Sunday, October 31, 2010

Happy Halloween!

Hi and HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!!!!!!

I hope you all are enjoying this wonderful Halloween day, even if it is a bit cold out, in some places at least.

Contest ends TONIGHT for the City of Bones by Cassandra Clare!!!!! Central Time, midnight. The winner will be announced at 1 o'clock in the morning tomorrow and I will shoot the winner an email!

Other things going on: Spooky Reading Challenge ended today, I sadly didn't finish all my books, I read 9 out of 16 which is very good! I am going to take down the pages with info on them and maybe put a list of all the books on my tbr list on a page. I will put up a review policy soon and contact info.

Random Stuff: I finished Clarie de Lune last night and it was AMAZING! Go werewolves!
In English class I am reading the play, Inherit the Wind. Very interesting and we are almost done.
In my ELP class (Extended Learning Program, which is for smart people but I hate it) we are writing letters to authors in a contest called Letters about Literature. You are supposed to use reader's response, which is  how the book changed your life and crap. There are 3 levels to the contest depending on your grade level I am in level 2. In case you are wondering I am writing to Michael Grant about his Gone Series, perhaps I will post my letter on the blog someday..?

One last thing... look at this cover for the 2nd Hex Hall book, Demonglass, isn't it to die for?!
Much better than the first!
That's all folks! Have a spooky night!

In My Mailbox (6)

HI! Today I am doing my 6th IMM, hosted by The Story Siren!

I purchased Past Midnight by Mara Purnhagen, looks amazing!

I love Jane Austen and I can't wait to read I was Jane Austen's Best Friend by Cora Harrison

Squeal!!! This book is sooooooo prettty and looks amazing! I am so excited to read Nightshade by Andrea Cremer!

That's all I got! What did you get this week?

P.S. Which book should I order and in paperback or hardcover? (links for more info about the books)

Saturday, October 30, 2010


Today is Saturday and guess what yesterday was??? Trick or Treat night!! It was so much fun! And today I am going to the Haunted Forrest! Which is the my states #1 spooky attraction! I went there last Saturday and I am planning to go again! It was scary but much more fun than scary!

I entered a contest for Extraordinary by Nancy Werlin hosted by the Book Muncher, which is a really cool site so go enter the contest! Go HERE to enter!

Do you like the look my my blog? If you don't then don't worry! It will be down tomorrow, in the evening.

The reviews archive is currently under construction. Why? The tables were a pain in the butt! I will try to have it back up as soon as possible!

Don't Forget the Contest for City of Bones by Cassandra Clare! GO Check it out! NOW!

The Spooky Reading Challenge ends tomorrow, as does the contest. And I didn't finish all my books. I wasn't even close! Oh Well, I guess the books can wait.

I recently finished Beautiful Darkness, it was super good! I also finished Model Spy by Shannon Greeneland, they don't print it anymore so I read the ebook form on my ipod. I really want a nook by the way.

I loved Model Spy, so I ordered the 2nd one in the series, Down to the Wire. They don't sell it in ebook from so I had to get it from Barnes and Noble Marketplace (for about $2!).

Claire de Lune by Christine Johnson is a great book and I love it so far. You should go check out the book trailer, it is superb. I don't know if I am going to read Swoon or not. Right now I am leaning toward not, because the book just isn't by taste or style. There I decided I am returning it to the library immediately. Ok maybe not I am only on page 47, maybe I should try to make it to 100 and see if it gets any better! What do you guys think I should do?

I can't think of anything else that is new so I all I have left to say is Hallows Eve! Is that what they call it....................................???

Shrinking the TBR Pile (2)

I am doing another Shrinking the TBR Pile, hosted by What's Your Story! Actually, since I am doing this on Saturday, I don't know if this meme is occurring but I feel like doing it anyway!

Um so I was being all weird and last week I picked out books to read this week. (Mistwood, Halo and Wildwing). So instead of doing things for the next next week I am just going to tell you what I read in this past week and stuff.

Slow but then got so much better! Review coming soon!

Read and I love Spy novels even more now, review coming soon!

Great book so far!

Haven't read it yet but you can hear me rant about it in a later post!

Thursday, October 28, 2010


Hope you are having a very exciting Thursday! I am! Today I am reviewing a great, great book by one of my fave authors, Linda Gerber!

Title: Trance

Author: Linda Gerber

Rating: 5 stars

Review: Ashlyn Greenfield's mother is dead and she is having trance's again. Ashlyn had been having Trance's ever since she was a little kid and she is deeply ashamed of the Trance's. Ashlyn feels if though she was the cause of her mother's death just because she didn't have one Trance that could have warned her of her mother's death. Now Ashlyn is having the Trance's again and when she starts having them about a friend of hers.....Ashlyn knows that she needs to step up and save a life.

Another great, no fantastic, book by Linda Gerber. And it is paranormal which makes it even better!

The story was incredibly emotional, especially since Ashlyn's mother is dead, her sister disappeared and her father ignores her. All of that made me extremely sad. I would hate to be ignored by the family I loved. Even worse, Ashlyn was ashamed of her ability to see people's deaths and felt like she was cursed or something stupid! I loved how Ashlyn worked at a photography booth at a mall. Her co-workers were great and cute. =)

Ashlyn was a great character and while I felt sorry for her, I also admired her and the ways she tried to cope with everything in her life. She didn't have many friends because of her ability but her one friend, Michelle was so-so. Jake, that cute co-worker, was understanding but sometimes jumped to the wrong conclusions about things he shoudln't. Naughty, Naughty.

If Ashlyn was real, than I would love to know her! And the cliffhanger at the end! OMG! I want a sequel!!

Such a amazing book and heartouching too!

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Books I love

Today I am doing something special about a trilogy that I absouletely loved and just recently remebered! Thought I would let you know about them!

Sixteen-year-old Jane Peck has ventured to the unknown wilds of the Northwest to wed her childhood idol, William Baldt. But her impeccable training at Miss Hepplewhite's Young Ladies Academy in Philadelphia is hardly preparation for the colorful characters and crude life that await her in Washington Territory.
Thrown upon her wits in the wild, Jane must determine for herself whether she is truly proper Miss Jane Peck of Philadelphia, faultless young lady and fiancée, or Boston Jane, as the Chinook dub her, fearless and loyal woman of the frontier. 

"Remember -- you make your own luck." Abandoned on the frontier by her faithless fiancé, Jane Peck prepares to head home, only to learn that the Philadelphia life she once knew is no more. But can a proper young lady find happiness as the only woman in a primitive pioneer settlement? Armed with only a finishing-school education and her natural determination, Jane must endure life with her flea-bitten landlord, a perilous manhunt, and the traps and hazards of a blossoming romance.
Will Jane survive the challenges of the wild, uncharted frontiers of friendship, love, and the Washington Territory?

"I was on my claim,
I told myself over and over...
Nothing bad could happen to me here."
With a mind of her own and a handsome suitor who loves her for it, seventeen-year-old Jane Peck is the darling of the Washington Territory. She's outwitted wild animals, vengeful ghosts, and a disloyal fiancé, but when her finishing school nemesis Sally Biddle invades Shoalwater Bay, Jane discovers that the most dangerous thing on the frontier may be an impeccably dressed debutante. As the Biddles of Philadelphia charm their way into Jane's close-knit community, she finds everything she holds dear threatened -- including her true love, a rakish sailor named Jehu. Will Jane's claim on happiness slip away?

I love these books! They are perfect reads! Full of Romance and Adventure!

Tuesday, October 26, 2010


Hi and Happy Tuesday!

Title: Intrinsical

Author: Lani Woodland

Rating: 5 stars

Review: When Yara Silva arrives at Pendrell Boarding School with her best friend Cherie she sees a handsome student get attacked. Now Yara isn't sure what attacked the student but she has a pretty good idea that it has to do with her heritage. Yara's grandmother is a waker, which means that she can see and communicate with ghosts. Yara isn't exactly looking forward to being a waker so after 16 years when it finally shows up she is not excited. But what she saw attack the student was not at all friendly and now Yara decides to take it upon herself to figure out the curse of her elite boarding school and save herself.

I discovered this book by chance and boy, I am so glad I did.
 Intrinsical starts with a bang and keeps on going all the way to the end. The plot was SO full of twists and turns and new developments that I was constantly kept on my toes. I happened to also be screaming, "OMG, I never saw that coming!" At the beginning though things were a confusing and I had a hard time getting into the book but then I started understanding everything and it was a smooth ride till the very end.

Yara was a great character and I loved her a lot. She was extremely relateable, if you ignore the fact that she can see ghosts. Since I am pretty sure that is not possible. But, hey you never know! Yara could take care of herself and was headstrong. Cherie, her best friend, was a good addition to the book and even though she couldn't see ghosts, that sure didn't stop her. I have to say anymore? He was just the perfect, in a flawed way, character and I loved him. There were some pretty villainous characters in this story too!

All in all, I loved this book and I can't wait for a sequel! Which I contacted Lani Woodland about and she said she was working on another book and was planning a sequel to Intrinsical. So we will just have to wait and see!

Um did anyone else notice that the name of the boarding school was the same as the publisher? Maybe I am just being weird but.....

Monday, October 25, 2010

Spotlight Monday!

It is Spotlight Monday Time!

Please Forgive my Fins by Tera Lynn Childs

Lily Sanderson has a secret, and it's not that she has a huge crush on gorgeous swimming god Brody Bennett, who makes her heart beat flipper-fast. Unrequited love is hard enough when you're a normal teenage girl, but when you're half human, half mermaid, like Lily, there's no such thing as a simple crush.
Lily's mermaid identity is a secret that can't get out, since she's not just any mermaid—she's a Thalassinian princess. When Lily found out three years ago that her mother was actually a human, she finally realized why she didn't feel quite at home in Thalassinia, and she's been living on land and going to Seaview High School ever since, hoping to find where she truly belongs. Sure, land has its problems—like her obnoxious biker-boy neighbor, Quince Fletcher—but it has that one major perk: Brody. The problem is, mermaids aren't really the casual dating type—the instant they "bond," it's for life.
When Lily's attempt to win Brody's love leads to a tsunami-sized case of mistaken identity, she is in for a tidal wave of relationship drama, and she finds out, quick as a tailfin flick, that happily ever after never sails quite as smoothly as you planned.

This looks like a quick, summery sounding read that I am going to order right away!
This is already released!

Sunday, October 24, 2010

In My Mailbox (5)

Hi Everyone!
Today I am doing my 5th IMM! Hosted by The Wonderful Story Siren! (Wonderful isn't in the name, lol)
I got Claire de Lune from the library for The Spooky Reading Challenge. I can't wait to read this one!

Aw....Bright Young Things, a book I am so excited so read it isn't even funny!

I have heard good and bad things about this book but since my public library had it, I was willing to give it a try!

I purchased Trance, which I finished already and loved! Review this week!

What did you get this week?

Shrinking the TBR Pile (1)

Today is my 1st meme for the day. While reading one of the sites I follow I learned that Ashley from What's Your Story? is doing this really cool thing that every Sunday you pick books that you want to read for the week. Except you pick them in a really cool way! You make a list with the book, numbered, and then put the numbers in a bag or you could use some website or program to generate 3 random numbers with the books you are going to read for the week! I thought this was a great idea so I decided to do it! Head on over there and check it out!

Numbers drawn: 10, 9 and 16 out of 33.
Books that correspond: 10: Halo by Alexandra Adornetto, 9: Wildwing by Emily Whitman, 16: Mistwood by Leah Cypess

I am so excited to read all of these. Now I won't be reading these this week but in the next because I would like to finish up a few books for the Spooky Reading Challenge! Don't Forget about the Giveaway

Saturday, October 23, 2010

Cast your Villian

Today I am doing this awesome thing hosted by Word for Teens! And she is doing an awesome thing (have I said awesome thing too much??!) called Book Spooks, so head on over and see what is going on!

Villian: Drake Merwin from the Gone Series by Michael Grant

Who: A guy from the cover of Lies who is rumored to be Darke but I am not

Why: Because Drake is the most evil person in the whole community of books and he is a pyscho who likes to hurt and kill.

Go Check out Book Spooks at WORD for Teens!


Today I am holding a contest for the City of Bones by Cassandra Clare! The contest will last until Halloween at midnight central time. The winner will be notified by email and will be annoounced on the Blog. Winners will be drawn randomly.

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder -- much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Clary knows she should call the police, but it's hard to explain a murder when the body disappears into thin air and the murderers are invisible to everyone but Clary.

Equally startled by her ability to see them, the murderers explain themselves as Shadowhunters: a secret tribe of warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. Within twenty-four hours, Clary's mother disappears and Clary herself is almost killed by a grotesque demon.

But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight?
The Shadowhunters would like to know....

Just fill out the form below to enter!

Wednesday, October 20, 2010


Happy Wednesday! Now let's review my favorite new book! Siren!

Title: Siren

Author: Tricia Rayburn

Rating: 5 stars

Review: 17 year old Vanessa Sands is afraid of everything and now she is afraid to go cliff diving with her sister Justine and their friends the Carmichael Brothers. That evening Justine and her sister get into a huge fight and the next time Vanessa sees Justine … she's dead. Now grieving Justine's death Vanessa travels back to their summer home in Winter Harbor, Maine where the death happened. Now with the help of Simon Carmichael, Vanessa starts to investigate the death of her sister and the disappearance if Simon's brother, Caleb. But as Vanessa gets closer and closer to falling in love she just might have to sacrifice it all to save her friends and the town if Winter Harbor and if she finds out about herself.

Eek! I love this book! It was the best and I love it deeply with passion! So if you haven't already read this book or you have it go read it or re read it and if you don't have go run and I literally mean run and go get it!

Siren was a little confusing at first but then everything started clicking together and the rest of the book was perfect!

I loved Vanessa the main character! She was so sweet and I felt an immediate connection with her. She developed greatly during the book, which made me love her even more!

And then the Carmichael Brothers. Doesn't that name just sound enticing! So old schoolish sounding and so awesome. Now on to who they actually were! Simon was the nerdy, walking-talking weather channel, who was much much cuter this summer. I used to not like the name Simon but trust me now my mind has been changed entirely. And there is nothing wrong with a nerdy cute guy, emphasize on the cute! The other brother Caleb was just as smoldering but I like Simon much much better! Plus Simon and Vanessa make such a cute couple and Simon is always there for Vanessa! There were also some great supporting characters too.

The Plot, thanks to the title, obviously included sirens. I liked the title but it gave a little too much away but there was still some mystery to the book. The cover was a good but the eyes looked way to fake which annoyed me.

I loved the way the novel was resolved but it left quite the cliffhanger! I can't wait for the second book in this trilogy!!

Tuesday, October 19, 2010


Today is the release of Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick and of Nightshade by Andrea Cremer so congrats both of you!

Title: Crescendo

Author: Becca Fitzpatrick

Rating: 5 stars

Review:  Nora Grey is still dating her guardian angel, Patch Cipriano. She is having the best time ever until Patch starts drawing away and isn't telling Nora anything, which isn't too unusual. With Patch ignoring Nora and with him spending time with Marcie Millar, Nora decides to start hanging out with a childhood friend, Scott Parnell, who is hiding more secrets than Nora can even count. So when some light about her Dad's murder comes to Nora's attention she is more confused than ever and has no idea who to trust.

I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVED CRESCENDO!!!!!!! Um....ya I think you can tell that I though it was amazing so I won't say that! Sorry if all those Capital letters bothered you but I had to get my point across somehow, didn't I?

Nora was at her best in this book but she was a little annoying when it came to Patch. Did she love him? Yes. Did she do a good job of acting like she hated him? YES! Why? To protect him. That doesn't exactly mean that you can go around being all lovey dovey one second and then I hate you get out of my life the next. Despite all of this I still loved Nora, even though she got herself into quite a few dangerous situations and could have died. A LOT.  If my good old Patch hadn't come to the rescue! Nora needs to stop doubting Patch and trust him! Did he ever do anything to harm her? um...not really. So why doesn't she trust him now!? Who knows! I think I can stop talking about Nora now. I still loved her though. Despite... Katie! Um no more.

The plot, just like Hush, Hush had me guessing till the very end and I was pretty surprised when I found out who murdered Nora's Father. I was kept entertained through the whole book and I speed through this book.

I think I have finally figured out why the titles are what they are! Hush, Hush means like everything is quiet and nothing big has happened yet. Crescendo means things get louder and louder and more dangerous. So I think each of these things relate to the books. Nora was in a danger in Hush, Hush and she got into even more drama/danger in this book! And the 3rd one is Tempest so I think we can all figure that out!

I also put together the books on my bookcase and I realized that Hush, Hush has a grey spine and Crescendo has a Grey and a black spine like everything is getting darker and more dangerous. Not sure what it means or if it is just a coincidence but I think The Tempest will have an all black spine.

Loved it! When I finished this book I screamed out "How I am supposed to wait for the next one?" and got a few odd looks. Not my greatest moment! But you still should read this!

Comes out "officially" today!

Monday, October 18, 2010

Spotlight Monday!

It is Spotlight Monday Time!

Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

While other teenage girls daydream about boys, Calla Tor imagines ripping out her enemies’ throats. And she wouldn’t have it any other way. Calla was born a warrior and on her eighteenth-birthday she’ll become the alpha female of the next generation of Guardian wolves. But Calla’s predestined path veers off course the moment she saves the life of a wayward hiker, a boy her own age. This human boy’s secret will turn the young pack's world upside down and forever alter the outcome of the centuries-old Witches' War that surrounds them all.

Sounds great and the cover is awesome!! Comes out tomorrow

Sunday, October 17, 2010

In My Mailbox (4)

Hi Everyone!
It's In My Mailbox Time, hosted by The Story Siren! This week I got a boatload of books!

I got Beautiful Creatures and Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margret Stohl! I am super excited to read Beautiful Darkness! In fact it is the next book on my to read list!

I got the Middle Grade Novel, The Lost Hero! Yay! I loved Percy Jackson so I am very interested to see what this one has in store!

I got Whisper by Phobe Kitanidis and I borrowed A Timely Vision by Joyce and Jim Lavene! Which I am currently reading too, along with Intrinsical by Lani Woodland.

I got the 13th Chime by Emma Michael's, who was a book blogger and I got Other by Karen Kincy. The 13th Chime looks um...quite creepy looking at the cover.

I got Cate of the Lost Colony by Lisa Klein! Who writes awesome historical fiction. I also purchased Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly and I am super excited to read it!

And for the Grand Finale! Crescendo!!!!!!! I finished reading this Saturday and it was so good. I got this at Borders before the "official" release date but then I went to Barnes and Noble Saturday and they had it too. So if you want this, I am guessing the book store already has it!

So, What did you get this week?

Saturday, October 16, 2010


It is Saturday and I will post this review nice and quick so I can get to work on my Power Point Presentation for School! Fun, right?

Title: Lies

Author: Michael Grant

Rating: 5 stars

Review: We are back in the FAYZ, the Fallout Alley Youth Zone, and the problems are getting more serious than ever. The newly formed City Council is taking over and getting too much power in some of the citizens eyes. And even worse the council is starting to tell lies. Sam no longer feels like he can do anything because of the council and is in great emotional distress over Drake, the boy he thought was gone. And while everything starts to unravel bigger things are starting to happen.

Lies was so much better than Hunger and I just flew through it!
There were some surprising twists and turns in the plot, especially with Orsay. Sam is going through some bad times and was so depressed and feeling not very useful. Not to mention that he and Astrid are on bad terms for most of the book! Astrid was incredibly bossy during the entire time but I think she managed to redeem herself. Possibly. I like all the supporting characters and there were some new ones too that were interesting.

I loved everything that happened in the book and the character alternations were quite good.

But I am a little worried for the next book called Plague, since in Lies everyone was starting to get sick too. So hopefully Grant doesn't kill off all of my favorite characters!

So if I were you I would jump in a car, hitchhike if you have too and go to a local bookstore and pick up this series!

Friday, October 15, 2010


Happy Friday!

Title: Linger

Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Rating: 4.5 stars

Review:  In the sequel to Shiver, Sam and Grace are still in love and both are trying to survive. Sam, newly human, is struggling with being human, of course, and is afraid that one day he will be a wolf again. Worst of all his emotions are overriding his brain and Sam is often worried and can't seem to ever get things perfect between himself and Grace. Grace is trying to fight becoming a wolf and isn't doing a very good job at it. And we now have Cole, a newly turned wolf who is trying to escape his human past but can't seem to do so without falling in love again with Isabel, Grace's friend. With the four of them together, survival chances might seem high but that probably isn't going to happen.
I liked Linger much more than, Shiver. It was more exciting, it had more action and there was more mystery about how you could cure a wolf.
The plot was basically about keeping wolves human and figuring out all the kirks of being a werewolf. Linger got pretty scientific which I liked immensely, but if you don't like that you don't have to worry because it isn't too present.
I liked each character more and more as the story went on! Sam was getting a little less melodramatic and girlish towards the end but then something happens (read the book to find out) and he went back to being his old sappy self. I liked Grace more too. She was just a better character. I really liked Cole, the new wolf. He was a great character that was so different from the others and I loved him for it, even though he doesn't always have the best moments. I liked the connection between Isabel and him but I think that neither of them can handle anything, currently.

My favorite scene had to be when Grace and Sam went to a recording studio. The premise was just so cute and totally lived up to that.

So if you liked Shiver or even loved it, I think you will like Linger even more! I did.

Thursday, October 14, 2010


What is today!? What? It's Thursday, sorry there was no review yesterday! And I am not sure about the rest of the week because I am going to be MIA this weekend, on the Internet at least. I will try to schedule some reviews but I don't know if that will work since I have so much homework. But on the bright side, look at what I am reading?? CRESENDO!!!!!!! OMG! I went to Borders yesterday got some books and there it was, in all it's pride and glory! It is so good so far!

Title: Shiver

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Rating: 5 stars

Review: When Grace was about 8 years old she was attacked by wolves. Werewolves to be exact. She should have turned into a wolf but she didn't and now 10 years later Grace is still watching the wolves in her backyard that have captivated her since she was little. There is one special wolf to Grace, though, a beautiful yellow-eyed one. This is Grace's wolf. This wolf is a werewolf and ever summer he turns into a human named Sam. But when some terrifying events happen and Sam, the werewolf, turns into a human in the middle of winter. Now Sam needs help and it seems Grace is the only one who can manage that.

Shiver was an intense, very poetic, lyrical read that I liked a lot.

I love werewolves, even though I didn't always, and that is probably the main reason I even picked up Shiver. The werewolf lore was very interesting and unique in this book. Instead of most books where they only turn at full moon or when ever they want, Shiver explored much different ideas. When it was winter, they were wolves and when it was summer they were human and then after about 15 years of shifting they stay wolf forever.

Sam and Grace and all the supporting characters were good and I felt like I had some sort of feeling or connection with them. They were nicely fleshed out and each had there own unique personalities.  Sam, when he was human was a little too melodramatic for me, he was the musician who was madly in love with a girl he could never have and such. And Grace was a little too cold and her parents were terrible parents so maybe that contributed to it!

The plot was interesting and I was captivated for almost the whole book but I admit that I did get a little bored in some parts, and now after reading the sequel I have to say I liked the sequel much more.

Tomorrow: Possibly, Hopefully Linger the sequel.

And is anyone curious to see what I got at Borders?? Then I will list them!
1. Beautiful Darkness
2. Crescendo (of course)
3. Cate of the Lost Colony
4. Revolution
5. The Lost Hero

Oh and Trance by Linda Gerber came out today!

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

To Catch a Pirate

My cold is still going good and strong but I think it will pass in the next few days! Today I am reviewing a book that I loved and should have reviewed long ago!

Title: To Catch a Pirate

Author: Jade Parker

Rating: 5 stars

Review: Annalisa Townsend's father's ship was robbed by pirates one year ago. Anna was on board during the time and one of the pirate's stole something very, very valuable from her. . .a kiss. Now Anna's father is in jail since he ship was very important to the king and she is very determined to find this nasty pirate who was the cause of her father's demise. So what would a strong young woman do? She would but a ship, forge a letter of marque to look for the pirate and then catch him. But when Anna tries to do all that, she gets much more than she bargained for.

To Catch a Pirate was a great, fun read that I loved!

When we meet Anna on the ship you immediately love her and I did. She was a headstrong, extremely brave and was good with a knife. She was one of the best characters and I think it would be cool if she was actually alive. Don't we all wish that characters from books were alive?. . .especially the boys!
The pirate, James Sterling was great too and I think he and Anna were a great match, even though neither really wanted to admit that!

The plot was good and full of action and adventure and the characters really spiced things up a lot. I mean who wouldn't love a book that had pirates and was historical fiction!!? I love books like this one!

I especially liked the ending and I thought it was a perfect ending to the story! I wish there was a sequel but sadly I don't think there will ever be! Also Jade Parker is a pen name, I think that authors real name is Rachael Hawthorne! Go check it out and on the way pick up this book!!

Monday, October 11, 2010

2 month anniversary!

Today is the Blog's 2 month anniversary! I am glad the blog is going great and strong and I have 6 wonderful followers! Thank you all! I love you! And tomorrow is a big day for book releases so I am going to tell you about them! And for the next few days

October 12!

 October 14
 October 19
I am super excited for all of these books! So go check them out!

Spotlight Monday!

It is Spotlight Monday time again! Yay!

Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

BROOKLYN: Andi Alpers is on the edge. She’s angry at her father for leaving, angry at her mother for not being able to cope, and heartbroken by the loss of her younger brother, Truman. Rage and grief are destroying her. And she’s about to be expelled from Brooklyn Heights’ most prestigious private school when her father intervenes. Now Andi must accompany him to Paris for winter break.

PARIS: Alexandrine Paradis lived over two centuries ago. She dreamed of making her mark on the Paris stage, but a fateful encounter with a doomed prince of France cast her in a tragic role she didn’t want—and couldn’t escape.

Two girls, two centuries apart. One never knowing the other. But when Andi finds Alexandrine’s diary, she recognizes something in her words and is moved to the point of obsession. There’s comfort and distraction for Andi in the journal’s antique pages—until, on a midnight journey through the catacombs of Paris, Alexandrine’s words transcend paper and time, and the past becomes suddenly, terrifyingly present.

Releasing Tomorrow!!!

Here is the Author talking about the book!

Sunday, October 10, 2010

In My Mailbox (3)


Today I am doing another In my Mailbox hosted by The Story Siren! Head on over there and check it out!

This was an extremely good week!

I got Wildwing by Emily Whitman! It looks so good! It is about this girl who goes back in time to Medieval Times and falls in love. Plus, the cover is to die for!

I got Hush, Hush! OMG! I love this book! I just had to buy it because it was so good! In case you are wondering I got a copy from the library and that it how I reviewed it! I swear the cover shines in the sunlight!

 Look! I got the boxed set of hardcovers for the Mortal Instruments Series! Isn't it beautiful and so are the flowers!
 Another View!
Look at this note on the side! Hilarious! I would definitely agree with Stephanie Meyer! GO Jace!

So what did you get this week!?


It is 10/10/10! How exciting is that! It is the perfect day to review Splendor and I think that is what I will do! I tried hard to write a summary for this book but I failed! This will contain spoilers! Though I will try to keep it pretty mild!

Splendor (Luxe, #4)Title: Splendor

Author: Anna Godbersen

Rating: 5 stars

New beginnings.
Shocking revelations.
Unexpected endings.
A spring turns into summer, Elizabeth relishes her new role as a young wife, while her sister, Diana, searches for adventure abroad. But when a surprising clue about their father's death comes to light, the Holland girls wonder at what cost a life of splendor comes.

Carolina Broad, society's newest darling, fans a flame from her past, oblivious to how it might burn her future. Penelope Schoonmaker is finally Manhattan royalty—but when a real prince visits the city, she covets a title that comes with a crown. Her husband, Henry, bravely went to war, only to discover that his father's rule extends well beyond New York's shores and that fighting for love may prove a losing battle.

In the dramatic conclusion to the bestselling Luxe series, New York's most dazzling socialites chase dreams, cling to promises, and tempt fate. As society watches what will become of the city's oldest families and newest fortunes, one question remains: Will its stars fade away or will they shine ever brighter?

This is a great book but I hated how the book ended!

The characters were great in this book and I feel that since you already know how I feel about the characters I won't go into to much detail on them. They were nicely developed and such.

I loved the twist with Elizabeth and her husband Snowden! It was good to know that bad characters get put into the grave. What do I mean by this? Read the book! In my opinion Elizabeth was the only one that had a happy ending. I loved it!

Diana had an alright ending but I didn't like how she never came back home after traveling to Paris and carried on various affairs in her life.

Henry and Penelope made me so angry! WHY didn't Henry go after Diana! All he could do it seems is send her letters and eventually those stopped too! And why did Henry and Penelope even stay together! They hate each other!

Carolina had a so so ending but I would have liked to seen her happily married instead of heartbroken!

Overall this was an OK ending to the series but I loved it anyway!

Luxe Week is over! Oh no, well make sure you check out Anna Godbersen's new book and series, Bright Young Things!
Related Posts with Thumbnails
Blog Design By Use Your Imagination Designs Inspired by Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater