyone already knows what they look like!

Friday, December 17, 2010

Hopping and Following (3)

Hi!
School's out till next year!!! YAY! I hope to get some reading done! I finished the Lying Game yesterday, review up Sunday....?

First off my name is Katie and I read and review YA books! I hope you enjoy my blog! Let me know what you think!

Book Blogger Hop


"What do you consider the most important in a story: the plot or the characters?"

Well it's the story that draws me in, but if I don't connect with that characters or don't like the characters, then I probably won't continue reading! So I'd say both are very important!


 
Hosted by Parajunkee's View


What did you study in college, or are currently studying and did it lead to your current 9 to 5 or are you doing something totally different?

I can't exactly answer this question since I won't be going to college for quite some time but then I would like to be in the FBI! LOL seriously, I think it would be so much fun! And it would benefit the world. If that doesn't work out, I would want to be an author....maybe!

Recent Posts:

Upcoming Reviews:
The Lying Game by Sara Shepard
Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

Check out my review archive for more review fun!

Desires of the Dead Contest!!!

HI!
We all know how much I love The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting? Well if you didn't, I do love it a ton. It is by far my favorite book of 2010!! Well Kim is having a contest over on her blog for the release of her countdown widget, which is beautiful! So if you want to win a ton of goodies and swag head on over! Click Here!


Thursday, December 16, 2010

Two Girls of Gettysburg by Lisa Klein

Hi!
Happy Thursday! I decided to review a book I read and loved, from awhile ago, when I was going through a Gettysburg Phase!

Title: Two Girls of Gettysburg

Author: Lisa Klein

Rating: 5 stars

Summary: (I didn't write this one!)

Lizzie and Rosanna are cousins and best friends, but when the Civil War breaks out, Lizzie finds herself committed to the Union cause and to her family's struggling business, while Rosanna becomes swept up in the passions of the old South -- and in her love for a dashing young Confederate officer.

Torn in their alliances and separated from each other, Lizzie and Rosanna grapple with the senseless brutality of war and the sacrifices that must be made to survive. It will take one of the war's bloodiest battles -- fought on the farmlands of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania -- to bring them together again, forever changed.

Unflinching in its depiction of war and inspiring in its portrayal of two heroic young women tested by tradegy and love, Two Girls of Gettysburg is a historical novel of exceptional depth and reach.


Review: I read this book on a whim, I was looking at Borders for something interesting to read and the title of this book immediately caught my eye. I was obsessed with Gettysburg at the moment because of a report I had done on the battle itself. I would have probably still picked it up because I cannot not read a civil war historical fiction! But even if I hadn't liked Gettysburg or the civil war, I still think I would have loved this book!

Lizzie was by far my favorite character, she was strong and hard headed and she wanted and needed to help on her family's farm when the war started. Rosanna, while a good character was a little too flaky....? for my taste! I can't seem to come up for the right word. But one minute she loved this man and the next she was in love with the Dashing Confederate Soldier, who is described in the summary.

The bond between Lizzie and Rosanna was so sweet, they were still the best of friends, even though they were on different sides in the war.

When the actual battle was taking place, I was so enthralled. Many people wouldn't be but I knew exactly all the battle landmarks that Lizzie was describing and it made me love the book even more, to know that I understood everything!

The romance in the book, wasn't too emphasized on, but I did like Lizzie's love interest Martin Wiggle. I can't ever imagine liking a guy by that name but he was a real sweet heart.

The book is told in alternating chapters, but Lizzie has way more book space, which I liked. But reading Rosanna's view of the south while she was traveling around with the Confederate army was very enjoying too.

Overall this is a strong historical fiction book that I enjoyed greatly!

My family and I went to Gettysburg this summer and I was amazed at by how huge the battle field was! It was many miles. I thought it was just going to be some small dinky thing but it was huge! It is a must see!

I'm going to stop there because now I sound like a nerd, but I do like historical stuff so maybe that is the reason!

So long and have a great rest of the day!

I just did spell check and one of the words from the GoodReads summary was misspelled! Oh no! LOL sorry I just thought that was funny!

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Always a Witch: Mini Review

HI!
Happy Wednesday!

I finished Always a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough a couple of days ago, and it was amazing!

I will have a full review much closer to the release date which is August, 2011, I think. So there will probably be one in May or April. But here is what I said on GoodReads:

"The ending made me so sad! Tasmin is one of the most wonderful, beautiful characters in YA literature! I loved how everything played out and how the characters developed even more. Carolyn MacCullough is definitely an author to watch."

So sorry that's all you get today folks, maybe a review tomorrow??


Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Sea by Heidi R. Kling

Hi!
Happy Tuesday!

Title: Sea

Author: Heidi R. Kling

Rating: 5 stars

Review: Sienna Jones, has had a hard time ever since her mother died 3 years ago when she was 12. She has been tormented by nightmares and is afraid to come out of her own shell. When Sienna's father suggests a trip to Indonesia to help survivors of a tsunami, she is reluctant to go but then at the last minute decides maybe it would be best for her. When Sienna arrives, she is heartbroken at the loss and sadness of this children. When a Orphan Boy named Deni takes interest to Sienna, and she to him, she immediately responds to his pleas to help him. But it just might cause all the walls she has put up over the years to come tumbling down.

Sea in three words: Amazing, Amazing and Amazing!

LOL, well while it was amazing, it was also heartbreaking and I found myself tearing up a couple of times during the book!

Some of the situations Sienna had to go through, made me shudder. I don't think I could ever use the Mandi! Which happened to be the "Bathroom." And I am pretty sure most people in fully developed countries couldn't either!

Sienna was a very touching main character that I loved! She had gone through so much but was still a great young person. Deni, while I loved him, was not exactly who I wanted Sienna to be with when everything was said and done! I won't say what happened but I was happy with the way things were wrapped up!

The other supporting characters like Sienna's friends back home and her new friends at the orphanage were just as great! I felt like I really knew them and I felt Sienna's pain and the little kids pain, too.

The overall plot had a good theme to it and I enjoyed reading what happened to Sienna and her adventures in Indonesia!

I think the book also offers a good message, to volunteer and help out where ever you can, whether it be at home or abroad. I know this book has certainly inspired me too so.

Overall this book was one of the best debut reads I have read, probably one of the best books period. And that's saying a lot!

Monday, December 13, 2010

Spotlight Monday: Whisper

Hi!
It's Spotlight Monday Time!

Whisper by Phoebe Kitandis


Summary:
I’d love a cup of coffee. I wish she knew how pretty she was. I wish I could drop this kid in the dryer sometimes. I just want her to be happy. I hope she didn’t find out what Ben said about her. I wish I knew how many calories were in a bite of muffin…

Joy is used to hearing Whispers. She’s used to walking down the street and instantly knowing people’s deepest, darkest desires. She uses this talent for good, to make people happy and give them what they want. But for her older sister, Jessica, the family gift is a curse, and she uses it to make people’s lives—especially Joy’s—miserable. Still, when Joy Hears a frightening whisper from Jessica's own mind, she knows she has to save her sister, even if it means deserting her friends, stealing a car and running away with a boy she barely knows—a boy who may have a dark secret of his own.

I am going to read this soon! Sounds exceptional!

Sunday, December 12, 2010

In My Mailbox (12)

Hi!
I am so sorry that this is late! IMM is hosted by The Story Siren!

This week I got:

My soul To save by Rachel Vincent! I am so excited to read the rest of this series! I love them!

I'm not sure if this is the second of the third book! Well I have the rest of the series now, anyway! Yay!



And finally I scored Matched!! YES! I feel like I am the last one to every read this! Oh, well better late then never! I am going to read Delirium by Lauren Oliver, first though because I know people are going to compare these, and already have, but I think that since I love Lauren Oliver I should read Delirium first! I know I'm being weird! But I am sure they will both be amazing!

So what did you get this week?




Saturday, December 11, 2010

Blog Happenings (10)

Hi!
Actually I don't know if this is the 10th one that I have done, but oh well! It has to be close!

Do you want me to keep doing this? I won't if you don't want me too, but I kind of enjoy it....

I'm also thinking of replacing Spotlight Monday with Waiting on Wednesday. Do what do you think of that?

If I do, do that then it will probably be at the start of 2011! Can you believe that the year is almost over?

I am currently reading Sea by Heidi R. Kling! I need to finish it, so I can review it next week! I am also reading The Lying Game by Sara Shepard, but in Galley Form! Need to finish that too!

Anyway, did you see my post for The winter Break challenge I am taking on? I hope I finish but don't get your hopes up!
It snowed for the first time today! While the idea of snow is exciting the way it turns the roads is not. Most people in my state know how to drive, but the key word there is most! I think it's so funny how in some states when it snows everything closes down because they aren't used to it! Maybe it's not funny but it's definitely weird to someone who's spent all their winters in a snowy white world!

I was going to take a picture but I didn't feel like venturing out into the cold!

I watched Ground Hog Day, yesterday night. It's a funny but weird old movie! It reminded be a lot of Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver. Which if  you haven't read it, I suggest you stop reading this and go get right now! But be careful on those roads! If it is snowing where you are!

That's all for know folks, I need to finish by Algebra Homework and then work on an Art Project. I hate drawing!

Friday, December 10, 2010

I love Lists!

Hi!
So sorry there is no review today, I just don't have anything new to review! But since I love making lists, lists of any kind, I decided to make a list!

 But first I would also love to tell you about a contest Hosted by Eating YA Books for Desires of the Dead by Kimberly Derting. I LOVED THE BODY FINDER! And if you did too, I would head on over and enter this contest fast!

Now for the list! You are probably wondering what the list is about, well since this is a Book Blog I figured it should be about books!

I need to read a lot of books and one way I keep track on the one's to read are by making lists! If I finish by List of Books, there will be a giveaway, consisting of: The Lying Game by Sara Shepard or Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins! Your pick! I might change the titles closer to the contest date, if there is one, but I think that the books are pretty definite for now!

List of Books to Read Over Winter Break
December 13, 2010-January 3, 2011
First off we have to get those Debut Author Challenge Books Read!
(crossed out books have been read already during the designated time)

I FINISHED THIS CHALLENGE!
I'm adding a couple for books since I reading those for the Readathon. We'll just see how many I can finish, but 8-11 are not Debuts.
  1. Sea by Heidi R. Kling
  2. Whisper by Phobe Kitandis
  3. The Thirteenth Chime by Emma Michaels
  4. Other by Karen Kincy
  5. 13 to Life by Shannon Delaney
  6. Nightshade by Andrea Cremer
  7. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
  8. Dead is So Last Year by Marlene Perez
  9. Dead is Just a Rumor by Marlene Perez
  10. A Match Made in High School by Kristen Walker
Next we need to get those Galleys Read!
  1. The Lying Game by Sara Shepard
  2. Deliruim by Lauren Oliver
  3. Unearthly by Cynthia Hand
  4. Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulten
I only need to read 6 out of the 7 books for the first list.
I only need to read 2 out of the 4 books for the second list.

Then there will be a giveaway! YAY so cheer me on!
If you have any suggestions for books to giveaway or if you want to participate in reading books over Winter Break, then comment and I will get back to you! If you don't have a winter break, which adults wouldn't, then just see how many books you can read in the month of December from now to next year!

Look at this cool Picture I made!

I added texture to the picture, which only makes it cooler!

This is not an official challenge, because frankly no one participates in the ones I have done in the past! If you want it to be, just comment like I said and I will think about it! I don't expect to get any comments so don't worry!

There is actually a "challenge" going on at the time, but I am thinking about taking it down!

Book Blogger Hop and Follow Friday! (2)

Hi!
Today I am participating in 2 memes! Truth be told this is only my first Follow Friday but it is my second book blogger hop! I can't wait to go find some new blogs to follow!

A little about me: My name is Katie and I review YA books! I have been blogging for about 4 months and I love my blog, a lot!

Book Blogger Hop

Book Blogger Hope is hosted by Crazy for Books!

This week's question is:
"What is the thing you like most about reading book blogs?  Is it the reviews, author guest posts, articles, giveaways, or something else entirely?"

I really love reading reviews, but I also like the author guest posts! But I like all the others too!

Follow my Book Blog Friday is hosted by Parajunkie's View!

Do you have an under-noticed author that you think we should all know about?

Most of the authors I read are pretty noticed but one book that I absolutely loved, that I have seen just about no reviews for, except on GoodReads, is Intrinsical by Lani Woodland! She's a great debut author and I enjoyed her book a lot!

Recent Reviews:


My current contest's link is up on the top left hand corner of the blog, if you want to check that out!

Thursday, December 9, 2010

Dead is a State of Mind by Marlene Perez

Hi!
Happy whatever today is? Is it almost Friday? Maybe I don't know! LOL!

Title: Dead is a state of mind

Author: Marlene Perez

Rating: 5 stars

Review: Daisy Giordano has even more problems now. Her psychic powers are iffy at best and a teacher has been recently murdered. Even worse yet, a new student, Duke predicted the murder. Daisy wants to solve the case but she is having relationship troubles and troubles with family. Will Daisy get everything straightened out so she can solve this mystery?

Dead is a State if Mind is another great installment in the Dead is series! It was just as fun and had just as great if characters that the first one had.

Daisy was still one of my favorite characters but I really like her sister Poppy in this one too! I felt extremely bad for her at the end too! It was so sad!

I love how Daisy cooks, it's just so cool and it totally fits her. Not many 16, 17 year old girls can cook very well. Well some can but not very many!

Ryan and Daisy were going through relationship troubles and it was said to see both of them act the way that they did. I liked how things turned out though!

The plot, this time involving werewolves was just as great as the first one. While it was easy to predict who the killer was, you were left wondering why until the very end.

I am so excited to see where Daisy and her friends go next!!

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Dead is the New Black by Marlene Perez

Hi!
While doing my review archive the other day, I noticed that all the books that I reviewed that started with D's all had something in the title to do with death! This is no exception!

Title: Dead is the New Black

Author: Marlene Perez

Rating: 5 stars

Review: Daisy Giorano is the black sheep of the family, she has no psychic powers like her mom and sisters. Her mom helps solve crime in their small town of Nightshade, so when one of the cases her mom is solving hits close to home Daisy is willing to investigate, psychic powers or not. But she can't do it without a little help. And by help she needs Ryan Mendez, the police chief's super hot son!

Dead is the New Black is a great, fun refreshing story that I couldn't stop reading! I absolutely loved it!

Daisy was an amazing main character, and I loved her so much. I don't quite know why, but maybe it was just the way she told the story or maybe it was her personality but she was a great character.

The supporting characters, Daisy's family, her classmates and Ryan, were also funny characters that I enjoyed reading about. especially Ryan, he was so sweet and funny, and very hot! He and Daisy made a awesome couple!

The plot was paranormal but not too overbearing. In the opening pages the author makes fun of vampires and what the rage they are! While it did involve vampires as bad guys, you don't have to worry, they didn't take over the story. But the plot was a good one that sucked me in till the last page.

Does anyone know what Daisy looks like?

Anyone want to know how glad I am that I picked this up? I am soo glad!

I think I used a little too many words like: awesome and amazing but oh well, it was just that good.

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Dash and Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Hi!
Does anyone like the new look of the blog for the holidays?? Well I do!

Title: Dash and Lily's Book of Dares

Authors: Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Review: Dash has eluded his parents and now is an orphan for Christmas. He plans to spend it sitting around doing whatever. That is until he finds a red notebook on one of his favorite bookshelves at the Strand. Inside the book is a list of dares, written by a girl named Lily. Together Lily and Dash communicate using the notebook and send each other places they wouldn't have gone before. But will they ever meet and person and actually like each other? Or is this all a game?

I really enjoyed this book a lot. The writing was fantastic but the characters were just a little too weird!

Dash seemed alright in the beginning but he gradually grew so that I didn't like him very much. He said so many things I didn't quite get, but maybe that's just me. He was very wise though and I liked him anyway, even though I just said I didn't! Let's just say I don't know what to think of this book!

Lily was a little kid from the beginning but I was ok with it until about 3/4 of the way through the book. She just really started to get on my nerves, but I lived with it and continued to be annoyed but I still really liked her. Again, weird feelings!

Some of the dares and situations Dash and Lily got each other into were hilarious and I found myself laughing out loud several times during the book, which was a very good sign!

The most unrealistic thing though was the baby snatching part! I found it hard to believe that you would be arrested for catching a baby.... Well it was funny anyway!

I really liked how both Dash and Lily broke out if their shells while during their own dares. It was great to see them change and mature....I use that word lightly though!

The ending was superb and it was a perfect conclusion to this type of book! I really did enjoy it and I want to read more by these authors in the future! This is was the perfect holiday book that is made to be read in the month of December!

Monday, December 6, 2010

Spotlight Monday

Hi!
It's Spotlight Monday Time! Grrrr, this was meant to post this morning!!

Aires Rising by Bonnie Hearn Hill


Summary:

When Logan McRae discovers a book called Fearless Astrology, she thinks it could be just what she's looking for. She's desperate to get into a summer writing camp, but she needs to have her tough English teacher, Mr Franklin, on her side. She'd also love to go out with her crush, Nathan, but the popular and gorgeous Geneva already has her eye on him. Could the secrets of Fearless Astrology help Logan get what she wants, and possibly even uncover the identity of a group of pranksters at her school who are getting out of hand?
Looks very good! I can't wait to read this, it has been sitting on my bookshelf for quite a while!

Sunday, December 5, 2010

I'm done!

Hi!!!
I just had to post about what I just did! I finished Around the World in 80 days by Jules Verne.

Did I like it? Yes I really did but I don't love it!

And guess what other magic I worked this afternoon? (Sorry there was no real magic involved just my handy dandy hands typing away!)

I got the review archive done! It wasn't actually that hard, so I was exceptionally happy!

What am I going to read next? I have no idea, but I should figure it out in the next few minutes! Reading Freedom!

Have a great evening! I am off to write some reviews!

In My Mailbox (11)

Hi!

In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren as a way to learn about new books and show what you got during the week!

This week I got quite a few books!

For Review:


Bought/Got:


The 3rd and 4th books in the Dead is series! I had to finish reading it since I wanted the ARC of Dead is not an option!

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I have heard so many good things about this book!

Dash and Lily's Book of Dares which I have already read! Isn't the cover adorable? The little heart street thingie and the heart shaped snowflakes?? And from the library The war against Miss Winter by Katherine Miller Haines. I'm not sure if this is truly a YA book but it still looked interesting.

That's all I got this week! What did you get?

Saturday, December 4, 2010

What's New this Week

Hi Everyone!

I am busy, so I probably shouldn't even be on the blog but I can't stay away from it. I promise I won't bother you guys till tomorrow, so this will be it for the day!

I am currently reading, as you all know, Around the World in 80 days by Jules Verne. I don't hate it but I dislike it, greatly. Instead of reading that I decided to read Dash and Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. Other than the book being extremely weird and the character even more weird, I really liked it. But I didn't love it.

I should be reading Always a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough, but I don't feel like it. That is a really good book, by the way. It comes out sometime Summer 2011. I should be reading the Lying Game by Sara Shepard but I'm not. I should be reading a lot of things.

I should be doing my homework, but I'm not. I should be working on my English Project and researching fashion in the 70's but I'm not. I should be practicing my piano, but I'm not.

I should be doing a lot of things other than this. Like actually getting out of bed and getting some real clothes on and then eating some breakfast, but I'm not. At least I combed my hair and put my contacts in. Side fact: I am quite blind, not that blind but pretty blind. I absolutely refuse to wear glasses too because I look like a nerd.

Sorry this has been a rather depressing post hasn't it? So I am going to leave you know with a book cover and then I will shut off the computer and do some stuff I need to do.


Isn't this "cover in progress" pretty!?

350 Page Challenge

Hi!
I am joining 350+ Reading Challenge hosted by What's Your Story?


The main goal is to read mostly YA books that are over 350 pages. Which is a great idea, while I like long books, they can be rather tiresome to read sometimes. (Rather tiresome?? What the heck?!!) this runs from January 1st to December 31st, 2011.

Since I don't have to make a list, that's all I have to say!! Wait a second I will tell you some books I plan on reading though!

I I am planning reading the Gemma Doyle Trilogy and the Mortal instruments books! I will probably also continue to read some series like the Beautiful Creatures books (Castor chronicles) and Plague, the new Gone book. I hope to find more long books and read them now! YAY!
Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Blog Design By Use Your Imagination Designs Inspired by Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater